I’ve pissed off the cupcake gods

9 Jan

Hello friends! How in the hell is already Sunday afternoon–where did this weekend go?

We are supposed to get hit with major snow (read seven inches) tonight and I’m hoping I won’t be able to go into work tomorrow. The south freaks out over any kind of snow, even if it doesn’t stick, but I am interested to see how it pans out tomorrow. So until there, I am actively doing a snow dance every 15 minutes in hopes of a lazy day with a weekend extension tomorrow.

Last night, I made a trip  just to check out Sweetcakes Bakery.  I’ve seen rave reviews about this place on Yelp and had plans to go to that side of town to meet a friend for dinner.  My friend was running late so I went over there to see what the deal was. The store is right off the main road so once I figured out the parking sitch in the back (heeeeeeey) I walked up and saw a sign in the window saying they were sold out of cupcakes. Isn’t this the main product they offer? If it was closing time I could see this but two hours before they closed? Me no likey. If you may remember, I had another cupcakeless occurence this summer when I went to Crave Dessert Bar. Maybe this a higher power trying to tell me that I don’t need cupcakes? From the size of my ass, I know damn straight I don’t need any cupcakes but wanting cupcakes is a totally different ballgame. Somewhere along the line in my cupcake adventures, I’ve  pissed off the cupcake gods. Must fix ASAP.

So what’s a girl to do when she can’t get cupcakes? Shop! Don’t worry, I didn’t break my resolution of not buying any new clothes until March. I saw a Salvation Army I hadn’t been into and figured what else but low prices could fix my negative cupcake experience? I was in and the place was absolutely huge. I like to jam when I shop and they had a mix of hip hop and gospel music to raise my spirits for all the good deals I found. This one is  near the lake where all the rich folk live and apparently, donate all of their stuff.

I found some shoes……

$4.99-ugly but comfortable for the work place.

Aerosoles that are also good for the work place. Chapped by ass to pay $7.99 for these but oh well, they will last me a while.

Ralph Lauren wool pants for only $4! They are a little snug but I will make it work one of these days, I just couldn’t pass them up for $4. And some random label of jeans for $2.

Cute summer-y top (or dress?) for $2.50

Very Bradley head band. Don’t hate me if I tell you I got it for free. The cashier there recognized me from another Salvation Army I frequent and he didn’t feel like calling to see what the price was so he said it would be our little secret (well, not anymore!)

When I got back to my car, my friend called and asked if I still wanted to go to Sweetcakes. I told her the story about them running out of cupcakes and she was a bit disappointed as well. We brainstormed for a few minutes about other cupcake venues in her part of town and we called some places but everything was closed. We did dinner as planned since I had a BOGO coupon. We went to Asiana Fusion Sushi. The menu is huge with separate listings for appetizers, rice dishes , noodles, entrees and sushi. They have sushi rolls that are only $3 to $5 in addition to their regular sushi menu. I wanted sushi so badly after scanning their extensive menu however the cold chill tonight had me looking for something to warm me up. I looked and looked and everything looked delicious so I went with old faithful—shrimp pad thai.

If you mess up pad thai, that’s how I know you’re a bad place. And it was quite tasty!! I like how they put peanuts on the side and it is enough for two or three servings so I could enjoy it there plus take some home for leftovers one day. The pieces of shrimp they threw in there were huge and fresh, score! I am just bummed that I don’t live closer to this place because I won’t be able to hit it up as often as I’d like.

Besides that, this weekend has been low-key. I had plans to go to two yoga classes, one on Saturday and one on Sunday. The one on Saturday was a free class at a local jiujitsu studio but when I got to said location, there was no sign on the door or name written anywhere so that was a fail. Then today, I had planned to go to a $5 good karma class and really wasn’t feeling it. I feel like I have a cold coming on so felt a little heavy in the head and when I got there, they told me it was canceled. I was happy about this because I just wanted to get back home and do nothing. But I made a trip to Trader Joe’s before going home since I needed to pick up some fresh produce and my hair was looking good so if I saw the cashier I went out with, I wouldn’t mind.

I got a nice selection of veggies, fruits and pizza dough

and something new……

Ohhhh lala! Now I can make cold and hot Chai at home, which will most definitely assist in my quest to spend less money on Starbucks. And boy was not there so I didn’t have to worry about stepping into his check out line then having an awkward moment…..even though my hair was kinda hoping for that moment.

I got some good news on Friday night—I am going to be joining the YMCA. There is some bad blood between me and the Y. I refuse to pay $65 for a membership of my own but my friend told me her and her other friend are wanting to go splitsies with someone else on their membership so my cut will only be $26/month. I can’t wait to get back to something consistent and eek, going on an elliptical again! It’s been over a year since I’ve been on one–I wonder if it will be like riding a bike??

Do you go to a gym or workout at home? If you do go to a gym, do you spend an insane amount for membership or do you think it’s reasonable?

27 Responses to “I’ve pissed off the cupcake gods”

  1. TheSceneFromMe January 9, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I love cupcakeries and seek them out in every town I visit!

    I have a home gym in my basement with lots of equipement and we also have gym membership which is like $25 per month per person. I love going there for the group classes!

    • simplyshaka January 9, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Me too, if I go somewhere new I do my research to find the nearest cupcake place!

  2. Anna January 9, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    I love that mix of chai! I am usually leery of dry chai mixes but was pleasantly surprised when I tried it 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 9, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      Oddly enough, I’m sipping on it right now. I couldn’t let it just there unopened all alone, it’s fantastic!

  3. adventuresofpretendcook January 9, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I live in Georgia and the whole state is freaking about the upcoming snow storm. It’s funny to see. We are supposed to get 3-5 inches and I am so excited!

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 9, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    I’m still good with my little apartment workout room.
    Well… not good, but I make it work. Although I have to say, I love when people give me free trials to try out new places (I’m holding on to one that’s a 3-day pass where I have an open weekend to use it)

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      I miss living in an apartment complex for the workout room aspect. There is an apartment complex right near me and I keep trying to get in good with the residents so I can get the code for it!

  5. Neyal Ammary-Risch January 9, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Cupcakes–That does suck. I went to Georgetown Cupcake last night with the Pi Phi’s I had dinner with. I got a mint cookie cupcake and a chocolate salted caramel and brought them home. Both were horrible!! I mean they were SO dry you’d think they were sitting in the case for a month. But I doubt that is true since the line was out the door.

    Chai–let me know how that mix is. Chris is on the new Chai kick and bought like 4 boxes of different chai teas.

    Snow–How is it snowing more down south than here in DC?! I hope you get a snow day!!

    Pad Thai–Had to laugh. We had a pot luck one time and our Asian friend brought pad thai. We assumed b/c he was Asian it was going to be great. Negative. Worst pad thai i ever had. SOOO dry.

    • Neyal Ammary-Risch January 9, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Oh by the way…you know I work out at the gym. I’ve picked up a 3rd zumba class and starting belly dancing next Saturday! Today I burned 1107 calories according to my heart rate monitor. I’ve been averaging 800 a day. Tell me again why I can’t lose weight?! GRRRRRRR

      • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

        1107? That is sick…..and I’m jealous. I would be frustrated if I were you 😦

        On another note, I will have to hear about the belly dancing!!

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      Cupcakes-thats very depressing. Especially since when we went they were delightful! Who all went to dinner?
      Chai-it’s excellent. I definitely recommend and I think it was only $2.99
      Snow-Got a snow day-I’m happy 🙂
      Pad Thai-that’s funny hahahahaha. I want to make my own but it seems like a lot of random ingredients and time intensive. Why make it when I can order it and have leftovers for a little more of a price?

  6. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] January 9, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Those are some great finds! I never really have the patience to go through racks of clothing. :/ My most recent purchases have all been online.

    In terms of the gym, I’m not part of one. I had a decently priced membership at 24, but didn’t really go very often anyway. I prefer non-gym classes!

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      I wish we had a 24 hour fitness here—we had tons of them in Phoenix along with LA Fitness.

      I can’t do the online shoppng thing b/c one I start I can’t stop!

  7. dianacheung January 9, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    what time was it when they ran out of cupcakes. they were NOne? I shouldn’t be so upset but I am! Anyways, I go to a ghetto ass gym. no classes, nothing! But it’s only like 10 bux a month!

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      I am happy you are upset on my behalf haha. It was two hours before they closed-wtf?? And wtf is up with a $10 membership? Jealous!!

  8. thefitacademic January 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I mostly run (outside through the neighborhood), but when I go to the gym its at school, so I don’t pay any membership fees. I’ve found that membership rates vary across the country. In Austin all the places were crazy expensive! In South Florida you could actually find gyms for $15-$20/month, and here in Tucson most of my friends pay about $25-$30ish per month for memberships.

    • simplyshaka January 9, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      I’m from South FL too! Where are you from? I think thats where it stems from b/c I remember how I only paid $25/month at the most when I lived there.

  9. Ashleigh January 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I go to a gym because I love classes and don’t really like workout videos. I feel like when I do videos I never do it as hard as I do classes. All Boston gyms are ridiculously expensive, but I figure I need it!

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      I’m the same way with workout dvds. I get a good workout but just feel like I’m not working out hard.

  10. Lisa @ Fit in the Midwest January 9, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Hope you get a snow day tomorrow! I totally hope for the same thing when we get hit with storms on work days. My husband laughs at me because I am like a little kid watching the news for my workplace in the morning!

    I love the YMCA and I hope you will too. I used to belong to Snap fitness and the lack of variety there didn’t motivate me to go. I joined the Y in October and have been so impressed by the classes, equipment and friendly staff. I get a discount through work as long as I go 12 times a month, so I pay $37.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      That’s awesome that your work hooks you up like that! If only more employers did that…..
      I almost joined Snap b/c I like the whole come as you are and 24 hour thing they have going on but I don’t know anyone who’s gone there.

      I was waiting like a kid on Christmas eve! I usually take a minute or two to get out of bed but this morning I hopped out and was happy to see it was white everywhere!

  11. This Italian Family January 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Oooh look at you getting Vera Bradley for free! Very nicely done! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      I know right??! The cashier had no clue, I kinda feel bad. But then I think about how cute I will look rockin it and don’t feel so bad.

  12. Nancy's Perfect 10 January 10, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Wow lots of great buys this weekend girl, and you are right they aren’t new so your didn’t break your goal 😉

    How lame it is about the cupcake gods being pissed off at you?? What could you have ever done to deserve that?? 😀 Maybe you need to bake some sacrificial cupcakes at home to make up for it.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      sacrificial cupcakes –I like that idea lol

  13. Monique January 10, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Whats a workout LOL.
    i like going to the gym but i cant motivate myself to go when its soo frickin cold out.
    My membership is $20 a month for a VIP pass.

    it was def a sign that the cupcake place was closed. Karma is awesome like that- at least no cupcakes till after resolution fever dies down LOL.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      I would kill for a $20 VIP membership–lucky girl!!

Leave a Reply

