Frugal Friday-You Say It’s Your Birthday?

7 Jan

Birthdays-we all got them. I believe that on your birthday, whatever you say goes because it is your day. I usually end up celebrating my birthday for a full week or sometimes a month. I believe that employers should be obligated to give you the day off on your birthday but most of all, believe you’re entitled to some free goodies on your birthday: 

*Sign up for  Applebee’s Email List and get a free treat on your birthday along with other specials offered to you throughout the year!

*Like having your food prepared right in front of you? Sign up for Benihana’s Chef’s Table and they will you a $30 voucher during your birthday month!

*Enjoy a free creation at Cold Stone Creamery on your birthday. The offer is valid for a week before or after your birthday so there is no rush to go there on your birthday. Although, who doesn’t want to rush over to Cold Stone?

*Like Starbucks? Buy a gift card, then sign up for their My Rewards program and get a free drink on your birthday.You start out at green status then go to the Gold level and get a snazzy gold card with your name printed on it. Plus for every 15 drinks you buy with your Starbucks card, you get a free drink. And not just a plain cup of joe—you can go all out and get a Venti Extra Shot Mocha or whatever you want. I go all out when I get my birthday drink or free drink!

Venti 3 pump Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte with an extra shot of espresso-fabulous birthday drink!

*Or if you prefer Caribou Coffee, sign up for a free account and they will send you a coupon for a free drink on your birthday!

*I miss Famous Dave’s, we had one in Arizona but none in North Carolina, sadness. Join their PIG (Pretty Important Guest) Club and get a oinkin free meal on your birthday.

*Get a free blizzard on your birthday at Dairy Queen!

*Panera Bread has their My Panera program which allows you to swipe your rewards card with each purchase plus they give you an initial free coffee or tea drink plus a sweet or pastry item for your birthday (like Cold Stone, you don’t have to use it on your birthday and it’s valid for two months after).

*Be a Hardrocker with Hard Rock Cafe and get a free dessert on your birthday!

*Get a flavor south of the border! Sign up for Qdoba’s email list and get a free burrito on your birthday.

*Sign up with Sephora and get a free gift on your birthday! Last year I got a Sephora lip gloss set and this year an eye makeup set with liner and mascara, you can’t beat a deal like that! Plus you can pick it up in the store or when you order online (when you order online, you also get three free samples)

Hope these links gave you some good ways to have your  burrito bbq ice cream coffee blizzard cake and eat it too!

What are some places you know of that I didn’t mention that give you free goodies on your birthday?

 

28 Responses to “Frugal Friday-You Say It’s Your Birthday?”

  1. terri January 7, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    soooo is today your special day??? if so, happy day to YOU!!! i love getting free stuff! have a great friday! may you be blessed with a wonderful day at work! xo

    • simplyshaka January 7, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      Unfortunately no mine just passed last month but thanks 🙂 I’ve been meaning to post this but have been lazy!

  2. Monique January 7, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I love birthdays! I love free things even more 🙂 Thanks for all the advice, I’ll be sure to… um try it all?…. in April!

  3. Carly January 7, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    I’m loving all these deals. Thanks for the list!

  4. leashieloo January 7, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    I look forward to my free Starbucks drink every year, it’s way exciting. Baskin Robbins also gives you a free scoop if you sign up your b-day on their site.

  5. OliePants January 7, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I love signing up for those mailing lists!!! Although all the chains always disappoint. Minus Starbucks!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 7, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    I just signed up for Panera’s program… which reminds me I have a free drink coming my way! Weeee!

  7. dianacheung January 7, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    omg! I never get stuff for my bday cause I always say no to signing up for stuff! Do you get a ton of mail and spam?

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      You can sign up for their updates (I do so I can be in the loop with other offers) but once they send me something I set it up so it goes to a special folder in my email so it doesn’t fill up my box.

  8. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. January 7, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Oh man, I looooove Famous Dave’s! Thanks to their rib tips and brisket, I’ve lost my dignity there a few times.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Hahaha. I never had a bad experience there, I’m just sad they don’t have them here.

  9. adventuresofpretendcook January 7, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I am bookmarking this list. My birthday isn’t until May so I have time to sign up for freebies. 🙂

  10. Lisa (Fit in the Midwest) January 7, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Thanks for posting this. I didn’t know about some of the programs, so I am signing up right now! I love the birthday freebies. I currently get Starbucks, Qdoba and Sephora’s.

  11. This Italian Family January 7, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Oooh look at all those great suggestions! Texas De Brazil (http://www.texasdebrazil.com/) offers a free meal for 1 for both your birthday and anniversary. Good stuff! 🙂

  12. Kace January 7, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I think Red Robin does a free burger? At least they used to…

  13. Katherine: Unemployed January 7, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    I’m am a total birthday-loving-freebier. Moe’s has free burritos on your birthday too!

  14. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 7, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Have you ever checked out the website heyitsfree.com or krazycouponlady.com tons of free and cheap deals on there! Love them both.

    • simplyshaka January 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      I haven’t heard of those but will check them out–thanks for the tip!

  15. Sana January 7, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I have a confession. My b-day is in 2 months and I have been signing up for all the freebies I can get my hands on!

  16. janetha January 8, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    wow, you know your free shit! i love it!

  17. Amy at TheSceneFromMe January 8, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Gotta love a deal on your birthday! I may have to sign up for all that stuff as we have all that where I live too!

  18. Ashleigh January 8, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    My favorite is the free Sephora gift!

Leave a Reply

