What I got

4 Jan

So I am sure everyone and their mom is sick of the trite “these are my goals for the year” but I finally figured out what I’m gonna do this year. Feel free to read on or feel free to click away, it’s up to you!

*Pay off one credit card by 2/15/11.  I will be so happy when that one will be done with. I also need to work on my other high balance credit card that’s currently enjoying a 0% interest rate until July. I get offers all the time for 0% balance transfers so whenever this one runs its course, I’ll just transfer it again. Ideally, I wanted to pay the high balance one off by 11/30/11 but I’m going to……..

*Quit my job. Wow, writing that out as a goal is a bit scary. I’ve thought long and hard about this and it’s what I have to do in attempt to be a happier me. I would love to put in my two weeks notice tomorrow but I need to take care of some doctors appointments first, save up some extra cash, etc. Target date is going to be late March/ early April. This will give me some time to take a road trip (with or without Lincoln–we will see!), figure things out and end my lease.

*Check out cities that could potentially be my new home. This August will be my fifth year in Charlotte and I am just not diggin it. Ideally, it seemed like a nice place to live since it’s a growing city but it’s too conservative, preppy, vanilla and southern for me. I’ve made friends but friends alone can’t keep me in one spot and alot of people look like cookie cutter versions of J Crew catalogues. If you dig that, fine, but I need some diversity and not a city full of the same people. Also, the dating here has kinda sucked. I would like to meet a normal man but all of the guys here seem to be on one each of the spectrum: young John Edwards-esque prepsters who were pastels (um, no), Croakies who can only hold conversations about golfing, the NRA or their MBA or country boys who are looking for a redneck princess. Just not what I’m looking for in a dude.

For those of you who don’t know what Croakies are:

*Pay a little more on my car payment each month so I can pay it off quicker

*Cut down on Starbucks and eating out. This pains me but I spend way too much money on my coffee each week when I have a perfectly good coffee maker at home to make coffee with. Starbucks used to be an indulgence for me but now it seems to be an every day thing, even if I do just get their drip coffee. I eat about two or three times a week and try to use a coupon every time I do so I will either cut down on that or nix the hooch when I do go out.

*No new clothes until March. I have a lot of clothes, even after donating a bunch to the Salvation Army last week. So to cut down on the crap in my closet that I may wear a few times, no new clothes until March. This means no Ross, Marshalls, JCP, etc. I will still buy cheap threads at the thrift store but want to see if I can go two months without buying new digs.

*Plan a stay-cation instead of jetsetting all around the country. A majority of my disposable money goes to traveling. I love to see my friends and visit different places but if I cut down on this each year, I could save thousands of money. I only have one trip planned this year for my best friends 30th birthday in Phoenix and that’s it. I need to keep it to a minimum for once.

*Sell what I don’t need. I used to be the ebay queen and miss the extra cash it brought me! It started in college when my boyfriend broke up with me so being the vindictive, bitter girl I once was, I listed all of his crap he wouldn’t pick up from my place on ebay with low starting prices (like cents not dollars low). To be even extra evil, I sent him a link of all of his stuff online. My motto-break my heart, I sell your stuff.

*Try out new ethnic recipes. I seem to stick to Mexican, Italian and Chinese when cooking at home so I want to step out of my comfort zone and starting making dishes I’ve never attempted before.

*Be more consistent with taking my vitamins. I have a bottle of vitamins at both work and home but rarely seem to take them. I am going to be aware of taking them and try to take one every day after lunch.

*Cut down on my meat intake. If you’ve noticed a theme in the past week, it’s been a lot less meat than I normally eat. I don’t think I will every go full on vegetarian but I can definitely cut down on my chicken, pork and red meat consumption.

*Use skim milk or almond milk in my coffee instead of half and half.

So, more goals to come I am sure but that’s all I got for right now. I started off this morning anything but perky. That Craigslist Killer movie freaked me out! Plus being the true crime buff I am, I stayed up until midnight watching the behind the mind of the craigslist killer segment with the cops who caught him and an interview with one of the chicks he assaulted. Pair that up with three cups of coffee earlier in the day and sleep was not coming easy to me. I had leftover coffee from yesterday so I wouldn’t have to worry about making coffee this morning and made an older but goodie-iced coffee!

If you haven’t heard, Starbucks is offering $2 Artisan breakfast sandwiches with any drink purchase this week!

I got the turkey bacon, egg white and cheese sandwich.

Mmmmm, hello gooey cheese, I am going to eat you. $3.50 for coffee and a savory sandwich, not too shabby.

Dinner wise, I was planning on leftovers but two enchiladas weren’t going to hold me over so I made a salad out of the veggies in my fridge: red and orange peppers, celery, broccoli and green onions. I threw the veggies in my magic bullet and poured in a little dressing along with them to soften them up.

I did that while heating up my enchiladas. They were looking a bit measly so I poured some extra El Pato sauce on them and sprinkled with more cheese. A vegan, I shall never be.

A perfect, random meal. Love.

So yeah, that’s all I got. Hope everyone is having a lovely Tuesday!!

34 Responses to “What I got”

  1. TheSceneFromMe January 4, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    I love your goal list and I wish you lotsa luck with it!
    I would love to sell my house and move outta this state for a while too. Things are getting bad at work for me too, so quitting the job wouldn’t be so bad either!
    I say go for the adventure, move and ENJOY!
    Good luck gal 🙂

  2. emily (a nutritionist eats) January 4, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    You should move to Minneapolis!!! 🙂 Its a little cold though.
    Also, I would recommend trying the Coconut Creamer (plain) in your coffee in place of 1/2 & 1/2 – it is the only replacement that I’ve really liked…

  3. erica @ fashionmeetsfood January 4, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Good luck with all the goals. I definitely need to try some ethnic recipes out. Your veggie salad looks crazy amazing!!!

    xo

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness January 4, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Solid goals!

    I’m with ya on paying off the debt… I’ve got student loans that are not getting any smaller… ugh.

  5. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 4, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I seriously cannot wait until I can afford to pay off my credit cards. It will be fantastic.

    Move to California! We’d love to have you. It is expensive though! Crazy expensive.

    Croakies make me want to barf. Gross.

    I LOVE those artisan sandwiches from Starbucks. So delicious. Thanks for the tip!!!

  6. christina January 4, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    i need to quit my job too. QUIT YOUR JOB AND MOVE HERE!

  7. April January 5, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    I love these goals!! A cafe americano with almond milk(have to bring your own) and stevia isn’t that $$$. 🙂

    You can use your saved SBX money on your car LOL!

    You can move back to Indy muhahahaha…

  8. Meesh January 5, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Love your goals! Especially the ones about quitting your job and moving to a new city, that’s so exciting! I moved across the country when I was 19, and it was the best decision I could have ever made.

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      That’s awesome! I haven’t made a big move in four yrs so I’m excited and nervous…but mostly excited!

  9. dianacheung January 5, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    great GROWN UP goals. Thank God I don’t have credit card debt but that shizzle can add up! Interest? Minimal payments? Ugh!! I’m scared for you this year..it’s going to be a huge change…work, city…please tell me where you plan on relocating…it’ll be fun to move somewhere near you…or you near me when I find out where I’m going…then we tear up yelp.com!! Anyways, although I do love Charlotte and would love to live there..your honesty (it gets small after awhile, same white people) really made me sit down with Glenn…don’t worry I won’t tell the Charlotte tourist board. 🙂 Good luck on your goals and lady…at least when you eat out you use coupons galore!

  10. OliePants January 5, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    I love the list! I have to agree with so many on there just for myself! Especially the eating out, meat, and no shopping!!!

  11. OliePants January 5, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Oh and congrats on the job decision. I’m sure you thought it out and it seems like you have a good time line!!! 🙂

  12. Carly January 5, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Just as I was reading this I finished up my turkey bacon sandwich from Starbucks. Gotta love the deal!

    If Charlotte is too preppy for you, do not move to Charleston! Ha, it’s even more conservative and southern if you can imagine. If you want to stay in the South, Atlanta might be the best place to go. Or maybe even DC.

    Good luck on all your resolutions!

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

      I love it….trying not to go buck wild on the deal this wk though!

      Charleston is def too prepster/ conservative for me. I want to move north or west….I love cold weather!

  13. This Italian Family January 5, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    We really should try new ethnic recipes. We too stick to Mexican, Italian (lots of Italian, haha) and Chinese for the most part. I really need to expand our kitchen some more.

  14. Kate January 5, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    ::chanting:: Austin, Austin, Austin!

  15. Katie H. January 5, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Okay, I dig your goals! Any chance you want to move to the upstate NY area (like, say Albany? 🙂 ) The man sitch sounds better up here than down there (seriously, yikes) though probably not by much.

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Lol I like snow but think you all may get a little too much for me 🙂 but if it means a better man sitch I may consider….

  16. Monique January 5, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    i vote for NY. for obvious reasons.
    great goals. I have to say you are a lot braver than i am. I can never just pick up and leave. But thats what i love about you. and I have never been somewhere i hated because i love NY and all the shit it gives me.

  17. Kace January 5, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Well obvi I have to throw a vote for Philly in there!

    Also, “you break my heart, I sell your stuff.” Love. Clearly that is fair!

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      I’ve been thinking about Philly, I have friends from college who live there and love it!

      Glad to see someone else agrees with me 🙂

  18. genesis January 5, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    props to you for deciding to quit. it takes a lot to walk away from the financial security, but your sanity and hapiness is more than money can buy.

    i was pissed my Sbux didnt sell their sandwiches because i made a special trip yesterday morning 😦

    p.s. did you know yelp is hiring account execs for arizona? you probably did.

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

      Silly girl, of course I did….I just can’t take the heat out there!

      Ummm, your starbucks sucks. What’s up with that?

  19. thefitacademic January 5, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Good luck on your goals! I love the idea of planning a “staycation” – they can be so much fun sometimes, just getting out & exploring your own city! Especially since you may be moving!

  20. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. January 5, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Your bit on Croakies totally made me LOL. And best of luck with the job transition. Life’s too short to be stuck in a place where you’re unhappy! And if you decide to move to Colorado, hit me up.

  21. nic - the auspicious squirrel January 5, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I still didn’t know what a croakie was, even with the picture. I had to look it up and then I had to ask urban dictionary… I guess it’s the frat look? The sunglasses, etc? Erm, I’m old. 😦

    You know the ‘bucks has ground coffee (or beans) you can buy so you still get the ‘bucks, but at home. 🙂

    I found El Pato yesterday when I was out grocery shopping, I picked up a can… my meal plans are stir-fry and lasagna this week, so I’ll have to make burritos or enchiladas soon.

    I try to take my vitamin with dinner… I remember for about 3 days in a row, and then… boom, a week goes by and I’m all… why haven’t I been taking my vitamin?

    Good luck on the job/ city hunt! I like San Diego, but I haven’t really gotten the chance to look around… the weather is nice though. We keep wondering if we’ll like San Francisco better.

    I like trying out new ethnic recipes… but like you, I tend to lean towards Chinese, Mexican, and Italian when I cook.

    Again, kudos on the less meat thing! 🙂

    • simplyshaka January 5, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      I adore SF! My sister lives north of there and its nice going to visit her b.c there is wine country plus the city. I think I would need a solid wk to explore it though. And I have starbucks at home…currently on the Christmas blend so its like the real thing!

      Croakies are definitely the frat look…no bueno. We shall see how long I can remember my vitamins for. Thanks as always for your words of encouragement!

  22. Lily's Health Pad January 5, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Wow, 2011 is gonna be your year! You’ve got some heavy duty stuff going on. Good for you for quitting a job and relocating to a place where you will be more fulfilled.

  23. thehungryscholar January 5, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I am glad you shared your resolutions. Sounds like an interesting year. Thanks for the Starbucks coupon, I live there.

  24. Nancy's Perfect 10 January 6, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Back to AZ perhaps??? 😉

    I’m with you on a few of your goals, Starbucks is the main one here too, I’m there daily. ouch on the pocket. Vitamins daily, I used to be so good idk what happened, need to work on that. Of course paying off debt is also a must do.

    Good luck to ya!

  25. Ashleigh January 6, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Sounds like you are going to have an awesome year! I can’t wait to see where 2011 takes you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’ve pissed off the cupcake gods « Simply Shaka - January 9, 2011

    […] Now I can make cold and hot Chai at home, which will most definitely assist in my quest to spend less money on Starbucks. And boy was not there so I didn’t have to worry about stepping into his check out line then […]

  2. One down, 11 to go « Simply Shaka - January 31, 2011

    […] Well, it’s the end of the month and that means time to check in on how I am doing with my goals for 2011: […]

  3. Frugal Friday-Thrifting IS easy! « Simply Shaka - February 4, 2011

    […] thrift here in Charlotte but now, it’s all about me. One of my goals for this year is not to buy any new clothing until March so thrifting is a perfect way for me to add to my closet without putting a dent in my checking […]

Leave a comment