Ugly Christmas Sweater Party

8 Dec

 I attended the Yelp Elite Ugly Christmas Sweater Party last night and it was a super fabulous time! When I heard about the event back in November, I got off my butt and went to Value Village to find an ugly sweater. I could’ve asked my mom for an ugly sweater but then she would ask what it was for and I didn’t want to hurt her feelings. So I found an ugly Christmas sweater…..and an ugly Christmas moo moo.

(Source)

I heart any soiree that requires drinking bracelets. Makes me feel like a young pup again!

The event was at Dressler’s and had tasty libations from sponsors New Belgium, Country Vintner & Palm Bay International plus a few complimentary appetizers like hot sausage and spinach and artichoke dip to nosh on while socializing. 

 (Source)

(Source)

(Source)

(Source)

There were many ugly sweaters

 (Source)

(Source)

 And some people wore the same sweaters!

Or as I like to call it a Christmas miracle!

Yours truly won 1st place in the Women’s Tacky Sweater Contest and won a nice swag bag 

Such a fabulous time, I can’t wait to attend another Ugly Christmas Sweater party and find something even tackier!

 And the winner of the Einstein’s Free Bagel coupons …..

nic – the auspicious squirrel December 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm Edit #

I used to eat at Einsteins whenever I could… which wasn’t nearly as often as I wanted b/c they never seem to be close to me. Now there is one up the street and I haven’t visited because I’m a vegan now… figures. I know that, obviously, the schmear isn’t vegan… I wonder if the bagels are… oh cool, just looked up the ingredients, many of them are milk & egg free.

Favorite Christmas song… “Carol of the bells”, both with words or just instrumental.

I also like one (I don’t know what it’s called)… that’s instrumental also, and there are sounds of horses hooves and the cracking of a whip at specific spots in the song.

Least favorite… While I’d have to agree with the hippopatmus song being a non-fav… I really can’t stand “All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth”. Ugh.

Congrats Nic! Please email me your address so I can send them out to you 🙂 

 Thanks all for participating!!

31 Responses to “Ugly Christmas Sweater Party”

  1. Kace December 8, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Ha my mom has a lot of ugly sweaters too!!! I feel so bad, she loves them.

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

      I am afraid of the point in my life when I will think they are cute.

  2. christina December 8, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    my jaw just literally dropped at your outfit. that is SO FREAKING SEXY. wow!!!

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      I know, needless to say I was NOT on the prowl for a man that night.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness December 8, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Nice work on the ugly win! lol

    And your swag bag is way better than what we give away at work. I help organize it and we give out the ugliest nutcracker “trophy” we can find…

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      Ohhh, that does sound pretty bad. I imagine you get those at thrift stores?

  4. shelby December 8, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Haha, how fun! I need to get my Yelp on and get Elite so I can go to stuff like this. Looks like a great way to meet people!

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

      Go for it! It’s been a fabulous way to meet people, try new places and of course, go to free events!

  5. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) December 8, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    ooh I don’t know if I’ve tried the ranger pale ale. YUM!

    You have great hair. I love it. I am also jealous because I have horrid hair.

    I should ask my mom for a Christmas sweater. She has a ton…

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

      I never heard of it before but was looking for their lightest beer and that was it. I liked it just fine but it was a bit too heavy for me so I think I could only enjoy a couple of them. And I hate my hair but thank you 🙂 It’s too full and thick and often unmanagable.

  6. nic - the auspicious squirrel December 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Hey thanks! I just emailed you! 🙂

  7. Diana@mymarblerye December 8, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    Baha great job at winning!! How do you get invited to all these yelp events?

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      I’m on the Yelp Elite squad and they usually have an event every month

  8. April December 9, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    I want to be invited to an ugly Christmas sweater party! I have party this weekend but it’s not cool like that 🙂

    I hate the hippo song too.

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      They are too much fun. I’ve always wanted to go to one but never really knew cool people that threw them.

  9. teneightsixfour December 9, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I love love LOVE New Belgium! It is brewed in Fort Collins so when we were in college we’d go there every week for the free tasters! Ugh…to be young again! You look great in that mu mu 😉

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

      That would be super dangerous for me!! And thanks 🙂

  10. Carly December 9, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I LOVE ugly sweater Christmas parties. I got this awful looking reversible vest from Goodwill a few years ago, and now it’s my go-to for parties.

    Looks like y’all had a great time!

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

      An ugly Christmas vest is horrible but reversible makes it even worse hahaha I love it!

  11. Katie H. December 9, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Congrats on winning! You definitely deserved it 😉 Nice swag you got too!

  12. Monique December 9, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    OMG you did NOT wear the christmas Moo moo! Yeah I would have voted for you to take the win toO!
    I love these yelp events. Its like food snobs united! lol. Nothing like a kerfling tho…
    and the christmas miracle had me rofl at work… which is sad becuase they dont clean the floors… found out the hard way.

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      Dirty girl!! And yes I did rock that moo moo….I figured all the guys there are taken so there is really no use for me to flaunt what I got!

  13. emily (a nutritionist eats) December 9, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Congrats!! 🙂 Our annual Thanksgiving party always involves ugly sweaters. So fun!

  14. Kelly Olexa December 9, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Christmas Sweaters just make me LOL!!! And can there be anything bad about spinach dip?? Nope!! haha
    XO

  15. Ashleigh December 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    OMG I freaking love it! You look great! All these yelp events you go to look like so much fun.

  16. Mari December 9, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    HAHAHAAHA This looks like a fabulous party!!!! AND I love your interpretation of a christmas miracle lol

  17. janetha December 12, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    oh my gosh i love the sweater photos!

  18. BikiniBy30 December 12, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    I organize my team event for work, and I am totally trying to convince my boss that instead of a traditional secret santa exchange we do an ugly sweater exchange. We’ve planned a surprise mixology class for after our team lunch and wearing ugly sweaters to it would be hilarious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Won Free Bagels… « The Auspicious Squirrel - December 14, 2010

    […] A few days ago I commented on my blogger friend’s blog, simplyshaka, not really expecting to win but compelled to leave a comment about my favorite Christmas song. Then next day, she announced that I was the winner! […]

  2. Frugal Friday–Yelp a sister out! « Simply Shaka - March 11, 2011

    […] And festive events like the Ugly Christmas Sweater Party! […]

Leave a Reply

