Can You Dig It?

7 Dec

Nothing too exciting going on around these parts.  I could talk about

-Lincoln  (I could talk about him all day but I am trying to expand my horizons)

-Food (which sadly hasn’t been too exciting since I’ve been feasting on leftovers)

-Work (when is that ever exciting??)

So I present:

 What I’m diggin!

1) Mail

To be more specific…..

When companies take your opinion into account when you’ve had a bad experience

Even if that means, I am addressed as “Valued Guest”

 2) Bloggie Love

Erica from Fashion Meets Food sent me these awesome smoothies coupons after I responded to a post of hers on the FB offering them out. 

Has anyone tried them before? Good, bad?

 Thanks Erica for sending these to me 🙂

Is anyone else participating in Tina’s Blogger Gift Exchange? I got the name of the person I am buying for and too excited! I’ve never done one before I want to go all out but have to remember there is a $$$ limit. Dear blogger who I got–from reading your blog, I think you will be happy with your gift!

3) New flavors that make my mouth do a happy dance!

4) Cold Weather

Cold chills invigorate me. I don’t know why but I am happier when it’s cold out and love layering up and getting out there.  I just wish it would be cooler longer. I do more when it’s cold out and oddly enough, lose more weight in the winter. When it’s warm out, I get super lazy. I don’t want to go outside to do anything and just want to be in the A/C or outside on a patio enjoying a cold one or four. When it’s cold, I can sport all of my winter accessories like hats, scarves, gloves and dress my dog up in sweaters. Can you say win-win? That being said…..

5) Caribou Coffee’s Hot Apple Blast

Source

i.e. Heaven in a cup. I’ve had four in the past week and at $4 a pop for the smallest size, this habit needs to come to a halt asap. But it’s just so yummy……

6) Christmas Songs

`I love Christmas songs. I am going to share my favorite but with that I am sharing my most loathed…..

Favorite:

Even though Im Italian, I got introduced to this song by an ex-boyfriend in college. PIcture it: Morgantown, WV 2002. Said ex boyfriend made me a mix cd for Christmas. Youngins, this is what peeps did before MP3 players. It was cheap but sweet and as much as I don’t want to admit, am a pretty sentimental person. He made me this cd because I was making an 18 hour drive to Florida alone for Christmas to see the parentals. I thought this was a very sweet gesture…..until I heard the first song….”Hoochie Mama”. Umm, excuse me? Homeboy slice couldnt even make a move on me however the first line of the first song on my cd is “Big booty hoes — up wit it!”??? Say what? Luckily for him, I am a South Florida girl raised on 2 Live Crew (which explains so many things). But still, it threw me off a bit. Then I heard Domenic The Donkey and fell in love with it…… yet unfortunately did not fall in love with him. I would go around the sorority house singing and braying over and over again like a mad woman. Ahhh memories. Lately, I’ve been singing and braying to Lincoln and I think he is realizing that  I’m not all there.

Least Favorite:

Cannot. Stand. This. Song. One of my sorority sisters in turn would sing this song in an even-more-voice than the girl in the song. And why would one want a hippopatmus for Christmas? Can’t we think of something more festive like a reindeer or a clydesdale?

7) Aaron Hernandez and his tats!

‘Nuff said

So, a little giveaway action for those still reading since this post was all over the place:


Two coupons for a free bagel at Einstein’s. They expire 12.31.10 and I’m not going to use them by then so thought I would share the love.

Love the circular carbs and want to enter?

Leave a comment with your favorite or least favorite Christmas  holiday song. Couldn’t be easier. I’ll pick a winner at random and announce in my next post.

18 Responses to “Can You Dig It?”

  1. nic - the auspicious squirrel December 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    I used to eat at Einsteins whenever I could… which wasn’t nearly as often as I wanted b/c they never seem to be close to me. Now there is one up the street and I haven’t visited because I’m a vegan now… figures. I know that, obviously, the schmear isn’t vegan… I wonder if the bagels are… oh cool, just looked up the ingredients, many of them are milk & egg free. 🙂

    Favorite Christmas song… “Carol of the bells”, both with words or just instrumental.

    I also like one (I don’t know what it’s called)… that’s instrumental also, and there are sounds of horses hooves and the cracking of a whip at specific spots in the song.

    Least favorite… While I’d have to agree with the hippopatmus song being a non-fav… I really can’t stand “All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth”. Ugh.

  2. Laury @thefitnessdish December 7, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I haven’t seen an Einsteins bagels in YEARS!! I think they all closed near me, booo!

    Your last comment cracked me up….we are freaks about our lil’ animals, aren’t we?

    I saw the Sabra spicy hummus the other day, but was not brave enough to try it!!!!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness December 7, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    I’m really typical when I say my favorite song is Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas”. I found a station on the way home last year that played it for an hour straight. Awesome.

    Least? Hmmm… probably every other song played by the department store I worked in over two Christmas seasons. Torture.

  4. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident December 7, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Sorry you had a bad experience at Einstein’s! I don’t go there often, but I’ve enjoyed them the last few times I’ve gone.

    My favorite Christmas song is “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.” Chris Martin from Coldplay did a cover a few years ago and it made me love the song even more.

  5. shelby December 8, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    CRINGE – I hate Christmas music (it is terrible music!) but if I had to pick a favorite, it would be “Baby, it’s Cold Outside.” That song is straight sexy. Loved the Glee version tonight, too. 🙂

  6. jen December 8, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Love when companies respond with free goodies!!! Italian Christmas Donkey is awesome! I hardly ever hear it, but when I do, I turn it way up!

    I love cold weather! I’m way more productive when it’s colder out. Like you, when it’s hot, I don’t want to do anything but sit in a nice A/C controlled environment 🙂

    Favorite christmas song? The Grinch song. I love christmas music, it’s so hard to pick one!!!

    Jen

  7. Katie H. December 8, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    lol, I remember when mixed cds were the best thing going. I’m glad Einstein took care of you! I am participating in the blogger gift exchange. I’m having a hard time figuring what to get because I can’t really ascertain what the blogger likes from their blog. Time to get creative!

    Also- don’t include me in the fab giveaway- sadly, there is no Einstein bagel near me 😦

  8. teneightsixfour December 8, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    There is something to be said of a man that has arms full of sexy tats. I mean…he obvi was under the “knife” for a long time…and that man looks pretty freakin baller.

    Fav xmas song…White Christmas. Gotta love a Bing Crosby classic! 🙂

  9. Monique December 8, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    Niiice foodie love! I write to companies and get back “I think someone is impersonating you on the internet” so you win.
    (i love erica from FMF- what a sweetie)
    I could hear about Linky all day! hes soooo cute. and i wish to heaven that I could meet him this weekend. 😦

    I used to get mix tapes. 😦 USED TO

  10. erica @ fashionmeetsfood December 8, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Glad that you got the coupons! I have never had Einstein Bagels before, I heard that they are pretty good though.

    xo

    • simplyshaka December 8, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      They are pretty tasty but their cream cheese is the best thing—they have jalapeno, pumpkin and other delish flavors!

  11. Angela (the diet book junkie) December 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    mmm….bagels. i would enter your contest, but i don’t think we have Einstein’s over here. (sigh…)

    i think my favourite Christmas song is Carol of the Bells or O Holy Night. oh – and Step into Christmas (Elton John.) hard to say, i have too many of them. 🙂

    • simplyshaka December 8, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      Bummer but thanks for letting me know 🙂 I didn’t know Elton John did Christmas?? FUN!

  12. Lily's Health Pad December 8, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Dude, that is so unfair! All I get from Larabar is one free bar?? And there was MOLD involved. Lucky girl! I’ve never eaten at Einsteins, and you probably shouldn’t count this comment towards your giveaway because I don’t think there is one around here.

  13. squigglefloey December 9, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Fave xmas song is from A Charlie Brown Christmas 🙂 Always puts me in the spirit!

    • simplyshaka December 9, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      Gah I miss that special every single year!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ugly Christmas Sweater Party « Simply Shaka - December 8, 2010

    […] nic – the auspicious squirrel December 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm Edit # […]

  2. I Won Free Bagels… « The Auspicious Squirrel - December 14, 2010

    […] on my blogger friend’s blog, simplyshaka, not really expecting to win but compelled to leave a comment about my favorite Christmas song. Then next day, she announced that I was the […]

Leave a Reply

