Girl On A Budget

11 Nov

I am a girl on a budget, I’m not embarrassed to admit it. I like clipping coupons, searching clearance racks, cutting coupons and doing anything that will save me some dough. I’ve been in search of some new digs but after my company messing up this past paycheck, that’s been virtually impossible to do. The paycheck money that was missing will be deposited into my checking account tomorrow (thank God!) Since I had today off, I figured it was a perfect time to shop around for new members of my wardrobe. But I was also on the hunt for something else-an ugly sweater for an Ugly Christmas Sweater party I’m going to next month. I could’ve gone to Cracker Barrel like some friends suggested or asked my mom for one but I decided to be proactive and visit Value Village. Value Village is like a thrift store but not non for profit. They have a huge selection of used clothes including great brands like Nine West, Banana Republic, Michael Kors. etc. The only downside to this place is that they don’t have dressing rooms so you really have to go in knowing your size and what you can fit into. I always find something there and knew it would be the perfect spot to find an ugly Christmas sweater so away I went!

I searched for about 15 minutes then hit the motherload of ugly Christmas sweaters. I quickly called my friend who would be attending the party and told her to get her butt down to Value Village asap so she could partake in the festivities. We found some ugly ones

But then we found moo moo’s and Christmas pajamas! I saw a Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer onesie pajama piece that was too tall for me but perfect for my friend who has a few inches on me. I told her that if she wore that to the party, I would wear the moo moo with an ugly Christmas sweater on top

Awww yeah. Mission accomplished.

I saw this pair of Stuart Weitzman shoes that would have been perfect for work and only $3.50 but they were sadly a size 7 when I am an 8. It broke my heart that I had to pass up on these babies.

Some people may laugh at me because I shop at thrift stores but I am trying to save all the money I can. I think that if you go in with the mindset that you aren’t going to find anything and devote a good chunk of time to sifting through the racks, you can find some goodies. That being said, I present my finds from Value Village today.

Old Navy Pants $4

The Moo Moo for $3.50, Lincoln was quite taken with it also

Silver Turtleneck $3.50

Pink Jacket for $4, I can pair it up with jeans or black pants

!!! I was most excited for this $4 top from Cato, perfect for work!!

New With Tags Tweed Cardigan from JCP, it pained me to shell out $8 for it but it's worth it, yes?

Eddie Bauer Denim Blazer for $3.50

Life is Good tshirt with hoodie for $3

I loved the inside of it the most

Skirt for when it's warmer out, only $2.50

Old Navy Green T-Shirt, $2.50. I absolutely love the fitted waist line

Green Frilly Top for $3.50. It turned out to be too big but losing $3.50 doesn't kill me so much.

Black Sheet Top for $3.50

Liz Claiborne wallet for a dolla

Pink Vera Bradley Wallet

Yeah, the 60 means $.60…..HOLLA!
Lest we forget the ugly Christmas sweater I fell in love with

All of that comes to a grand total of $53 and some change, not too shabby huh? So, if you’re looking to dress cute on a budget, it IS possible!

After that, we stopped by Price’s Chicken Coop. Price’s is an institution here in Charlotte and known throughout the country for their fried chicken. They are an old school joint, by that I mean cash only and they charge you if you get a drink without ice. Anytime someone asks what place they must visit when in Charlotte, Price’s is always at the top of the list. It’s take only so my friend and I sat in the grass across the street and enjoyed some chicken and the gorgeous weather. I got the 1/4 Chicken Box which comes with hash browns, hush puppies, slaw and a biscuit.

Sometimes a girl needs a box of fried yummy goodness. And all of that for only $6? Sign me up. I couldn’t finish it all but saved the chicken breast for dinner this week.

Some other meals to note were from yesterday-leftovers of buffalo chicken with rice and peas

And an appetizer-licious meal of leftover chili and wings for dinner last night

I completely forgot I had a bag of these bad boys hidden deep in the cupboards

They were everything I dreamed of and more.

I wanted to share some posts I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this week:

*Tamara’s realistic view about eating healthy (not organic, local or whatever the fad of the moment is) on a budget 

*Rachaels experience with dumpster diving for food

*Remember The Babysitters Club? Check out Rachel’s Top 10 Questions for Ann M Martin

Giveaway! Win a Quaker Amazing Morning Kit!

Anyone else shop at thrift stores or am I the only one?

18 Responses to “Girl On A Budget”

  1. Julie November 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Love..love..love all your budget friendly finds!!! Yay for you! I love a good barbain myself! Have fun in the festive moomoo!

    • simplyshaka November 12, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks, there is nothing like saving money on nice things!!

  2. Laury @thefitnessdish November 11, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Those are some pretty fantastic ugly sweaters! You hit the MOTHERLOAD of budget shopping there!!! I need to be on a budget, but I am the worst.

    I LOVED babysitters club!! My cousins and I tried to start one after we read the books, but it never worked out–we were probably too young lol

    • simplyshaka November 12, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

      Hahaha, I remember so many girls in middle school starting their own little Babysitters clubs!

  3. erica @ fashionmeetsfood November 11, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Those sweaters crack me up! I am obsessed with coconut m&m’s

    xo

  4. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) November 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    LOL you look pretty hot in the Christmas duds. LOVE IT!

    I would have been sad to pass up those shoes too! I’m so impressed by your finds. I never find anything at thrift stores. It sucks. I do find lots of goods at Ross and TJ Maxx however.

    • simplyshaka November 12, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks girl, good to know I can rock it!

      I loooooove TJ Maxx and Ross such good finds but I definitely have to be in the mood to sift through the items.

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness November 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Just this week we nailed down our work’s Ugly Christmas sweater day… it’s something my friend Jaime and I started and we love it!

  6. Morgan November 11, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    those ugly sweaters are awful! i hope there are some awesome prizes!
    no shame in bargain hunting!

  7. BikiniBy30 November 11, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I love thrifting! Since June I have been trying to live on half my income and I try to always check in at my favorite thrift store first when I need something.

    • simplyshaka November 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Awesome, I’m happy to know I’m not the only one out there. I always tell people to go to them because you can find such good stuff but I have to stop telling girls my size who live in my area.

  8. Monique November 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    I feel like everyone’s on a budget haha. I haven’t really bought anything other than food and insurance in the past five months :-\

    And I can’t wait to have an ugly sweater party sometime soon 🙂

  9. christina November 12, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    omg amazing finds!!!! i looooooove the sweater w/ the fur around the wrists. i guess its fur? feathers? hahah

    • simplyshaka November 12, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      Oh no, not fur—feathers!!! Hahah, it’s so tacky, I love it.

  10. Lisa @ I'm an Okie November 12, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    I love the sweater with the fur on the sleeves haha!

  11. dianacheung November 15, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    um how did i miss so many of your posts? oh yeah..I’m self absorbed now. anyways hell yeah I shop at thrift stores!! i’m azzznnn. but seriously…I thought i was a punk rock chick in high school so i wore used vintage tees and now i wear used clothes cause i think i’m a hippy! save me!! I loved the 3rd ugly xmas sweater…the blue one looks too much like something i would actually wear 😡

  12. Katie H. November 16, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    ohh I love the tweed cardi! What a goldmine of christmas sweaters. Hilarious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Friday-Thrifting IS easy! « Simply Shaka - February 4, 2011

    […] is  thrift store shopping–I’ve shared many thrifting adventures here, here, here and here I grew up in South Florida, which was a cash cow of thrift stores with all the retirees down there. […]

Leave a Reply

