Sweet Tooth

31 Oct

Hi all–hope everyone had a terrific weekend! I can’t believe it’s over already 😦 I’m not even going to talk about the WVU-UConn game on Friday night because WVU didn’t even show up. We so need to get rid of Coach Stew and start over because after two Big East losses in a row, this is embarssing.

Oh–Happy Halloween! And I’ve only gotten two sets of trick or treaters-wtf? I didn’t buy any candy because it escaped my mind but scrounged some random pieces of candy that I collected from my office and had a bag of raspberry filled Hershey’s Kisses sitting in my cupboard so that was going to be it. The first trick or treated I got, I let them reach into the bowl and forgot what a big mistake that was. One of the boys grabbed two big handful—greedy anklebiter! So when the next ones came, I was prepared to hand it out. I had to lock Lincoln in the bedroom since he was going batsh** crazy each time they knocked and since I’ve put him away, no knocking. I want to let him out but I think if I do, they will come a knocking again. What time do trick or treaters stay out until anyways?  So I wait. But I’m in good company

 A new cupcake/froyo place opened in my neighborhood–Divine Cupcakes and Yogurt. I read a review of it on Yelp and had to go there right away.  I looked at the menu and they had a number of cupcakes that fit various dietary needs-diabetic, gluten free and vegan which I found very cool. I got the Chocolate Espresso cupcake and either a Vegan or Gluten Free Blueberry cupcake (can’t remember!)

The Chocolate Espresso was a bit too dry for me and it was hard on the outside. The chocolate covered espresso bean was the best part but besides that it was lackluster. The Blueberry tasted healthy but was still yummy. I don’t know why it looks all mangled though. They were decent but I don’t think I will be heading back there for the cupcakes. Very rarely will I admit that a baked good that I paid for and didn’t make were a disappointment but they were. They were around $3 each and a box of Duncan Hines costs $2 so yeah, you do the math.

But Tiffany you’re not a baker you say?

Au contraire

I gave the cookies one last shot at redemption. Thanks for everyones tips about letting the batter settle some more. I mixed it yesterday and let cook overnight and this afternoon, it was rock hard

They turned out fabulous! Yes, they were still giant cookies but with more substance and not crumbly

So my co-workers will be getting these tomorrow and then I will be the most popular girl on my floor!

I had a pretty awesome strength training workout this afternoon:

Kettlebell-20 lbs

Upright Deltoid Rows (13 reps, 3 sets)

Side Bends (20 reps, 3 sets)

Halos (13 reps, 3 sets)

Shrugs (13 reps, 3 sets)

Lateral Bench Press (13 reps, 2 sets)

Dumbbell-15 lbs

Benchpress (13 reps, 2 sets)

Front Lateral Raise (13 reps, 3 sets)

Shoulder press (13 reps, 3 sets)

Curls (13 reps, 3 sets)

Tricep Extensions (13 reps, 1 set)

For dinner tonight, I tried Baked Orzo with Fontina and Peas from Giada. My co-worker who isn’t a huge cook passed this recipe onto me and I’ve been wanting to try it for a few months. I halfed the recipe and added more peas.

After

I halved the recipe since it makes six to eight servings and added more peas. I forgot to pick up some marsala sauce and didn’t have how to make it but I imagine it would have been tasty with it. Between the mozzarella, fontina, salt, pepper and thyme it was very flavorful though. I never cooked with fontina before so I was psyched for it and now have a surplus. Anyone know of anything I can do with the extra? I hate to see things go to waste…..especially cheese. All in all, it was a good meal. Some protein would’ve been nice with it, maybe some chicken or tuna next time?

26 Responses to “Sweet Tooth”

  1. MelissaNibbles November 1, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    The Giada recipe sounds and looks delicious as do your cookies! That sounds dirty…

    Happy Halloween!

  2. dianacheung November 1, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    is it wrong that I wanted your BURNT cookies from your last post? I love burnt sh*t! well not literally…anyways, I never get trick or treaters…the apt I live at are mostly filled with senior citizens…maybe I should knock on THEIR door? Anyways…thanks for dreaming/nightmaring about me!

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

      Yes, you can be the rambuncious (sp??) 20 something asking for goodies. Maybe you would get some prune juice or metamucil? I love burnt popcorn and cheese and thats about it. I would have sent some had I known….

  3. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad November 1, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    You should freeze the second half and bring it to work this week.

    Glad you redeemed yourself with the 2nd batch of cookies! I usually stick to muffins…I never would’ve known to let the batter sit??

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      Thats exactly what I’m doing! I get so sick of the same meal over and over again, I don’t know where I would be without freezing them.

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness November 1, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Hooray for the cookies turning out! Persistance pays off… 🙂

    And I loved Get Him to the Greek. But then again, I have an odd obsession with all that is Russell Brand.

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks girl, I was NOT going to give up. I thought of you while watching it last night and trying to figure out the obsession. I just dont get it. Oh well, more of him for you then 🙂

  5. Amanda November 1, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Those cookies look awesome! I want one.

    P.S. I got the Fresh Express coupons, thank you so much!

  6. christina November 1, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    omg that giada recipe looks so good!

  7. jessica November 1, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    those cookies are next on my “must bake” list! they look ridiculously good!!!!

    i got my coupons – after all of the sugar i have been feasting on salad sounds really really good right now : ) Thanks girl!

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

      Yay glad to hear! You must try them, I was the hit of the office today 🙂

  8. genesis November 1, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    oh thank you for sharing the orzo recipe! i love anything with orzo.

    poor lincoln must be traumatized byt he few visitors you got.

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

      I never made anything with orzo so I was happy I finally got to try it. Next step risotto!

  9. Mo Diva November 1, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    OOOOH i need to see whta happened with the cookies!

    I froze my cookie dough and last night made ONE cookie from the frozne batch- it was quite awesome.

    I had two trick or treaters…i wasnt prepared. I gave them granola bars- they looked pissed LOL

    • simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

      Look at you miss self control! I could not do that but happy you have the will power.

      hahahahahah about the granola bars. I was going to give apple sauce if I couldnt find any candy but didn’t want them to throw eggs at my house if that happened.

  10. Mari November 1, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Hey lovely!!!! the frosting on those cupcakes look amazing!!!!! and you might have to bring these cookies with you in december lol

  11. Katie H. November 1, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    The greedy trick or treaters are such a pain! My dog was barking like a maniac every time the doorbell rang. He was a big hit with everyone in his bumblebee costume 😀

    The giada recipe looks awesome! Maybe add some edamame for additional protein?

    • simplyshaka November 2, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

      A bumble bee?? How adorable!! I hope there are pics 🙂

      Good idea on the edamame, I will keep that in mind–thanks!

  12. janetha November 1, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Dude, we only got ONE set of trick or treaters. Depressing. Um, all those yummy sweet treats are giving me a craving for something sweet. They look great!

  13. Tina November 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Those cookies look great! I would have been so frustrated at paying for a gourmet cupcake and it not tasting great.

    And what is up with the lack of trick or treaters this year? It seems everyone only had a couple.

    • simplyshaka November 2, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      Seriously, it was a huge let down. When I went out on Halloween–I went out for hours on end! I feel this year everyone I know either got a ridiculous amount of trick or treaters or barely any, weird stuff.

  14. Ashleigh November 1, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    I dont get any trick or treaters since I live in an apt building… boo!

    Yay so glad your cookies came out good this time. I want a bite. I am sure your were miss popular today!

  15. Jen November 2, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    The Giada recipe looks amazing!!!!

    Jen

  16. Monique November 2, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Mmmmm cookies 🙂 We got a TON of trick-or-treaters early on and I got nervous because my candy was running out! So I had my bf run and grab some more last minute and we restocked. Except, only one person came by after that and now I’m stuck with a giant bowl of candy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fun « Simply Shaka - November 6, 2010

    […] good after my cookie success last week, I picked up a box of Sun Maid Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Mix at the supermarket this morning. It was […]

Leave a Reply

