Hey y’all!

25 Oct

Ugh, could not sleep last night. I kept flip-flopping and would fall asleep, wake up, look at the clock, get frustrated, move Lincoln (he likes to sleep right next to me and sometimes gets hot with his fur), toss and turn, finally get to bed, then repeat. Everytime that happens, I get frustrated and it only happens on Sunday nights–wtf?

Harris Teeter had avocados on sale yesterday-2 for $.99 and they were ready to eat. Last time I got some, I had to wait over two weeks. I’ll have to keep these specials on my radar! I made egg whites topped with avocado for breakfast. I was going to make a wrap but found out last week that a spinach wrap is not good with eggs in case you were curious. But with this combo, I was saying gimme more! I was practically licking the plate.

Work went today—we are still in training so it’s not a circus like my last job but more like sitting in a room looking at slide shows and playing get to know you games to break the ice with our team. Last week we were in training the first part of the day then doing hands on work in the afternoon so it went by quick. But today? Ugh. We were all nodding off around 3P and I was getting antsy just sitting. I know I’ll be using this information soon but it takes alot for me to sit in one place for hours on end learning a process I’m not familiar with. What doesn’t kill me only makes me stronger right?

I had a surplus of feta, spinach and phyllo dough in my kitchen. And to me, that spells one thing: Spanakopita!

I losely followed this recipe. I made a smaller portion, cooked some shallots to add to the mix and instead of making a pie of it, I made the traditional triangles I’ve had in the past. I got lucky—they turned out fabulous!

If you look in the left hand corner of the picture, you will see a four-legged furry friend waiting for something to drop. It drives me  crazy. He doesn’t beg or anything but he will just sit there and stare. I do have to give him an A for effort though, he doesn’t break his schedule and is persistent with it. Boys.

I was reading an interesting article about the book “Twisted Sisterhood” and female friendships. The interview is with the author in which she speaks about a horrific event that happened in college with her sorority sisters that then. I have the opposite story: I was in a sorority in college and developed many strong friendships that still hold true to this day. However, once I got into the real world and started to make new friends have dealt with 2 scenarios alot of the time 1) Either friends who turn into toxic friends or 2) I haven’t made friends with people who get me. Nothing is more horrible than not being able to be yourself around friends. Most of my best friends are still my friends from college which kinda stinks because we are all spread out throughout the country. I’m a believer in the whole notion that you aren’t going to be friends with everyone you meet in life but I have found it harder to make friends the older I get. I’ve had to break up with a friend since one got psycho-stalker on me which again, stinks since I want to be able to develop strong friendships but not when I have the memory of that in my head. I am reluctant to open up to new people because  I’ve gotten burned by doing that so now, like a romantic relationship with the men, I ease into it. I just hate that I can’t trust people, even women when it comes to friendship from instances in the past. Anyways, it’s an interesting article so I encourage you to read it. And if you, what are your thoughts?

Something fun regarding the title and this post—count the Britney references y’all!

16 Responses to “Hey y’all!”

  1. Sundie October 26, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    Put your avocados in a brown paper bag with an apple and they will be good to go in 1 day!
    That Greek Spinach thing looks amazing!

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 7:14 am #

      Thanks for the tip! I will try that next time for sure.

  2. April October 26, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    That’s why I have very few female friends. The ones I have I KNOW can be trusted with my life.

    Work is starting to pick up for me! Bring on the stress 🙂

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 26, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    STRONGER than yesterday… that was one of my favorites… 🙂

    Can we discuss 2 for 99 cents avocados? I’m jealous. And what is with having to wait so damn long for an avocado to ripen? When I buy them, it’s generally because I have a craving and would like one in the next day or two… not wait to have some for my bomb shelter in 50 years. Geez.

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

      Tell me about it! Check out the first comment from Sundie–I am going to try that next time. And I sliced open the second one today and it’s already bad—ugh!!!

  4. teneightsixfour October 26, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I agree with your friendship comments! I was in a sorority too and I have seen my friendships become toxic and sometimes lame. I think moving away from college or the place where a lot of people from college have stayed/moved makes it hard, each little city is cliquey in its own right. But that book sounds interesting! Did you read pledged?

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

      I haven’t heard of that one but will look into it–thanks!!

  5. monique October 26, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    i love the brit references!

    And the spanikopita looks fantastic! proud of you

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

      Thanks girl, I knew you would be proud with all your phyllo suggestions. I am going to make the apple tart thing you were talking about soon–well attempt to make 🙂

  6. genesis October 26, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    i have a very selective relationship when it comes to friends. like you ive been burned by a few and i just dont find it worth my time. i wouldnt mind having a few girlfriends in the same town as me but i have one best friend and really thats all I need. i have friendships but none will ever be like the ones I had in high school. plus the people of my generation are mostly idiots, at least in my area so i just dont bother.

  7. Monique October 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Those look delish!!!

    And I had the same problem last night. I kpet tossing and turning and couldn’t sleep. And my damn dog likes to sleep all up in my business too. 🙂

  8. BikiniBy30 October 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    I’m with ya! Girlfriends are hard to bond with when you get older. It’s a shame really.

    My min pin stares at food too. Definitely better than begging and crying, but more difficult because those pained hungry melty eyes are so hard to ignore! Luckily Venkman does not beg for all food, but bring out the popcorn and he is literally in your face. He loves it. He also adores baby carrots. The man likes his fiber.

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

      Awwww thats so sweet. I love that he is a fiber loving man and not afraid to admit it. My dog goes crazy over popcorn as well, too bad I put hot sauce on it so he cant have any.

  9. twobooswhoeat October 26, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    I’d sit there and beg too. I love spanokopita! I carve it all the time. Something about the crispy layers of phyllo.

    Don’t you know that you’re toxic? Love the Britney in here.

    • simplyshaka October 26, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

      Me too but I never made it and never knew how easy it was!!! Loves it.

  10. dianacheung October 27, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    omg. your lil spanakopita things look amazing…I love that combo! Anyways, oh jeez…a huge reason why i’m depressed and my disordered thoughts came back stem from being ALONE in this town without my close friends. The older you get the harder it is to make new friends you can trust because everyone already has their emotional support system…they don’t “need more”. Also women are so damn competitive with each other. Every SINGLE women boss I’ve had “hates” me before even getting to know me…JEALOUS B*TCHES?! I hate it!

Leave a Reply

