All Over The Place

12 Oct

I had yesterday off with no real plans so I went to Ulta and treated myself. I usually buy Loreal or whatever is on sale but that’s just not working anymore. With aging and damage from the sun, my skin is just not what it used to be. I’ve heard great things about Bare Minerals and curious what it’s all about. I got the full on demonstration from the makeup girl and loved it. I felt like I didn’t even have any makeup on but it make my skin illuminate and felt great.

I also stocked up on some Sexy Hair products (Buy Two, Get Two Free) and a new dry shampoo to try

I made Chicken and Spinach Casserole for lunch. As you all know I like a deal. When I am looking for a rotisserie chicken, I go to the supermarket after 7P and they have the rotisserie chickens at a discount. I went Sunday night and picked one up for $4 which will give me a few meals packed with a bunch of flavor.

I’ve been eyeing this recipe since I saw it in this month’s Martha Stewart Everyday Food and figured, I have all of the ingredients on hand at any time all I need is the rotisserie chicken and I’m set. I have it in the magazine but can’t find it anywhere online which kinda stinks but I made some modifications with mine.  Basically you start with tearing up bread pieces (about 1.5 cups) and tossing in extra virgin olive oil and salt in a bowl and set aside. Then you take a couple of handfuls of spinach and cook in extra virgin olive oil until done and take off from the heat. Take one chopped onion and cook in the pan along with garlic then add white wine, 1 cup half and half, 1 tbsp all purpose flour and mix together until thick then add chopped rotisserie chicken last.

 Transfer to a baking dish, top with the bread pieces and bake for 10 minutes or until bread is browned and voila-a meal.

 Ok, so it really doesn’t look too appetizing but it’s tasty, I promise!! It would be a perfect meal if it wasn’t 85 degrees out but it was still delicious.

 I had a nice workout in the afternoon

Kettlebell 20 lbs

Shrugs (12 reps, 2 sets)

Sidebends (20 reps, 2 sets)

Upright Deltoid Row (12 reps, 2 sets)

Step Ups (25 reps, 2 sets)

Dumbbell 15 lbs

Curls (13 reps, 3 sets)

Shoulder Press (13 reps, 3 sets)

Front Lateral Raise (13 reps, 2 sets)

Misc.

Donkey Kicks (13 reps, 2 sets)

Push Ups (15 reps, 2 sets)

Crunches (20 reps, 3 sets)

Lincoln and I went to Freedom Park afterwards and enjoyed the day. We walked around for a little bit then sat under a tree and relaxed. I had a lot on my mind so it was nice to sit in silence and think about things. Basically, I am not happy my routine lately. I haven’t been focusing on my health at all and you can see that through what I’ve been eating and drinking along with my lack of exercise. I just feel unmotivated at this point and I can see the weight coming back. I don’t feel comfortable in my skin, don’t feel pretty and just feel blah. I suffer from a case of high self esteem so when something like this brings me down, it brings me down in a major way. I don’t want to go shopping for new clothes because the last two times I did, nothing looked good. I just want cooler weather to be here so I can hide in my sweaters and be motivated to work out again. Unlike others, I am not motivated in the hotter weather to work out nor do I lose weight in the summer months. I am driven to work out more in the winter and often drop lbs in the cooler months. My social calendar has picked up since I moved to my new place a few months ago but with that comes more dinner, more drinks and more hangovers resulting in me not wanting to do anything the next day.

With that, I’m frustrated. And sad. And angry with myself. I don’t like the way I look and just not happy with myself and  this needs to change.

 I need to go back to the girl earlier this year who cooked more, moved more and drank less.

I like to keep things light-hearted on here but sometimes I just gotta keep it real and that’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Rant over. Thanks.

Anywho, when I got home from the park,  I walked into a house smelling of barbeque sauce and pig. I had a half rack of spare ribs thawing out in my fridge for the past day and was cooking them in the crock pot for dinner. I cooked on high for four hours with KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce and took a few for dinner and then saved a couple for later this wk. I brushed on a little more bbq sauce to make it gooey. I also had roasted red potatoes and a side salad for a filling meal.

Even though it was Monday night, it still felt like a Sunday night. Don’t you hate that? I was restless about going back to work but it’s all good since this is my last week at my job. I’m really excited to start next week but at the same time I’m nervous since I’m pretty comfortable in my current role. I am the rock star of my team and the go to person whenever someone has an issue and I won’t lie, I like that. I am anxious to learn something new but just nervous that I won’t catch on or be the best (I’m super competitive).

This morning, I was out of it. I got a good nights rest but was in a daze. I forgot to put coffee in the coffee marker and woke up to brownish hot water. However, I wasn’t going to let them bring me down. I was determined to have a good day since it is one of my last! I pretty much spent the entire day renewing my benefits and transferring any relevant emails to our N Drive then zipping the files. That’s how four years worth of emails folks, not fun.

Lunch was basic yet yummy-salad topped with leftover rotisserie chicken and soup that I made last week.

I wasn’t sure what to make for dinner since I had no plans. My headache was killing me from doing mindless work all day and I wanted something quick and easy. Maybe it was the smell of bacon on the bus this morning that inspired me but I decided to have a BLT on a spinach wrap with some Trader Joe’s Kettlecorn Popcorn b/c I’m random like that. I spread a  Laughing Cow Bleu Cheese wedge on the wrap for a little umph.

Le sigh, I wish I could roll well.

I also picked up an oldie but goodie at the supermarket the other night.

I used to love Yoplait but then I discovered the wonderfulness that is greek yogurt so I don’t eat Yoplait that much anymore. It’s too runny and too sweet for me. Luckily, my vote can be swayed and I have days where I want runny and sweet. And Black Forest Cake flavored? Holy schnikes-that stuff is gooooood.

I think I’m gonna follow this guys lead and get under the covers and veg.

Peace out.

9 Responses to “All Over The Place”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 12, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    I heart Big Sexy. The hairspray is fantastic!

    I’m sorry you’re feeling down. 😦 You are a gorgeous girl and your fantastic personality is evident the way it explodes all over this blog! Please don’t feel down! It’s hard balancing it all, I know… Especially when being social involves dinners and drinks and lunch outtings. These things are hard for me to afford budget and calorie-wise. Sometimes it’s easier just to decline, other times I suggest cheaper or alternative options… Other times, you just gotta let it go and splurge. It’s just the learning how that really f-ing blows…

    But no worries! Tomorrow is a new day and NOT Tuesday… hooray!!! 🙂

  2. genesis October 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    just keeping it real yo! amen to that. i need to break out of my rut and realize there is more that i can do than just running, even though i sucked at it. once running goes out the door so does everything else. im an all or nothing kind of gal.

    im on the fence about the makeup stuff. ive been using it for 3 months now and i know i use less and it feels light but at the end of the day it looks like i dipped my face in a vat of oil. its pretty gross. i thought it would help. totally wrong. im not throwing it away only because i spent $60 on it and everything else just works the same. oh well. i hope it works better for you.

  3. dianacheung October 13, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    thanks for your honesty. First of all you are the spunkiest, friendlist, funniest chicka I’ve met in a long time so don’t be down on yourself. It DOES suck being social. With glenn gone I’ve been going out more and eating out more and just being LAZY. After a stressful day at work I just want to sit on my ass and no work out. At least you know WHAT to do…you just gotta do it. The cooler temperatures are coming now so you’ll be back in the swing of things in no time. you will rock your new job, trust me! Keep your chin up. New job=new friends=new beginnings. 🙂

  4. dianacheung October 13, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    PS. HUGGS. You know how I am feeling about my body so I’m here if you need anything.

  5. lisaou11 October 13, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    I am a huge fan of bare escentuals! Ive worn it for about 3 years and will never go back.

    Im sorry to hear that you are feeling down. I think just contemplating on what’s causing you to not feel like working out or moving is a good start. Then, commit to doing it a few times a week and itll star tot be routine again!

  6. Mo Diva October 13, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    how good was your deal on the bare escentuals??? i love the stuff!

    I need to find this yogurt!

    and i have been in the same boat darlin. IM sorry youre in a bit of a funk! But youre gorgeous and i love ya!

  7. April October 13, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Sorry your bummed. I know the feeling. I have so much more energy when i’m “in the zone”.

    I would love to do what Lincoln is doing 🙂

  8. Ashleigh October 13, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    SO much going on in this post that I want to comment on!

    I LOVE DRY SHAMPOO. Is that one good? I usually buy mine at Sephora and it’s too expensive for me so I have to wash my hair on days I don’t want to.. LOL.

    It looks to me that when you make your own food you make REALLY healthy stuff. What about doing a challenge of trying to eat in more? That’s what I am doing now. It’s tough because I want to be social and go out for drinks/NACHOS, but I can save money and be healthier if I eat at home. I am sure with the cooler months you’ll get yourself back on track. You have to do it for yourself because like you last post says, you deserve it girl!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winner Winner And Yes, Chicken Dinner « Simply Shaka - October 24, 2010

    […] dinner tonight, I had Chicken and Spinach Casserole that I […]

Leave a Reply

