Da Bears

11 Oct

I’ve been in Charlotte for a little over four years but haven’t developed any loyalty to the teams here. I’ve tried–been to games, even bought a Panthers jersey to show my support and such but when it comes down to it-the teams here suck. The Panthers are 0-5 this season which is just pitiful and I don’t even consider the Bobcats to be a real NBA team. Which then leads me to thinking what is with the city of Charlotte and their obsession with cats? Panthers? Bobcats? CATS—the public transportation system? I guess Charlotte is pussy whipped.

One of my co-workers was selling his Panthers tickets for yesterdays game and asked if I knew of anyone who was interested. I asked him who they were playing and he answered with “The Bears”. I started freaking out right there since the Bears are my favorite NFL team. I was born and raised 30 minutes from Chicago so growing up, I rooted for all things Chicago. I remember playing the VHS of “The Super Bowl Shuffle” over and over again at home (sadly that is from 1985 and I don’t like dating myself).

I asked one of my friends if she was up for going although she is a Patriots fan and she said yes so with tickets in hand we were ready to go! And check out the seats! I texted my co-worker when we got there with “OMG these seats are amazing!” and told him to keep me in mind if he ever needs to get rid of them again.

Oh, I didn’t mention how it was 87 degrees did I? And yes, it’s October so a big WTF is in store. When I think of football, I think of cooler weather and layering it up but not at this game. We were shaded for the first half but then Mr. Sun decided to make an appearance right after the half and it was just miserable.

The Bears scored within the first two minutes—woo hoo! I can honestly say, I think I saw more Bears fans than Panthers fans. There was orange everywhere. And I am gonna put this out there, the male Bears fans were hotter than Panthers fans. Just saying, in my opinion men from north of the Mason Dixon line are hotter and have better dental hygiene.

So…….almost the end of the first quarter

And the third quarter….really Panthers really?

We left at the beginning of the fourth quarter since we had a feeling there wouldn’t be a lot going on after that. And we were right Bears won 23-6! Another win for them, another loss for the Panthers. Boo hoo.

I did get some nachos though so I was a happy gal.

Afterwards, I went home and took a much-needed long nap (five beers will do that to you) and found it was only appropriate to celebrate the Bears win  by having leftover chicken pad thai in a Bears bowl.

I also started a new book—this chick is kind of a tamer Chelsea Handler but funny nonetheless. I recommend so far!

And today….well today is fabulous since I have off. I love having Columbus Day off since no one else really does and I feel like I am a normal person out living and having fun. What’s not fun is when my Internet connection is so horrendously slow and I have to go to Panera to get a good connection. But it’s all good because they have free refills and now they have a My Panera rewards program. I don’t go to Panera too often because I find their food to be dull and overpriced but I do dig their coffee and free wi fi. Ok, I also the dig the pastries but it’s been forever and a day since I’ve have one from here. But I love any place that offers either punch cards or reward programs so Panera is ok in my book. Who knows what else the rest of the day will bring?

So the question for you all is….working or lounging today?

8 Responses to “Da Bears”

  1. MelissaNibbles October 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Olivia. Barf.

    I’m a Pats fan, but I appreciate any fellow lady football fans. We have to get out there and represent! Looks like a fun game. Great seats!

  2. spabettie October 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    ha ! look at you – all bears – love the pad thai in the bears bowl 🙂

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 11, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Aaaahhhh! I’m so jealous you went to a game! I watched part of yesterday’s game after the marathon- GO BEARS!

    Cute shirt, too! (always important)

    Let me know what you think of that book after you’re done. I’ve yet to form a solid opinion on Olivia Munn other than just “she’s ok I guess”.

  4. BikiniBy30 October 11, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    BEAR DOWN!!!!

    If you were in Chicago, you could see this!

  5. janetha October 11, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Working.. Sigh..

  6. Ashleigh October 11, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Aren’t nachos always such a rip off at games? Those look decent but usually I am so dissapointed!

    I had the day off… but I had to take it off! We only get 6 holidays! BOOO!

  7. Diana@mymarblerye October 11, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    I worked my ass off today 😦 anyways Olivia munn has the hottest bfs! Well exbfs google it! Also I love how you have no shame in wearing your Chicago shirt (cute btw)!

  8. Mo Diva October 12, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    you look gorgeous as always diva!
    miss you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

