Ciao!

9 Oct

WTF is up with this weather? Why is it October and 85 degrees out? If someone could give me a logical explanation, I would love to know but until then, I need this to go away. Hot weather makes me irritable and I am sick of having to go in between two seasons of wardrobes. Even though I am annoyed by the weather, my internet is finally up and running which makes me happy since it’s been on the fritz the past few days. It’s been working but at the speed of dial-up which has been driving me crazy. Nothing has really been going on here-just working and hanging out. I had no plans last night so I made a quick dinner of penne with hot sausage, mushrooms and kale

I walked over to Picasso’s for two beers. Or not. The plan was to have two beers but five beers later I was home and illin. Like majorly illin. Let’s just say that it involved praying to the porcelain king a few times…after five beers. WTF? I don’t know what made me so sick but I do not puke after five beers. Suffice to say, a big breakfast was in order this morning.

Sometimes turkey bacon is a fail. I wish I would’ve had the real stuff to soak up the liquor. Had it not been so pretty out today and if I didn’t have plans, I would’ve laid on the couch all day. Fortunately, the Ciao Italia! Festival was today. They have this festival every year over Columbus Day weekend but I’ve never been able to go so I was excited I would finally get to go this year.

No Italian festival is complete without food. I had the eggplant parmesan sandwich and of course, a large cannoli.

I love the t shirts they were selling, especially the “Approach with Caution-Italian Temper” one.

Lincoln and I went to Independence Park afterwards. It was a perfect day to be outside however it saddens me a bit that more people don’t visit parks and enjoy them. Our tax dollars are going towards them so we should enjoy them more!

 Hot dog!

I needed something to cool me off afterwards and stopped at Carolina Smoothies.

This place is close to home and I’ve passed by hundreds of times but never stopped in. I went in and love the selections they had plus you could get a free add in so I chose the anti-oxidant one with my Carolina Sunrise smoothie.

And they sell Spiru-Tein there! Check out my new flavors—I’m so excited!

And so was Lincoln! Or maybe he was excited about his new blanket that I bought for $2.99 at Salvation Army?

I’m sick of the Real Housewives (with the exception of my precious Jersey housewives—love em!) How many franchises are there now? And why so many? I’m sick of seeing these rich women creating drama in their boring lives. I keep seeing the previews for Beverly Hills and they keep saying something about high stakes drama and they cut to one of them yelling out “ENOUGH!”. Um, ok. Yelling out, “ENOUGH!” isn’t drama to me. If you are telling me there is drama, I want to see hair pulling, ambulance, cheating, cops, spitting ala Pumpkin on Flavor of Love. Rich over highlighted housewife from Beverly Hills saying “ENOUGH!” isn’t drama in my world, Bravo. Seeing that one of the Housewives series is always on, I think Bravo should move it to more “real” cities and it should be one for the corresponding day
Monday-Real Housewives of Milwaukee
Tuesday-Real Housewives of Topeka
Wednesday-Real Housewives of Weirton, WV
Thursday-Real Housewives of Tifton, GA
Friday-Real Housewives of Fairbanks, AK
Saturday-Real Housewives of Sioux Falls
Sunday-Real Housewives of San Antonio

And yes, I do have this much spare time on my hands to think of cities. I’m sick of seeing these over privileged people and their supposed drama. I want to see real people dammit.  But at the same time, I can’t help watching this crap. I spent an hour watching Real Housewives of the ATL this morning and I think I am hooked to that one-oi.

Hope everyone is having an enjoyable weekend so far–does anyone else have Monday off as well?

And lastly, a big GOOD LUCK to all the gals running the Chicago Marathon tomorrow—you will rock it!

11 Responses to “Ciao!”

  1. spabettie October 9, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    ooh, sorry for sick. :/ maybe it was dinner?

    that eggplant parm… oh, my – I want this right now.

    I’m with you on the Housewives… we canceled our cable, so I only get to find about 70% of episodes online. I know they are awful, but I kinda miss them!

    • simplyshaka October 9, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      I had to stop myself from inhaling it, it was so good.

      I’m the opposite of you-I used to not have cable but then the cable guy decided to be nice and give me extra channels so here I am enjoying all the cable that I can! I need to just turn it off and read a book.

  2. Diana@mymarblerye October 10, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Beverly hills is gonna be nuts! Not gonna lie, I like watching these rich b!ches cause they are fake looking and delusionally dumb! Atlanta is sometimes too ghetto for me’ but I watch! Btw WTF why did u puke after 5 beers?! Hydrate yo!

    • simplyshaka October 11, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      I know I know. I think thats why I did b/c I usually have a water with my beers but who knows why.

      I love the ghettoliciousness of the ATL-holla!

  3. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 10, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Oh dear, I think I would’ve puked after 5 beers. I had three drinks at that concert last weekend, and I woke up hung. over.

    I totally cracked up that Lincoln calls you Marmie too!!! Link calls Stephen Diddy, btw.

    And I have never had cannoli but that pic is making me wonder why not.

    • simplyshaka October 11, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      Why have you not had a cannoli? You must try one from. Trust me, from one marmie to another, you will NOT be disappointed 🙂

  4. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) October 10, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    Dude it’s 96 here today. How is this appropriate fall weather? It’s making me insane.

    I’m jealous of the new spirutein flavors. I can never find it around here.

    • simplyshaka October 11, 2010 at 10:41 am #

      ugh, I know. I am ready for it to be over. I guess you are in California, so you have an excuse for it right?

  5. Laury @TheFitnessDish October 10, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    I am drooling over the S’Mores spiru-tein….even though I am over S’Mores, the drink sounds fantastic! Where can I get me sommmme??????? I used to buy my Spiru-tein at Arrowroot, a health food store on the main line…wonder if they have the new flavors..hmmmmmmmm

    • simplyshaka October 11, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      You will have to see! I am nervous to try the Smores because I think it could become an addiction!!

  6. christina October 11, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    haha nice city list! lincoln is soooooooooo cute. i want to go to an italian festival. and yeah it was 85 here on saturday too. wtf is right!

Leave a Reply

