Waking up is hard to do?

5 Oct

I did it! I finally woke up early and got a work out in. I have major sleep issues so I value every second of sleep I get however with it getting darker and cooler out, I really haven’t been in a work out mood come night-time. I had plans after work so I set my alarm for an hour earlier than I normally wake and laid out my workout clothes next to my bed. When the alarm went off, I was awake and excited to get an early workout in.

After some technical difficulties with both Pandora and my heart monitor I found my flow and got a nice workout in. After spending over $100 on my Polar heart rate monitor, I really don’t want to buy another one but this one has been breaking my heart lately. I water it down a bit, have the strap fitting comfortably yet it still wants to tell me my heart rate is 85 when I am doing kettlebell swings (which normally have my heart rate at 160+) so I am a tad annoyed. I kept it on this morning just so I could see how I was doing time wise because of that other little thing I had planned for today (aka work). It would be so nice to have 40 more hours to myself each week yet have an income. A girl can dream…..

20 lb Kettlebell
Upright Deltoid Row (12 reps, 3 sets)
Halos (12 reps, 2 sets)
Side Bends (20 reps, 1 set)
Swings (15 reps, 3 sets)
Squats (15 reps, 3 sets)
Shrugs (13 reps, 2 sets)

15 lb Dumbbell
Curls (13 reps, 3 sets)
Shoulder Press (13 reps, 3 sets)
Reverse Fly (12 reps, 2 sets)

Misc.

Donkey Kicks (12 reps, 2 sets)

After the workout, I took Lincoln for a much deserved walk. Like me, he is also loving the cooler weather which means we go for longer walks. It’s a win win for both of us. What’s not a win win is when he ran out into traffic this morning. We just won’t even go there……

I had a filling breakfast consisting of cheesy eggs atop sour dough toast along with a blueberry banana smoothie with Blueberries N Cream Protein Powder.

Nothing exiting really happened this morning but I had a BOGO coupon for Fuel Pizza so grabbed a coworker and off we went. I got a BBQ Chicken slice and it was perfection with the perfection amount of bbq sauce to where it wasn’t too soggy along with enough red onions to add flavor but not overpower it. It reminded me of a Texas BBQ Brisket sandwich we used to serve at Applebees. She paid for my slice but I got a side salad with honey mustard as well since a slice of pizza isn’t going to hold me over,


I met up with some friends at Polished and got a much-needed pedicure tonight. I love getting my piggies done but getting my piggies done while sipping on wine? Even better.

Now? I am spending time with this cutie

Also, on the agenda

My friend is getting back into Charlotte at 1115P tonight and guess who is a good friends and offered to pick her up? This girl. I am hoping that the wine makes me tired enough to nap but when I wake up, the coffee will hit for a little bit and then I can crash again then wake in the morning and do it over again? Make sense? Hope so.

16 Responses to “Waking up is hard to do?”

  1. Laury @TheFitnessDish October 5, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Your pooch is the cutest!

    My toes are pathetic right now, totally need a pedi, stat!!!

    Why does that pizza look so good to me right now? I want soooome!!!!

    Loves your feedback on the MC post btw! Thanks!

  2. dianacheung October 5, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    OH lincoln…the traffic around your place is BUSSYYY. Glad he’s safe…even if I don’t “love” dogs. BTW Fuel looks so good! I was gonna hit it up while in Charlotte cause it’s everywhere! And guess who else is gonna TRY to workout in the mornings? ME as well…let’s see if it works…probably not but coming home after a hellish day=workout ain’t gonna happen.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Yay! You’ll have to let me know how its going with waking up early. I’m planning on waking up early tomorrow yet contemplating a second beer….

  3. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 6, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Oh the morning workouts… I had about a 2 month streak of working out in the morning before work. But finally, I decided 5:30 was just too early. Plus I was getting so tired at like, 8:00 pm. What kind of life is that? Coming home from work at 4:30 and going to bed at 8?

    Poor Lincoln. 😦 Glad he’s ok.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

      I agree with that. I think I’m gonna do my morning workouts where I have after work plans and can’t just go to bed. I hate getting home from work, having dinner and not feeling like doing anything. Like right now!

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 6, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I’m a little jealous. Somehow I fell back asleep after my alarm went off this morning and I didn’t get the AM workout in… lame!!!

  5. Lindsay October 6, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Your new polish screams fall. So pretty!

  6. Brittney October 6, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Kudos to you for getting up early to workout before work! I’ve thought about doing it, but haven’t. I just can’t get to bed early enough to make it happen!!

  7. genesis October 6, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    me and morning do not get along.

    as for the polar HRM you should contact Polar to see how they can help you especially if it might be a product defect.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

      Touche on contacting them directly! I don’t think of the obvious sometimes.

  8. Mo Diva October 6, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    oh man, you are seriously my hero. I value sleep waaaay too much to get up that early.
    I woke up to the smell of a Hobo. it was my mickey girl. I have no idea why she smells so stank. I gave her a bath in doggie cologne and hit hte pavement.
    I hope she smells better when i get home. Mickey ran into traffic the other day too and luckily i had the leash pretty taught. whats up with these looney dogs?
    seriously!
    the pizza looks reallygood..
    and you have the cutest toes in the world. i have hammer toes. : (

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      What is up with these crazy stinky dogs?? Love that you cleaned her with a dryer sheet! Lincoln has a long yellow streak on his leg and I think he got into mustard or something. And he wont hop into the kitchen sink so I have to book a grooming appointment now.

  9. janetha October 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Have you put the strap through the washing machine lately? Mine was not working right and that fixed it. That blueberry smoothie looks divine.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

      It’s been a few washes but definitely worth trying it out—thanks for the tip!!

  10. Ashleigh October 6, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    I used to have issues with my Polar too. What worked for me was buying a tighter sports bra to keep the chest strap in place, now I never have issues.

  11. MelissaNibbles October 8, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    If I don’t workout in the morning, I won’t workout at all. I like to come home and park myself on the couch. I have important tv to watch!!

    I really like the nail color!

Leave a Reply

