Wet and Warm

4 Oct

Oh a dirty post perhaps? Fortunately for you, the title is regarding my meals today but it could be construed as something naughty. No Penthouse forum tonight though  (I love how I act like I normally have it??) so apologies.

Let’s just start with this morning. This morning started out bad. Maybe it was from the Entourage marathon that I watched for eight hours yesterday? I wish I was making that up but I’m not. The sad thing is that it was still playing when I dozed off on the couch, things like that make me miss my DVR. I really don’t know how I live without one sometimes.

Then this morning there was an “occurrence” at Starbucks. What it comes down to is that people who don’t have coffee etiquette piss me off. The offender this morning was some random dude who I’ve never seen at my Bucks. I go in at different times throughout the day and recognize a good number of people (which kinda pathetic seeing I don’t even work there). Offense #1—standing smack dab in the middle of the creamer/sugar station. The bar with the creamer, sugar, spices, etc. can easily fit three or four people in there. But when you go right for the middle spot and expect no one else to use it but you—oh hell no! Homey don’t play that. I scooted in there and started preparing my coffee. Offense #2 I reach for the half n half that he just put down and it’s empty-not one drip left. I give him the stink eye and bring it over to the cashier and let her know we need more over at that specific bar. I go back to my drink and see the dude is using yet another half and half and puts it down. I reach for it and what do you know? Nothing comes out. At this point, I am pissed off. It’s Monday morning, raining, my eye makeup is not hiding the circles and I have a zit on my cheek that takes me back to eighth grade. I would love to go back home, get into my fleece pants and snuggle with Lincoln and watch some “Who’s the baby daddy?” talk shows. Buy no, must go to work. Thinking three times the charm……well do I even have to say if there was any in the third vat? Again, I gave him the stink eye and *may* have called him something that rhymed with mocktucker.

When I got to work, I found out that I no longer have a portfolio—hooray! I will be acting as a consultant for the next two weeks and as support with any issues that come along. After dealing with 90+ clients for the past four years, this is a huge relief and welcome break. Now everyone else will get to take part in the mess of some of my work load and see I am really not being dramatic about some of the issues I have to deal with on a daily basis. On another note, I found out that my new position that I start in two weeks with be salaried and not over time eligible which will be a first for me. Let’s just hope I won’t be busting my hump too much compared to this place.

Having no real work to do this morning, it dragged on. I worked on a special project and even fit in two 15 minute walks in an attempt to wake up. And you know what? It didn’t work but it felt good to get out of the cube for a while.

Lunch was leftovers again of bacon and kale minestra and a chicken leg quarter with hot sauce.

What is it about soup that makes it even better the second time around? This was tasty and comforting however I got too excited about the soup and burned my tongue-thumbs down. I am loving soup with beans also which used to be a foreign idea for me. I never ate beans as a kid and when my mom would make chili, it would be bean less. Now with mine, I add beans and not only one kind-I like to mix it up with kidney and black beans with brings us to dinner.

Like many others out there, I don’t have a standard chili recipe. I am more of a free spirit and like toad stuff as I feel but it does always have the basics of onions, chili powder, beans and tomato paste. The rest is whatever I have on hand and feel like adding. I was going to make the chili yesterday but already made one soup recipe and didn’t want to overload myself. Also, I only make chili in my crockpot which takes five to six hours. I decided to take a leap of faith and make chili on the stovetop tonight when I got home from work. This time around I threw chopped onions in a large pot and let cook.  Then I cooked a couple hot sausage links without their casing on the stovetop for a few minutes and while that was cooking, drained the black and kidney beans and added tomato paste and diced tomatoes to the mix. I added chicken broth last along with chili powder, garlic, salt and pepper, brought to a boil then took it down to medium heat for 20 minutes.


Thoughts

*Once again, cheese makes everything better

*Ditto for sausage

* It tasted great but not as thick as when I make it in the crock. That being said, I would make again on the stovetop when I am looking for a quick/hearty meal on a cold night.

*Speaking of cold nights, it was 90 last week and it is going to be 44 tonight. Really?

*I think my can opener is racist. It only decided to stop working on me when opening up a can of black beans.

*Hmmmm, I think that’s it. I really don’t have much on my mind right now.

*Wow, nothing on mind? Kind of lame but it’s true, hope you all are having a beautiful night!

10 Responses to “Wet and Warm”

  1. Kelly Olexa October 4, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    I’m leaving the first comment!! I feel so special.
    Let me say, if I was there, I would have given that lamer a throw-down like no other. Who hogs the java amenities? That’s wrong on so many levels. It’s wrong.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:31 am #

      You ARE special!!

      I tried to act like a lady to the best of my ability but no to. If I see mock tucker again, its soooooo on!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness October 4, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    I’m glad the stovetop thing worked out… but yeah, I still vote for the crock!

    And I’m scared to cross you at a coffee shop… he he he

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      Haha its sad…people at work know not to talk to me in the morning unless I have a coffee in hand

  3. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) October 5, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    I hate coffee a-holes! UGH drives me nuts.

  4. spabettie October 5, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    mocktucker… you crack me up girl 🙂

  5. Mo Diva October 5, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    lol you crack me up.
    the mock trucker at starbucks will get diarhea… im gonna make sure all the half and halfs he emptied were curdled.
    xoxoxo
    and chili on the stove top is my fav… i hope you try it again. you know how i feel bout them crock pots

    gonna be making a oldie but a goodie: buffalo chicken chili! fiery hot and delish.

  6. christina October 5, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    your can opener is racist hahahahah. you’re cracking me up! what a dramatic morning you had. i hope the new job treats you well!

  7. dianacheung October 5, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    whoa..salaried and NO time and a half…you are actually gonna be working REGULAR hours girlie! BTW cause of you I made a huge A$$ pot of soup tonight.

    • simplyshaka October 6, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      I know and I may get to take a lunch break every day like a human! 🙂

Leave a Reply

