What’s Going On

11 Sep

I am hungover in a major way. So hungover, I woke up at 7A, played around for an hour (when I say played around I meant laid on the couch watching Saved By The Bell) then went back to bed. I never go back to bed once I’m up so that’s how I know it was going to be bad. But when I go somewhere that has $2.50 pints—all pints—that’s the price I have to pay.

I havent’ posted  since Tuesday and I am just going to be honest, I’ve had nothing to say. I haven’t been cooking too much, haven’t been exercising too much and pretty much have been doing nothing special whenever I get home from work each day. I’m checking out blogs but I am not going to do a fluff post when nothing is going on.

Some highlights of the wk:

Two Jars of home made salsa from my friends mother in law

Jalapeno Turkey Burgers topped with Laughing Cow and Salsa with Okra

A filling greek yogurt/granola breakfast that I haven’t had in forever-an oldie but goodie.

I received some blogger love yesterday from Amy. She posted a few weeks ago about making a big batch of cookies for one of her friends in Texas and I jokingly said “I would love some cookies” and she sent me some! So sweet 🙂 Literally. They were chocolate peanut butter toffee cookies. I think they also have angel dist in them since they were absolutely heavenly. I got these yesterday and yeah, they are gone. She even wrapped them so it was like opening up a gift of yummyness!

WVU-Marshall game was last night. If I am going to be decked out in WVU gear, so is my dog. I like to think he enjoys when I dress him up and how cute is he in his little hoodie? My friend and I went to Picasso’s to watch the game last night

I love that they have  Van Gogh pictures in there

After having their wings last time, I had to try them again and yep—still good!

I was sipping on Stella and Blue Moon all night then we started talking to the owner of the bar and he bought us a shot. I don’t know what it was called but it had Patron and kinda tasted like chocolate milk-who knew?

And with that-I needed grease today.

I had a leftover Philly Cheesesteak sub with chips for lunch and it hit the spot. Now I am contemplating what to do today. It’s a gorgeous, overcast day out and I love it. I love overcast days because I feel less guilty about doing absolutely nothing. But then big question is Greek Fest or Blues, Brews and BBQ tonight?

21 Responses to “What’s Going On”

  1. Katie September 11, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    Greek Fest sounds fun!! And I’m sorry you’re feeling hungover, haha! It usually means the night before was a pretty fun night though so it’s totally worth it. I am currently drinking wine as I write this post so no big deal. By the way, You’re so cute!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      You got that right 🙂 About the previous night being fun…..ok and me being cute hahaha!

      Get your vino on girl!

  2. Monique@She's Going The Distance September 11, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Home made salsa is soo awesome!! And now, so is Amy 🙂

  3. dianacheung September 12, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    thanks for being uber honest. To tell you the truth my work week is the same “work, come home, eat, sleep”….I’m not training for massive races or cooking up all these gourmet meals cause guess what? I’VE BEEN AT F*CKING WORK. Oh well…at least you are hung over now. BTW I wish the friend Amy was sending cookies to in TExas was MEEEE hint hint hint hint. Anyways, can’t wait to meet you this weekkkkkk

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      I know, it’s just so exhausting some times. If only we didnt have that pesky 40 hour thing getting in the way of our schedule right??!

  4. Meagan September 12, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Okay your dog looks super cute in that hoodie!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks! I think he is starting to gain some weight so I may either have to put him on a diet or get another one for him 🙂

  5. Kelly Olexa September 12, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I am sending you hangover help in that mentally-connected blogger-love kinda way. 😉 ((HUGS BABY))
    Um, do share the Jalapeno Turkey Burger recipe and OMG so jealous of the homemade goodies!! DANG!! I want me some!!
    😉

    XOOX

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      Thanks girl!!! 🙂

      The recipe is up in my latest post-check it out!

  6. thehungryscholar September 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Your dog and you are adorable!

    Yes. Share that turkey burger recipe!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

      Thanks 🙂

      The recipe is now up–I didn’t really measure anything but you get the general just of it

  7. sheila September 12, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Ooooooh Greek Fest sounds great! Yummy food too!! I finally found my way back, again to the blog world. i’ve missed reading all your posts, so I’m trying to catch up! 😛 Lincoln is looking cute as always!!! Btw, how’s that homemade salsa? Great?!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      I’m happy to see you are back up and running, I can’t wait to see your new blog!

      The salsa is fantastic–I may have to start making mine own!

  8. christina September 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    hahah gotta love a hangover. yeah that’s pretty bad if you went back to sleep. but what the crap were you doing up at 7am anyway? i am so jealous of your cookies from amy!! those sound awesome!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

      I’m one of those unfortunate people that when I’m hungover, I wake up super early. It sucks-meh!

  9. Amy @ Second City Randomness September 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Yea! You got them! Glad you liked the cookies… totally deserved it! Pretty bird… lol

  10. Laury @thefitnessdish September 13, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Well, your food looks good, and seems like you have been having a good time…the cookies look fab, lucky gal 🙂

  11. Mo Diva September 13, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    i can totally understand the not posting thing… really i can. I woke up saturday and made myself go to brunch… i really just wanted to barf becuase i was soo incredibly hung over. Its amazing. we share a brain or something. only my beers were full price and who knew i could get so hammered on beer!?!?!

    hope youre feeling better!

    lincoln looks sooooo handsome in his hoodie. i love his little poses and faces!

  12. Ashleigh September 13, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Homemade salsa is the best!!

    You are you pup are too cute dressed up together! I want a dog to do that to. When I dress up my cats they just fall over.

    $2.50 pints? Amazing!! I hope you are feeling better though!

    • simplyshaka September 13, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

      Thanks, I so love dressing him up. I can’t wait for it to get cooler so I can break out his sweaters…..yes plural lol

      $2.50 pints are a dangerous thing for sure-doesn’t mean I will cut it out from my life though 🙂

Leave a Reply

