Working for the Weekend

3 Sep

Happy post 90210 day! One of my friends had “Happy 90210 Day!”as his status on the FB and I thought it was hilarious and didn’t even think of it yesterday

Yesterday I attempted to make a western omelet sandwich with peppers, onion,zucchini, ham and cheese but it didn’t turn out so much as omelet as opposed to a mess.

Then I realized I had some cucumbers in the mix of chopped veggies. And you know what? Warm cucumbers do not taste good. After picking them out, it was frickin delicious  so I shall call it a success!

I broke my Starbucks streak yesterdayy….only because there was no line. I have to walk through the Bucks to go to my office so if there isn’t too much of a line I will go ahead and get my coffee first thing but if not, will wait until it dies down a bit. I was fine the previous two days without the Bucks but I think it agitates me a bit. And when I say that, I mean the clientele. I love the baristas there and we know each other by name and they are nice and outgoing without being overly perky. But the people who visit the Bucks are just too much for me, I find them rude or they seem to be confused about the whole process of ordering.

Some days I’m afraid I’m going to have a freak out session like this

I love the subtitles and bootlegs

So maybe, I am better without the Bucks? Or maybe I need to practice a little thing called patience which is supposedly a virtue? I guess it has to be the latter as much as I don’t like it.

I had leftover pesto spaghetti with balsamic glazed chicken. I felt so bad for the woman standing next to me in the break room while I was heating it up-all she had for lunch was a hard-boiled egg. Ummm….and that’s it. I asked her why she was torturing herself and she was doing some kind of cleanse to “jumpstart” her system. No thank you. I will skip the jump starting and attempt to do it right and eat real foods. It just made me sad to see that while I was feasting on a great meal.

And this meal was great but a few bites into it, I asked myself “What could make this better?” and behold……

Laughing Cow Mozzarella and Sun Dried Tomato  added to the pasta….oh yes!

Today was a great day at work since I got to leave a little early being the day before a holiday. There wasn’t a whole lot of work to be done in the morning and that was a welcome break.

I walked over to The Energy Cafe for lunch. This place is a fabulous alternative to the fast food, unhealthy joints that seem to be a staple for many. They offer fresh, healthy food along with smoothies and protein bars (or fuel bars as they call them) at a reasonable price. Anytime I’ve been they are super quick with making your food right in front of you and although there is usually a line, it moves pretty quick.

I love how they put the nutritional stats on their menu so you can see how much you’re taking in (plus they have stats for protein and fiber as opposed to just cals/fat).  I got their medium build your own salad, which I think is the best deal—$5.99 with unlimited toppings and only $1.49 if you want to add protein (I got the chicken). They have a varied selection of dressings along with low-fat options for the creamier ones and I got the Greek vinaigrette —it has chunks of feta in it and anything that brings more cheese into my life is a good thing.

Seems like a lot of traders and closers were gone by Noon so I stuck around until 330P getting some busy work done and out I went.  I have plans to meet up with friends for dinner tonight and figured if I can take time to get pretty, I can fit a workout in.

I did a quick kettlebell session with a few dumbbell moves in there and did two sets of the following:

Kettlebell-20 lbs

Shrugs

Halos

Squats

Upright Deltoid Row

Swings

Side Bends

Dumbbell-15 lbs

Curls

Shoulder Press

Front Lateral Raise

Dumbbell -10 lbs

Tricep Extension

And with that I am—time to get ready for drinks and dinner. I hope everyone has a fabulous and safe Labor Day weekend! The parental units are coming in tomorrow plus a couple of my sorority sisters will be in town so I don’t even feel like I have too much of a weekend since I will be running around but it is guaranteed to be fun!

20 Responses to “Working for the Weekend”

  1. Katie September 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    I haven’t had Starbucks in a few weeks and it’s so weird!! I miss it! I’ve just been drinking brewed coffee since I don’t have time to go to Sbucks in the morning. I always like to get it on the weekends though. The pasta and chicken looks really good btw.

    • simplyshaka September 4, 2010 at 7:31 am #

      Isn’t it? I hate being one of those people who needs to have Starbucks but it’s true. I love getting it on the wknds and usually reserve my free drink coupons for that 🙂

  2. genesis September 3, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    lol…patience is so not worth it. believe me, i tried, just get angry and go with it! and plus its much more fun to be a bitch…and i would totally freak out like will.

  3. sweetandcurly September 3, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    That pasta looks incredibly delish!!

    I have never used a Kettlebell before…do you enjoy incorporating that into your workouts?

    Have a great weekend!

    • simplyshaka September 4, 2010 at 7:30 am #

      Yes!!! I love it and can’t recommend it enough. I was running for awhile but my knee started acting up so I started doing my KB stuff and found a lot of exercises online. It gets my heart rate up to usually 150/160 and I get an awesome calorie burn. Let me know if you have any more questions 🙂

  4. janetha September 3, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    wow, stellar workout! quite the calorie burnage, lady. i love that LC cheese! i have the same kind right now! happy 90310 😉

  5. Thislady25 September 4, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    That salad looks de-lish. Have a fun weekend with all of your visitors-sounds fun! Thank you for the thoughtful comment on my blog it meant a lot<3

  6. April September 4, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Sweet, I didn’t even think of 90210 on that day.

    I used to work for the weekends but I still like my job right now 😉

  7. MelissaNibbles September 4, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Yes! What is up with a-holes that go to Starbucks? Who in this world hasn’t been to a Starbucks and figured out the ordering process at this point? What really bugs me are the jerks who argue with the poor barista’s “Well, it’s not like this in Dunkin Donuts! I don’t speak Starbucks!” Then why are you at Starbucks then lady?

    Have a good weekend 😉

  8. dianacheung September 4, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I have a friend who is always torturing herself with liquid cleanse diets, the all protein diet, starvation, etc and she’s actually 10 lbs heavier cause of all the restrictions!! I hate it!!! And just give in to the bux..i heard they have NEW flavors for the winter..toffee mocha or something? BTW Glenn said he ate at a place called kebab…please tell me you are already looking for fun stuff for us to do. 🙂

  9. Laury @thefitnessdish September 4, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    I love h ow that cafe has fresh food AND puts the nutritional stats on the menu!! I wish we had a place like that around here 😦

    have a great weekend!!!

  10. Lauren @ WWoB September 4, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Duddeee, Kashi stopped making my favorite cereal! Kashi Vive was the best one! I cant find it anywhere :(( Le merhh. Perhaps I will have to try yours!

  11. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 4, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    i love that u use dumbells during ur workouts and create a neat little routine out of it. most people havent seen a dumbell here lol its kind of sad. but they really work at toning the body!

    oh wow that WAS a great feast, but i liked it much better with the cheese, good intuition ❤ haha

    plus your breakfast is outrageously appetizing to look at. mmmmm

    XOXO ❤

  12. Kelly Olexa September 5, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    That Energy Cafe looks like it’d be right up my alley. Add a little Huge Jackman and it’s REALLY right up my alley. WHAT? haha
    Love me some kettlebells and pretty much every single thing you make and show on your blog. Will you marry me, in a blogger way? 😉
    hehehe I’m a dork.

    • simplyshaka September 7, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      Girl, you’re too funny–blogger marriage?!?! Hahahahahahahaha LOVE IT! 🙂

      Hugh Jackman covered in Greek feta dressing? Yes please!!!

  13. christina September 6, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    ONLY a hard boiled egg? wtf is wrong with her. haha. ok that wasn’t very nice of me to say, but really…i want your pasta! i bet she did too. ha ha.

  14. Monique@She's Going The Distance September 6, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    I am with you!! I always think it sounds good to throw cucumbers in something, but always gag whenever I cook them.

    • simplyshaka September 7, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      Seriously, I wanted to choke but was almost too lazy to pick them out. Almost.

  15. BikiniBy30 September 6, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Big kudos for throwing in a quick workout! It’s all of those little choices that count-even though sometimes I just don’t want to move!! You’re a rockstar!

  16. Mo Diva September 7, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    i love balsamic chicken! NOM! looks great tiff.

    and i love that you added your cheese to your pasta! i did the same thing with some goat cheese last night. mmmm. goat cheese.

    as for the lady with the hard boiled egg… betcha she is eating a life size brownie right now. bet you.

Leave a Reply

