Can We Talk About……

11 Aug

Can we talk about how much I love zumba?  I went to zumba  after work on Tuesday and my co-worker showed up to dance it out with me. I have so much fun each time I go and get such a terrific workout plus I never dread going. Oh and hello calorie burn!

Breakfast was a bagel with cream cheese, nothing too exciting.

Can we talk about how much I am loving the dry shampoo lately? I got this bottle at Ulta with my free gift coupon and am sad it’s running low.

I love it primarily because I get lazy and don’t feel like going through the whole process of washing, conditioning, drying and curling my hair with the humidity going on. I do my hair, step outside and whoosh-I look like a white Diana Ross. But check it out, I used it on Tuesday morning (after last washing it on Saturday morning) and it made my hair so voluminous and bouncy.

Can we talk about how I put my foot  in my mouth in a major way this morning? This dude on my floor was dating a girl who works at Starbucks and I just found out it about. I love the Starbucks girl because she is so sweet and helpful. Oh yeah and last week, I spilled my coffee twice. And I’m not talking about spilling it a little. My motto is go big or go home so both times I spilled coffee all over my new Vera Bradley wallet and my bus pass (RIP Bus pass). Anyways, I was in the elevator with him and my coffee buddy today heading to Starbucks and said to him “I love your girlfriend so much, she is so patient and helped me twice last week when I spilled my coffee”. He looked at me and said “She’s not my girlfriend anymore and she isn’t that patient”. Eek—sorry! Of course, the elevator seemed to slow down at that point and it was a tad awkward. I can usually make it until 3P without sticking my foot in my mouth so today was a fail.

I had leftover Penne Franco from Carrabba’s for lunch on Tuesday

Can we talk about  James Franco and his hotness?  When did he get hot? I always thought he was kinda skeezy looking but apparently skeezy does it for me.

Can we talk about how much I love hippie produce day?

I keep telling myself that September is not around the corner because September is when the hippies leave until spring. I wonder what they do during their hiatus from their fruit stand. Do they do hippie-licious activities at home? Make tye dye? Listen to the Grateful Dead? The possibilities are endless!

Can we talk about how sometimes a simply dinner can be so fulfilling? Dinner was a roast beef and cheese sandwich on whole wheat with cold quinoa salad with lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil, red peppers, carrots, red onions and tomatoes

With a side of olives

Lastly, can we talk about how much I love my Magic Bullet? I  made a green monster in a bowl with blueberries, POM Wonderful, almond milk, ice, xanthan gum and baby spinach for dessert

I really want to try the recipes in the book that came with the Bullet, anyone try anything out of there?

23 Responses to “Can We Talk About……”

  1. lisaou11 August 11, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Random, but I love the way quinoa looks in photos! so pretty.

    Also, I’m in love with zumba too. Its so fun you don’t even feel like you are working out.

    oh, and last thing–dry shampoo does rock!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness August 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    James Franco is cute. And he is totally the type of cute that is “you’re a bit dangerous and I would never bring you home to meet the parents but want to spend some quality just-the-two-of-us time with you anyways”. Yep…

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

      Exactly, he is so bad boy dirty, I loves it.

  3. genesis @ more than just your average runner August 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    i love your hair. im trying the tresemme dry shampoo spray and i hate it. im gonna have to make a trip to Ulta and see what they have there.

    lol @ awkward elevator moment. amazingly i havent had any awkward situations lately, which is so odd. i might have to go fix that.

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks!! I’ve heard of people not diggin the mousse or spray dry shampoo but I am loving the powder stuff. It even smells good (more of a musky smell than fruity)

      Hope you find your awkward moment soon 🙂

  4. Mo Diva August 11, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    i love that pasta you be eating! mm! thats MY kinda swag. FOOD! LOL.

    How does dry shampoo work? The other day when i was up with the sun for blogher my hair was a GREASEBALL and i sat there putting baby powder on my scalp to grant me one more dirty hair day (it worked but i had a cruella deville streak of white powder in my hair that i pretended was on purpose)

    OMG my foot LIVES in my mouth. I have learned how to pretend I meant my foot to be in my mouth… it makes me funnier. 🙂

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

      It’s great, it’s just like baby powder but better. I just powder all over (as opposed to just my scalp) and brush through and voila—bounce!

  5. Mari August 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    hey love!!! I love your hair! it looks so pretty.

    And yup Zumba is amazin!!! the first time I went, I was hooked!!!! I am actually headin to a Zumba event in 2 weeks…I can not wait =)

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      Zumba event?? Like a zumbathon? Jealous. But then again, you are Latin so I am sure if comes easy to you lol I am not even doing the right moves I am just moving and hoping I dont fall 🙂

  6. April August 11, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I’m glad you found some you love to do! It really makes difference.

    Awkard elevator moment LOL!

  7. Diana@mymarblerye August 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I can’t do franco! He looks like a druggie! And sandwiches are always fine! Take me to zumba!

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      You know I love the bad boys! When you are here we can go—first class free!

  8. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com August 11, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    i love how ur addicted to Zumba!! tends to have that effect on a person 🙂

    mmm ur sandwich is looking mighty FINE 🙂

    xoxo

  9. Jenn August 12, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    I actually got certified to teach Zumba almost 2 years ago. Then I realized I didn’t have the time to make up routines to keep classes fresh. No one would have wanted to come to my classes doing the same songs for an entire year. You’re right it’s so much fun!

    That quinoa salad looks SO GOOD and I LOVE olives!

    • simplyshaka August 13, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      I can not even begin to imagine how much work it is to plan routines, moves and all that jazz—oi! Thats awesome that you got certified though 🙂

  10. Aimee August 12, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Hi I’m new to your blog. Congrats on your transformation you look fantastic! And James Franco is so sexy I must agree. I mean, have you seen him in the Eat, Pray, Love trailor? haha

    • simplyshaka August 13, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      Awwww thanks and thanks for stopping by

      Yes to the Esy Pray Love trailor!!! Thats what did it for me, he just looks so sexy and the fact they are playing it every commercial break doesnt hurt either 🙂

  11. christina August 12, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    how did you get james franco in your bed? lucky bitch.

  12. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl August 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I need to try that shampoo. Soon!

    Your quinoa dish looks awesome! I love the stuff!

    I stick my foot in my mouth like that all the time…I hate it!

  13. thehungryscholar August 12, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Can we talk about how awesome you are?

    I wish my hair looked like that. My foot is permanently lodged in my mouth. I hear ya.

  14. Kelly Olexa August 14, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Wait a second. I can see your bagel through your cream cheese. How does that happen? When I put cream cheese on a bagel, the cream cheese is usually thicker than the bagel. Didn’t you know this rule?? ;-)~!

    • simplyshaka August 15, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      I know I know, I am trying to make the little changes! I always say “and then I have some bagel with my cream cheese” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Swap Shop Swat « Simply Shaka - August 14, 2011

    […] prices like that, they are close to knocking off my beloved Charlotte hippies from their pedestal. We’ll always have produce, dear […]

Leave a Reply

