Tofu Win. Egg Fail

10 Aug

 Monday was meh Monday. Blech. Another Monday where I just couldn’t wake up, it was too humid out and my stomach was cramping. Suffice to say, not a good way to start the week. Plus the new guy on our team started today and I am helping with training so trying to be patient, enthusiastic and oh yeah, nice was stretching it a bit for me.

I thought breakfast would be rocking—I made an egg scramble with egg whites and one brown egg with avocado and tabasco.

To be honest, the eggs kinda sucked. I am used to eggs with ketchup and for some reason, don’t have any on hand. In my old apartment, I would have bottles of ketchup in the cupboard for this kind of situation. But now? None. Maybe someone decided to do their own intervention o’ ketchup since they know I love it so much but I honestly have no clue who that would be. And it’s not like I don’t go to the supermarket twice a week and live within walking distance of one that I can’t buy it, I just haven’t. End of ketchup rant. The avocado looked like it was ready to go on the outside and was tender but when I sliced it open, it totally wasn’t. I hate when that happens.

I had leftover  Linguine Pescatore for lunch

Now looking back, I was totally that obnoxious person stinking up the break room with my seafood. Oh well, sucks for them—it was worth it!!

Snacks for the day

There was a surprise anniversary party for one of the managers on my floor. And we all know what that means—cake. Lots of it. But I was surprised they had stuff besides cake like cheese, crackers and nuts.

I was quite proud of myself for passing on the cake but I would be lying if I said this plate was my only plate of cheese. I can’t resist the siren calls of dairy!

I bought some tofu awhile ago and needed to use it soon. Most of the tofu dishes I’ve made have been stir fry and to be honest, that gets a tad boring after awhile. I thought it would be fun and something different to try tofu tacos.

I got creative with getting the liquid out from my tofu instead of just pressing with a plate or paper towel. Who needs a tofu press when you have this? Actually, a tofu press would be pretty sweet but still I can save some money in the meantime by doing this.

I seasoned the tofu with salt and pepper then cooked with these two

The tofu was great-I’ve only made it one other time without breading or not fried and it turned out horrendous (on another note, that was one of my favorite posts to write). But this meal was fabulous, tasty and fresh, what more could you ask for?

As always, my little guy was right near me waiting for something to drop. Something tells me he wouldn’t discriminate against the tofu

I got my free drink coupon from Starbucks in the mail–now to think of what I will get and when!

If you’re like me thinking a peach and pomegranate smoothie would be a fun RSVP party in your mouth, you’re wrong. I made this concoction last night with almond milk, ice, xanthan gum and it was horrid. So horrid I didn’t even take a picture of it so yeah, chew on that (or should I say sip on that?) for awhile. Sometimes pairings that seem magical to you don’t turn out to be so magical.

Kinda like Crystal Pepsi

I used to not care for Tuesdays just like Amy but ever since I started going to zumba on Tuesday nights I have something forward to and am diggin that. I convinced one of my co-workers ( who has started to eat healthier and lost a ton of weight already!) to go with me and she seemed interested but I didn’t think she would actually go. She mentioned to me the other day that she will see me there tonight and I can’t wait to see her at zumba.

I also found out a restaurant near my place that has $2.50 fish tacos on Tuesday nights which could totally get in the way of my zumba time. But then I guess it all comes down to priorities right? Happy Tuesday all!

15 Responses to “Tofu Win. Egg Fail”

  1. lifewithacrazypup August 10, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    I have never had tofu! I need to step up my game and try it out!! I just have no idea of where to even start

  2. Mo Diva August 10, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    OMG crystal pepsi! i was totally one of those who fell for the hype! lol

    and the tofu looks like it came out great.

    Linky looks so handsome with his haircut!

    and Mickey has been acting a lil weird since i came back from blogher… she actually attacked another dog yesterday. I was so surprised by it, i gave her a really hard tug and she yelped. I started to tear, i felt like such a bad mom… and really what the fuck is up with her acting like a douchey yappy dog??
    sorry. that felt good toget out.
    miss ya!

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Lol. Ok so the Mickey story isn’t haha funny but more like wtf funny. I think she wants you at home 🙂

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness August 10, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Aaahhh… I’m glad you found Zumba to brighten the horrid day! lol. My friend and I used to do Tuesday-Night-Fun-Night, but for some reason have switched it up to Thursday nights instead. Not sure why? I’m gonna have to fix that…

    Oh avocado trickery! I HATE that. Because it’s not like the little boogers are cheap!

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      Friday eve is a fun way to kinda start the wknd though so I don’t blame you.

  4. genesis August 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    tofu tacos…genius. i wouldnt blame lincoln if he ignored tofu on the ground…lol. ian’s family dog lays right in front of the stove anytime anyone cooks in the house. she knows the right spot where food is highly likely to fall.

    zumba or tacos…what a hard decision.

  5. nic - the auspicious squirrel August 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Those tofu tacos look really good! I usually fail at tofu, but I need to give it another go… 🙂

  6. thehungryscholar August 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    I need more tofu in my life. I like it, so I have no idea why I never buy it.

    Thanks for the sweet comment. I am totally excited about posting more. I’ve been so anxious to do so. I love reading your blog also, I learn so much because you eat food I would never have thought of before. 🙂

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

      I’m the same way I like it but rarely buy it which I should since its super cheap.

  7. Monique@She's Going The Distance August 10, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    OMG how old is that Pepsi?!?! hahaha

    I also can’t stand the idea of eggs with ketchup, but I don’t mind it on breakfast potatoes. Kinda like fries I guess?? Weird huh?! 🙂

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

      I love ketchup on everything. I really need to but stock in heinz!

  8. Diana@mymarblerye August 10, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I gave in and bought organic nonhfcs ketchup the other day! Too tasty to give up! I’m currently training someone too.. I want to shoot my face! And I can’t believe u passed up cake!!! Ahhh jk you were being strong! I still haven’t done zumba!

    • simplyshaka August 11, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

      I’ve been wanting to try the organic stuff but wasn’t sure how it would taste.

      You need to try the zumba!

  9. Erin @ A Girl and Her Mutt August 11, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’ve never marinated tofu in salsa before. I MUST do this! I’m addicted to salsa.

    I hope you had a great Tuesday!

  10. christina August 12, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    all i saw was cheese, damn it.

Leave a Reply

