Not Gonna Lie

22 Jul

*This past wk I just haven’t felt like writing much, doing much, etc. It is so hot and miserable out  and I absolutely hate hot weather unless I am near water and don’t have to work. I’ve been waking up hot, doing to bed hot and I am over it. I am sick of not being able to do my hair, wear minimal makeup and sweating. It’s nasty and along with that I just don’t feel like moving. I get home from work, walk Lincoln and then change into comfortable clothes and plop in front of the fan.

*Along with being hot, moody and lazy I have really sucked at planning meals. I haven’t planned anything this past week and that needs to change. I am all settled in my new place but am without microwave so it’s been a tad different with dinners even though I didn’t think I relied on it too much. I haven’t been planning lunches out too much either and have been spending more money than I wish to on lunches. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had some good things in the past couple of days but I am a frugalista and the spending needs to come to a stop

*I am really digging my shorter commute and sleeping in. I am getting almost 8 hours of sleep and waking up refreshed (and hot!), make my coffee, enjoy breakfast and some GMA

*My manager brought in brownies for the team since it’s been a killer week for us. I only admitted to having one, I really had three…..and they were worth every bite

*I’m really not looking forward to driving 18 hours this weekend but know it will be worth it

*I saw a set of twins who looked like the Asian equivalent of It’s Pat! and really wanted to whip out my camera but was polite instead

*I really don’t respect and can’t be nice to people with a bad work ethnic.Take some pride in what you do!

*I am ready for fall to be here. Beer, football and cooler weather make me happy!

So, with that being said, I’m hot, tired from work and need to get ready for this weekend! Hope everyone is having a lovely….and cooler week!

20 Responses to “Not Gonna Lie”

  1. thehungryscholar July 22, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I would have eaten 5 of those brownies. Yum! I’m excited for football season too! I love tailgates.

  2. dianacheung July 23, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    OMG. Why didn’t you buy a plane ticket? I can NOT drive 18 hours…I would probably get a blood clot!

    • simplyshaka July 27, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

      It was super expensive ($400+) for the flight alone plus boarding Lincoln, the smart money choice was to just take him with me. I need to find someone who will watch him for free or cheap.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 23, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    Sorry about the summer doldrums… :S Our weather has been so back and forth- I guess that’s why it hasn’t hit me yet?

    And I’m a frugalista, too. So the past few weekends of eating out every meal have given me some serious anxiety… ick!

    I hope you have a good friday and enjoy the weekend!

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 23, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    We get in those ruts too where we eat out way too much! It’s hard to get back on track, but I feel so much better when we do! Have fun this weekend…you are awesome for driving that far…wow!

  5. coffeeismycarrot July 23, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I feel ya on the microwave. I didn’t realize how much I used it either until I didn’t have one. Going on a year and a half now and i still miss it. Leftovers are near imposssible with no microwave.

    Sorry about the heat! That’s par for the course in the summers here in Texas, but it still wears me out.

  6. Kelly July 23, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Oh my gosh football season…YES!!! I am ready to see my lovah (Peyton Manning) in action!!!

    • simplyshaka July 27, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

      I saw a billboard of him in Indianapolis this wknd, you would have loved it!!

  7. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 24, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    the hot weather sucks my mood right out of me lol. im sorry uve been feeling kinda crappy. i went thru a week of feeling like that..but the weather settled down a bit and helped me focus a bit more. xoxo ❤

    • simplyshaka July 27, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

      Thats it-I need to move to Canada!! 🙂

  8. kat July 24, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Haha- Pat… I met a real-life Pat at work a few months back. The name on the name tag said Pat and I was definitely perplexed!

  9. Karla July 24, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    You should have gotten a picture of the It’s Pat twin! It probably would have made my day heck even probably my entire weekend!
    I feel you on the heat! Last night was MISERABLE! I went to the movies to escape the heat/humidity!
    I probably would have eaten mannnnyyyy a brownie as well!

  10. Nicci July 24, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I love quesadillas, I made a mean grilled chicken avocado one today.

    • simplyshaka July 27, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

      I’ve never made them with the avocado inside, is that how yours is?

  11. Kelly Olexa July 25, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    I am the SAME WAY girl about hot weather. I love sitting on my deck on summer nights when it is cool and breezy…with some wine and Huge Jackman WHAT? Oh sorry, got carried away…..but yes, I hate hot weather unless I’m on vacation, in a bikini, sweating on the beach and not worried about it because a Cabana Boy named Juan is on his way with more Mojitos! MMMMMM

    • simplyshaka July 27, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

      Never apologize about Hugh, we are very Hugh friendly around here!

      And yes yes yes!!! The only way I can tolerate this weather is in a fantasy world where the drinks are endless and I can frolic in the water…..I need a vacation stat. But I think the mojito is going to come a little sooner than the vac!

  12. nic - the auspicious squirrel July 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Sorry about the hot weather… bummer.

    I thought of you the other day… I was in Bed Bath and Beyond, and I saw these cups out of the corner of my eye… do you remember asking me about my smoothie cup w/ straw some time back? (http://theauspicioussquirrel.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/sun-salutations-surya-namaskar-in-the-sun/) I told you they were swag from a class my taste-tester took and I didn’t know where you could get them? Well, these look very similar to the one I have… might be worth looking into? 🙂

    http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=17000918

    • simplyshaka July 26, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

      Awesome—thanks so much for the link! I am loving the straw and the price 🙂

  13. emily July 26, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    OMG your eats all look amazing! What is that meatball looking thing?

    • simplyshaka July 26, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

      It’s just a meatball sub from the supermarket deli. They have $3.99 footlongs on Fridays so I get one then and leave half for later then bake in the over for extra crispiness!

Leave a Reply

