The Garden State

12 Jul

I would love to say that I was really productive today but then I would be lying. I’ve been sitting here watching Real Housewives of NJ for the past 5 hours-ugh. This right here is why I had basic cable, I get so sucked into these marathons and then *poof* there goes my day. I did fit in two 1-mile walk sessions with Lincoln so I did something and was a bit active but yeah, the afternoon was spent yelling at these ladies

Caroline just annoys the living hell out of me. All she talks about is respect, family and honor. Right on to all three however I don’t need to the tough talking Jersey act going on 24.7, act stupid like the other girls…..try it Caroline….it’s fun! And Danielle, well, we won’t even touch that one.

Then there was the childish drama with Danielle and Ashley via Facebook and such. It seems like every scene Ashley is wearing some kind of beret so I was happy I found a picture of her without one.

Teresa and Gia—-Just kidding! I love Teresa-I think she is hilarious and love all her things that are leopard print. Ok, homegirl slice has a bit of a temper but I still think she isΒ great.Β I have no desire at all to be a mom but Gia makes me second guess that notion, she is just too adorable.

Some pictures of the new pad:

A midgie dishwasher!

Speaking of midgies-I am loving this commercial!! I get so happy when it comes on!

But back to my new home, I am totally loving it just wish I had more storage and counter space in the kitchen

But I am willing to deal with it for now due to the location and all that it offers.

I was feeling some pasta for dinner, I cooked mushrooms, spinach and artichoke hearts with extra virgin olive oil, garlic, oregano and red pepper flakes on the stovetop while the capellini was boiling

New product to try!! Sweet Basil Pesto Chicken +Turkey Sausage from Trader Joe’s

When I opened the package up, all I could smell was basil and it was fresh and fabulous!

You got that right, Lincoln. It was a fabulous meal, I didn’t use any sauce but just sprinkled extra virgin olive oil on the noodles and let sit while the sausage was finishing up cooking. I went for a mile walk afterwards so I didn’t feel disgusting from the pasta. I am not a huge pasta person but will get a craving every now and thenΒ  for it but feel gross afterwards since it’s so heavy. It was still humid as all hell outside so it was a short session but at least I moved a little. While walking, there was some construction going on and I saw the sign “Men Working”. When did this happen? Whatever happened to Men at Work? Each time I see one of those signs, I always got this song in my head and if those signs are no longer when will I ever sing Men At Works songs?

I popped open my bag of Pretzel M&M’s that have been sitting around for the past few wks

These were really good, I’ve heard mixed reviews so I wasn’t sure if I would like them or not but anything that is both sweet and salty I can be down with. I think I would buy yogurt covered pretzels next time around instead of these.

I’ve been wanting to try Chai Tea but don’t want to waste money on it at the Bucks if I don’t like it. One of my friends gave me a Dove Chocolate At Home Chocolate Chai Tea

Yummmmmy! I really liked this but don’t know if it’s really Chai flavor or not so I need to compare it to the real thing. Looks like I’m going to Starbucks tomorrow! Any pointers or recommendations for Chai other than Starbucks? Can I get it iced or hot? And most importantly, does it have caffeine?

One more episode and I am out like this boy

Love and light!

28 Responses to “The Garden State”

  1. Rachel @ Working Out Wellness July 12, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    I just stumbled onto your blog, and I immediately realized we should be friends because you’re writing about Real Housewives of NJ. Sadly, that show is my cocaine, and I’ve definitely been glued to my seat waiting for Teresa to repeat her infamous “prostitution whore” rant.

    Anyway, your food looks yummy, your dog is cute, and I’m jealous that you’re near a Trader Joe’s.

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Seriously, it’s whore-ible hehe. I wasted a good seven hours of my life yesterday just watching it but I absolutely love it πŸ™‚

      Eek, no TJ’s? I want to cry for you!

  2. Nora@LifeLifeEatRight July 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    hahahaha love days like that! Chocolate at home looks amazing!! How have I never heard of this?? I think you just inspired me to give that sausage a try too.

  3. genesis July 12, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    you know you could get one of those butchers block for really cheap and place it in the middle of the kitchen or just move it around. itll make for great extra counter space. we had a very big kitchen once and the are in the middle was just a waste since there was barely any counter space. butchers block really works great.

  4. Monique@She's Going The Distance July 13, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    Oh man, you HAVE to tell me where you buy your rugs. Those things are SWEET πŸ™‚ I keep wanting new rugs, but I have a puppy. And everything I run across looks so old lady and not me.

    Those, on the other hand, are sweet and vibrant πŸ™‚

    Also I purchased the fourth packet of pretzel M&M’s in my life today and downed the whole thing in my car. So good πŸ™‚

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      The one in the kitchen I got at Ikea–I believe $60 or $70 and the one in the living room I got at Lowes it was originally $400 but marked down to $80 πŸ™‚

  5. Brittney July 13, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    You should definitely try Chai at Starbucks or your local coffee place. I think it tastes like pumpkin pie. It’s got a lot of those type of spices. It’s so good πŸ™‚ Oh, and YES, it’s caffinated!!

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

      Love me some pumpkin pie–I will definitely be trying it now. And yay for caffeine!

  6. dianacheung July 13, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    wtf?! dove makes DRINKS?? you gotta be kidding me? BTW Danielle looks like steve tyler, and “gia” is ANNOYING AS FRECK!! I wanna punch that little girl’s face!! MODEL? hell no!! okay…I’m going to hell. BTW place is coming around nicely πŸ™‚ PS. BF is making plans for his month of sept stay!! 85% sure I’ll be seeing you!

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      Haha, I feel the same way about other kids so no worries. Yayyyyyy for your visit-cannot wait–so many good places to take you–we will do a Charlotte Foodie Tour like the NYC one!

  7. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 13, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    That’s what I call a great day….sometimes sitting around watching hours of reality tv is the exact thing to do! Your place looks great! Getting unpacked is such a great feeling! And your pasta looks so yummy!

  8. Jessie July 13, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I love anything Housewives! It is so crazy!

  9. christina July 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    your house is so cute! that little girl is freakishly pretty..like she looks like an adult..in a child’s body. mmm you make me want pretzel m&ms!

  10. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 13, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    What I wouldn’t do for hardwood floors… *sigh. And I just LOVE your big floor rugs!

    And I have the mini dishwasher, too. At first I was annoyed, but it really is the perfect size for little ol’ me! Except, of course, when I’m in the midst of a big baking project… then things get a little nutzo in the sink…

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

      True, it’s so cute and little, how could you not love it?

      I love the hardwood floord but Lincoln is not diggin them since he slips all over the place!

  11. Karla July 13, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I’ve never seen the Real Housewives of NJ! I should really get a TV! Although I’m sure I could find it online and be completely captivated!
    Looooooove your new place!! It looks lovely! I’m a tad jealous! Every place I’ve lived for the past 5 years has been super OLD and gross!!

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

      Girl, it’s addicting but I am sure you can find it somewhere online!

      I am so done with the crap places, I’ve lived in so many of them now that I have a nice place I feel like an adult πŸ™‚ haha freaky!

  12. Mari July 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Congrats on your new pad…I love all the colors =)

    WOMAN I LOVE ME SOME NJ HOUSEWIVES! but I have to disagree on ONE thing…Gia is the reason I don’t want kids! that little is TOO much.

    did you see Watch What Happens? Teresa and Jackie were cracking me up lol

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      I looooooved the Watch What Happens—Jacqueline needs to be like that more often!

  13. emily July 13, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    We are having the same issue, our new apartment is perfect in every way….except the insanely small kitchen!

  14. coffeeismycarrot July 13, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    I can get sucked into the Kardashians (Keeping Up With or Khloe and Kourtney, I don’t discriminate) for hours. I think all involved are ridiculous including myself for being entertained by it, but hey we all need some shut-down-the-brain time. Keeps us sane. As does the fact that no matter how crazy my life is, theirs’ is even more ridiculous. Though I’d take their money πŸ™‚

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      I agree 100% it’s a nice escape from “reality” and definitely a guilty pleasure of mine.

  15. sheila July 13, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    lovin’ the new pad, sweets! it’s cute! i actually don’t like a lot of sauce on my pasta, so EVOO on the pasta and some seasoned roasted veggies is my perfect pasta dish. yours looks really good! I really wish we had a Trader Joe’s around here, I really looove that store!

    Btw, I’m a big fan of the new pretzel m&m’s. I think they’re really good πŸ™‚

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

      Thanks!! I am so sad for you people without the TJ’s, I dont think I could live without one 😦

  16. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 13, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    im DROOLING over ur chicken and turkey sausage!! i needed THAT at the organic festival instead of the puny one i got!

    btw dont hate me but i love Caroline the most.. but i only started watching the show more recently so i dont know too much about her history. either way i really love the show, and the drama even more! lol

    xoxo ❀

    • simplyshaka July 13, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

      I definitely recommend it—do they hae TJ’s to the north?

  17. Mo Diva July 14, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    ah trash tv. Good Stuff!
    I have always been a little weirded out by the TJS sausage. I had a bad one from whole foods and never tried another! so sad. i might be tempted by this photo alone!

    Now as for Chai, i used to work at the bucks. we all know this. I used to OBSESS over the chai. the bucks uses a chai concentrate that is heavy on the sugar and is amazing when its made with thick and creamy milk (or VANILLA SOY!!) So, when i stumbled on this product I tried them and LOVED them! had it not been for the fact taht i get tired of shit easily i would still be in possession of such wonderfullness. I give you OREGON CHAI. they have chai mixes that are damn near identical to the bucks version. you just add milk (dont add water like it suggests- trust me) http://shop.oregonchai.com/SugarFree-Original-Chai-Tea-Latte-Concentrate/p/ORG-12032&c=OregonChai@Concentrates

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ill Communication « Simply Shaka - July 17, 2010

    […] Sweet Basil Pesto Chicken Sausage with grilled mushrooms, artichokes and spinach over brown rice […]

Leave a Reply

