Movin’ On Up

12 Jul

So exhausted! Thanks all for your warm wishes on a good move. I am settled in but still moving some stuff around and figuring out where things are so I think by tomorrow I should be all set. I have today and Tuesday off as well so that will be some extra time for me to clean, unpack, go find a pool to play in and such 🙂 On Saturday, I woke up at 630A to start moving stuff and really didn’t get a chance to sit down the whole day but I did fit in an hour nap in the late afternoon once my friends who helped me left and the Time Warner guy stopped by. Speaking of which, I’ve had basic cable for the past year but now I have TBS, Bravo, VH-1, Food Network, Comedy Central and many others. Thanks Time Warner dude? I didn’t look cute at all and was in a crabby mood but apparently that’s what the men like. I have so many shows to catch up on, it’s not even funny. I need to just sit down and enjoy it because I keep thinking one day they are going to discover this snafu and then it will go bye-bye.

 I met up with some girlfriends at Nikko’s, an awesome sushi restaurant in South End area of Charlotte. I absolutely love this place—the atmosphere is more clubby than restaurant with modern decor, lighting and fist pumping music. I only frequent Nikko’s every now and then since it can be pricey (or suggest it when I have a date  and am confident the guy will be paying, I’m a brat I know :)) but when I do go, I enjoy it immensely.  I had the Tuna Crunchy Roll and Rainbow Roll along with a Sake Bomb and Sapporo Light

After that, we headed Uptown to go to the Dandelion Market but once we were a block away we heard it was dead so we ventured into The Attic. I pass by that bar every day since it’s right near work but never been there…..and now I know why. It was full of 23 and 24 yr olds who were just so happy to be out–which is cool, really it is. I was loving their enthusiasm mostly because I was like that—six or seven years ago. I have to be in a “Let’s go out and get wasted” kind of mood to enjoy scenes like that and truth be told, that’s just not me anymore. I would rather go out, be able to hear people I’m with, not have some youngin dry hump me multiple times (not making that up), have a few drinks and go home at a decent hour. Plus, with the fact I had been up so early doing manual labor and such, I was ready to go home.

Yesterday morning, I walked over to Dilworth Coffee and got a large cup and stopped at Harris Teeter for some random items

I feasted on a blueberry bagel with light cream cheese and sliced banana pieces

Let’s not even talk about the mess I had to conquer…..oi vey. I don’t have a lot of storage so that was the main issue. I did make a lot of it work though and only have a little bit to get to still but I ended up going through my stuff once again and putting some away to donate to the Salvation Army.

While I was getting through that monstrosity, Lincoln was pulling out his ninja moves and exploring his new pad

Lunch was a Mardi Gras Salad from Harris Teeter. The name intrigued me, I think it would be cute if they added beads for decoration but nothing nipple related please.

Oh, have I mentioned that I don’t have gas until Monday so I can’t make anything hot?

I went back to my old place in the afternoon and got the most of everything out of there but I keep forgetting about all of my cutting boards, pans and sheets under the oven so I need to make a mental note to pick those up next time. Besides that, I just need to clean the place out which I’m dreading.

I’ve been craving Thai and ordered takeout from Thai Thai because I’ve heard good things about it. One of these days I’m going to try someone other than Pad Thai but today was not that day. I got Chicken Pad Thai with a Medium Spicy sauce.

The portion size was ridiculous—I think it could be three servings which isn’t bad at all for $9 but I wasn’t too impressed. It had a hint of spice but the spice overtook the peanut flavor so it was good but not the taste I was expecting. Maybe that’s my sign to try something different next time?

Lincoln and I went for a walk last night and when we made it to Freedom Park (the halfway point), it started downpouring. 20 minutes later with littler coverage, we were still there but found a commercial building near and waited it out. It was still sprinkling by the time we started walking again and we were completely drenched. Poor Lincoln, he looked like a drowned rat 😦

Sigh, my little homeless looking dog.

Today has been pretty boring—got some laundry done, unpacked some more, gas turned on so I can start cooking again and found the Trader Joe’s in my area. I was so out of sorts when I was there but the TJ’s employees were super nice….unlike the ones at the other location. Don’t get me wrong, they weren’t rude but they would never chat me up when I checked out like they do with everyone else. Seeing that I think I’m pretty effin personable, it kinda annoyed me. I talked to some nice ones at my location and chatted with a cutie for a few minutes and he asked if I moved here from Caliornia…..maybe b/c I talk like a valley girl? Who knows. Anyways, I love my new one and got the lowdown on when their not so busy hours are. I stopped at Target and Harris Teeter afterwards and yet again, it started downpouring. I am really over this rain but it’s perfect whether to sit at home in and catch up with these ladies

I have so much to catch up on. I was never really a Real Housewives fan b/c the other cities have been pretty boring with no drama but NJ I totally love.

Lunch was a turkey, cheese, spinach and spicy hummus wrap with Grandma Gibble’s Popcorn 

I feel like I should go do something or clean but screw it, I’m sitting here on my butt watching trash tv! Hope everyone is having a great start to the wk!

24 Responses to “Movin’ On Up”

  1. Jessie July 12, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Ooooo, a pool sounds so nice!

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      I know—I’ve been spoiled for the past 3 yrs with having one within walking distance. I need to make friends with these apartment people near me stat!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I think I may be one of the few ladies out there that has never gotten into The Real Housewives… I feel so left out of the loop! lol

    • Monique@She's Going The Distance July 12, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      No, I’ve never watched it either haha. I can’t stand reality TV, however, I do like the Food Network/HGTV Design Star shows. That’s about it 🙂

      All your sushi looks so amazing. I might have to have some soon!!!

      • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

        I’ve never watched HGTV before! I think once I own a house I will start though b/c right now it’s just a tease that I don’t own a home lol

  3. spabettie July 12, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    OMG the action shot of Lincoln jumping! SO CUTE !! 🙂

    and that tuna roll… Mmm… looks amazing (and really pretty!!)

  4. Lauren (Clean Eats in the Dirty South) July 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    oh lawwwwd you went to nikkos. i’m jealous 😛

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

      I’m still so sad about the Ballantyne one. Apparently no one else I know knew that it closed down.

  5. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 12, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    So glad that you got moved. I hate all the little stuff that gets forgotten when moving! I also gotta tell you that I absolutely LOVE your rug! It’s awesome!

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

      Thanks! Don’t hate me—I got it for $80 @ Lowe’s, originally $400 🙂

  6. Mo Diva July 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    im EXHAUSTED after reading this. The idea of moving seems SO daunting but the prospect of a fresh start seems better! AH, new beginnings!

    I must warn you that if you watch a fraction of how much food network i watch you will find yourself hungry all the time. best thing i can say: dont watch FN when you are hungry especially while Paula Deen, The Neelys or Bobby Flay are cooking. YOu might run out and eat the town.

    i need to go for a long walk with my mickey girl. : )

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

      Thats what I fear is going to happen…..and I dont have a remote for my tv so combine that with laziness, I will sit there staring into a hot mess of food network concoctions. My tummy is grumbling just thinking about that scenario. I can’t watch the Neely’s though-they are too lovey for me and if I’m not getting love, I don’t want to see others all up on e.o’s junk.

      I thought Lincoln was in shape but this walking is kicking his butt—I just dont want him to lose any weight, he’s little already!

  7. genesis July 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    i hate moving. is probably the ONE thing I would drop some serious bux for someone else to do for me. Packing and unpacking is probably to worst thing on this planet….seriously 🙂

    great action shot of lincoln

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

      I agree—I paid my friends bf to move my stuff–big stuff and boxes included. I hate moving so much and would love to just sit there and instruct where everything goes, break down boxes and watch them unpack while sipping on a cold one.

      If I have to break down one more box, I am going to scream!!

  8. terri July 12, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    glad you are in your new home abode and getting organized! i love all the housewives, with the exception of atlanta….and i adore bethany getting married!

    lincoln looks so cute as a wet ‘rat’!!!

    hope your enjoying your day off and get everything done you need to, before returning to work!

    oh, and kudos to cable boy for hookin a home girl up!!! xo

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      Ugh, I tried to watch Atlanta and they Kim girl (I think thats her name–the blonde who thought she could sing) drove my absolutely bananas! I dont want to go back to work 😦

  9. Kelly July 12, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Forgive me for I am a bad blog reader but didn’t you just move recently (like a few months ago?) or did I make that up?

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

      Haha, kinda but you have a good memory–I found this place a few months ago and talked about it then bc I was so excited to get away from my ghetto apartment complex.

  10. Jenna July 12, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Well that looks like some of the best sushi I have Ever seen!!

  11. Diana@mymarblerye July 12, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    We need pics of your new house lady! Btw great eats! I need to get pad Thai again.. And congrats on bravo..now we can further bond!

    • simplyshaka July 12, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

      Bravo is sooooo horrible for my health. It can be gorgeous outside and I just stay in for hours on end, sigh.

  12. BikiniBy30 July 14, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I need your living room rug. That is all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Muffins In Your Bag « Simply Shaka - July 14, 2010

    […] Lunch was leftover Pad Thai from the other night […]

  2. I’m back! « Simply Shaka - July 26, 2010

    […] craving some pad thai and gave Thai Thai another chance. I tried Thai Thai for the first time a few weeks ago and didn’t have the best experience but I am one of those people who gives people….and […]

Leave a Reply

