The Week That Was

9 Jul

Packing, moving, working, stressing, living-oi! It has been a pretty hectic week with all of that going on. Tomorrow is the big day for my move, I got my keys earlier this week but all the furniture and endless number of boxes are being hauled over there tomorrow. I feel like all I have been doing is packing, bubble wrapping, taping, cleaning, making sure I have everything and tossing stuff I don’t need.

The fridge is officially empty except for a cooler with essentials I refuse to throw away—-spray butter, sweet tea vodka, Wholly Guacamole, frozen pineapple and pizza dough. My power is being turned off tomorrow which is worrying me a bit–will it be turned off at midnight or just some random time tomorrow? My bed has been broken down so I am sleeping on the couch but little did I know that is where Lincoln runs off to in the middle of the night. Also, I did not know that an eight and a half pound dog could stretch to ridiculous lengths and crush me in the middle of the night. I woke up this morning smelling Frito’s but none were there, it was just his paw in my face. Anyone else notice their dogs paws smell like Frito’s? Seriously, smell them-they do. A dude mentioned that to me once and I thought he was nuts but he was right……and I hate admitting I am wrong about something.

So, tonight is the last night in my apartment. I’ve lived here three years, which is a record in my book. I haven’t lived anywhere this long except for the house I grew up in in Florida so this was major for me. I move around a lot whether it be to different apartments, cities, etc. so I guess I’m like a gypsy. This apartment holds a lot of memories for me—-rough times for me with personal and family issues, a few boys here and there…..from ex-convicts to ghanja toting boy with a normal one or two thrown in there, friends who are still in my life and some that are not and oh yeah, the whole being a dog momma thing.

 I just can’t believe I stayed in one place this long–I love this apartment so much but the quality of people has just gone downhill. I heard that our complex isn’t even doing credit or background checks like they were doing when I moved in and it is more of a college, white trash and Russian mafia mix now which I am really not digging seeing that I am, sigh, 30 yrs old. I am so excited to move to my new neighborhood since it is closer to the city and within walking distance to bars, restaurants and eeeeeeek—four coffee places!

Wow, I guess I had a lot to get out—-if you’re still ready this, thanks for not clicking away 🙂

Let’s talk food! I’ve been eating out waaaaaaaay more than usual this week due to moving, not having food, throwing stuff out and such. My waistline and my wallet are not happy about this so I am excited to get into my new place and buy some groceries and get to cooking again! I now present the random goodness (and not so much) that I had this week.

Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Pizza Dough topped with TJ’s Spinach and Artichoke Dip with sautéed spinach and roasted tomato

6 inch Chicken Tender Sub with White America, tomato, banana peppers and Chipotle Mayo from Harris Teeter

Cucumbers with Trader Joe’s Kalamata Olive Hummus

Sausage, egg and cheese wrap from Just Fresh

Baked chicken pieces with ranch and tabasco dipping sauce and an Arnold Whole Wheat Sandwich Thin topped with honey. This was the worst meal of the week, in my opinion, however Lincoln was on it like white on rice.

Amy’s Breakfast Burrito

Cookies N Cream and Plain Fro Yo topped with Fruity Pebbles, Strawberries, Mango and gummy bears. Random yet fabulous

Huevos Wrap from Just Fresh

Chicken Finger Salad from Chick-Fil-A with Fat Free Honey Mustard—-anyone dress up like a cow today for a free meal? I tried to sweet talk my way into a meal since I was wearing a black top with white polka dots but they weren’t having that.

It’s weird how so much has gone on in this apartment yet I remember the first meal I had—chicken pesto pizza from Fresh Market, the memory is a funny thing I tell you. I can’t remember where one of my six pairs of scissors is but I remember a meal three years ago.

Turtle Brownie Bar from Hearth Strings Foods. I emailed them last week to see if they have nutrional values for their bars and granola and sadly they don’t, boo.

So, that’s it. I won’t even begin to talk about what a hellacious week at work this has been but when I blog next (hopefully tomorrow if Time Warner is on time?) I will be in my new pad!

Stay cool everyone—it’s stifling out!

17 Responses to “The Week That Was”

  1. christina July 10, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I WANT FRITO!!!

  2. Vilese July 10, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    Lol, my dogs paws definitely smell of corn chips and doritos.

  3. Angela @ A Healthy Fit July 10, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    I have moved around a lot too. Some places were easy to let go of and others were a bit more emotional. Sounds like your new place is going to rock! Now, I gotta go find me a dog so I can smell its paws!

  4. dianacheung July 10, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    good luck with the move girly!! Can’t believe you’re all grown up and settling into a house!!! And stop making me want pizza!!

  5. Brittney July 10, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Yup, my dog’s feet smell like Fritos/corn chips too! Good luck with the move! Let me know if you want to do lunch or maybe a doggie playdate sometime soon. I think our dogs are about the same size 🙂

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 10, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Three years! Wow! I thought I was doing good with over one year under my belt… lol

    Good luck with the move! Lift with the legs!!! 😉

  7. Neyal Ammary-Risch July 10, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Wasn’t I the one who started the Frito paws thing? lol. They totally do though.

    That pic of Linky is awesome! Though kind of reminds me of a National Geographic picture of those African tribal women with really long necks who have like 50 necklaces on. So you could put like 5 collars on Linky and submit a pic to National Geographic.

    Good luck with the move!! Call me when things settle down so we can catch up!!!

  8. Monique@She's Going The Distance July 10, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Lincoln’s soooooo cute 🙂 I noticed my parents’ dog started smelling like corn chips when she got older haha. Nothing a bi-monthly bath couldn’t fix.

    Bummer you’re moving the apt. you’ve spent so much time in!! But I look forward to reading about new experiences somewhere else 🙂 Good luck girl!!

  9. pen (pen at peace) July 10, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    that first picture of lincoln is precious! hope the move went smoothly today!

  10. Karla July 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Aww moving! I hate it! I try to stay in places as long as I can but a lot time times it’s not possible! Oh well! Hope your move went well!
    Ha! I love that Lincoln’s paws smell like fritos! Too funny!

  11. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 11, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    I WANT THAT BROWNIE so badly right now!! i cant choose what looks better, that or the most delicious froyo ive ever seen! holy yum bucket! i think just seeing these yummy pics helps with ur hectic days. everything should settle down soon, at least ive got my fingers crossed for ya.

    xoxo ❤

  12. Kelly Olexa July 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Chicky, where are you moving? I’m so bad I’m sitting here going “Is that cool chick moving to Chicago??” hehe
    Wish I could be there to help. I’m a dork that actually LIKES to help move. But then I get possessive and want to arrange the house the way that I would do it. And then my friends um, don’t invite me to the housewarming. I kid I kid. But kind of not. ;-)~

  13. sheila July 11, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I hope your move went well! That huevo wrap looks sooo good! I haven’t had a breakfast wrap in a loooong time! I’m going to have to buy a couple of ingredients this week so I can make some. 🙂 And Lincoln is lookin’ cute as always!

  14. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 11, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I hope your move went well! Isn’t it crazy the amount of memories get put into a place?! We lived in our old house for three years, too, and it’s amazing how much stuff happened in such a small amount of time!

    Can’t wait to hear about the new place!

  15. thehungryscholar July 11, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    That dog is adorable. Oh, I want a dog of my own. 😦

    That pizza looks good, too.

  16. foodiefresh July 12, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    My dog smells like fritos too, but I thought it was a dashchund thing because another doxie owner emailed me a blog post all about how that breed specifically smells like fritos. Haha.

    Good luck with the move! I hope it’s stress-free and you love your new place!

  17. nic - the auspicious squirrel July 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    I was wondering when you were moving… sorry I’m so behind reading blogs… good to hear that you had a successful move in… my move seems like it is taking centuries to come to completion!

    We will get our PODS container delivered tomorrow, then the fun begins of lifting heavy items and deciding where they go… haven’t seen my stuff since June 17th… crazy. I will be so happy once I’m finally settled in… hotel rooms or an air mattress in empty apartments gets old really fast. 😛

Leave a Reply

