New York Part 1

6 Jul

Hi all! What a whirlwind weekend this has been! I got back home from NYC last night and am still exhausted. Let’s get to the good stuff shall we?

I woke up at 3A on Friday morning to catch my plane which was just insane. I was at the airport at 5A for my flight and was ready to get on and pass out. I was flying on Jet Blue for the first time which was super exciting because they have tv and as I am a girl who only has basic cable, was very psyched for this. They had free snacks as well…..and good ones!

I was the first to arrive at JFK so I sat around for a while and freshened up. Once I found my friends we were on our way to the city! Since it was 9A, we couldn’t check in but we checked our bags and we soon off for some grub. We went to Pigalle, a SW French influenced restaurant and I got coffee…..lots of it! And Eggs Benedict. I think this was the best Eggs Benedict I’ve ever had, the hollandaise sauce was out of this world!

We walked around after that and still a no go on check in. Our entire group of six wasn’t completely there but the four of us were exhausted from lack of sleep so we just kept walking around to occupy ourselves.

I haven’t been to NYC since I was a teen and didn’t know they had mad tour guides everywhere. Edit—-mad tour guides everywhere who harassed you about going on tours. If I am not approaching you, please don’t approach me. I am not interested (you will see this school of thought again in a later post)

H&M yes!!! Sadly, I only found a ring—boo! However it was $3 so maybe not a complete boo.

Oi. A naked cowboy is enough but at least he is young. We do NOT need a naked, old cowgirl.

It was nearing 3P and our room was still not ready (grrrr) so we met up with one of my co-workers in NYC for drinks at Tony DiNapoli. Hello white wine sangria!

We walked over to the hotel since it was past check in time and our rooms had to be ready at this point. I got a hotdog on the way home where yet again—another tour guide approached us. Hello sir, I’m a little buzzed from the sangria, trying to walk and scarf down my hot dog. When it comes to work, I can multi-task but this is a little too much. Please don’t tell me I look sexy eating a hot dog while trying to get me to go to a Comedy Central Show (which I would’ve been all over like white on rice if time and lack of sleep weren’t an issue)

Let Happy Hour Part Deux begin!

It was too much for Kermie.

Yes I did.

Ready to go out and take the town by storm!

Somehow we found a limo for only $40—total— to take to Tao for dinner–holla!

I had the Ruby Red Dragon Fly Martini (I think this was the name?) and it was one of the best drinks I’ve ever had. And I’m a girl who has put down a lot of drinks in my life, so yeah. The fact that the bartender who made it was absolutely gorgeous.didn’t hurt either

I had the Chef’s Roll and Salmon Sashimi

It was decent— I wasn’t overly impressed with all the hype I’ve heard about this place. The service was absolutely horrible and the food, mediocre. I would suggest this place for drinks but the sushi was quality of something I could get here in Charlotte.

After that, we went to the Empire Lounge since one of the girls had some boy friends who were going there. It was a rooftop bar and very clubby, which isn’t my style at all. By that point it was midnight and absolutely exhausted since I’d been up since 3A and constantly on the go. There was a huge line outside but somehow we got passed everyone and went right up. I could totally get used to this kind of treatment. And it had a nice view:

“I am the best goddamn dance at the American Ballet Academy. Who the hell are you?? NOBODY!!!”

Hope everyone had a nice and safe July 4th— I have so much catching up, sleeping, packing to do it’s not even funny.

Stay tuned for Part 2 (it’s my favorite part)

17 Responses to “New York Part 1”

  1. Monique July 6, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    this recap was okay.
    LOL, the best part is part 2! jk!
    looks like you had a great time!
    I will note that the picture of the old cowbitch is the perfect example of why money is so duuurty! there is a one dollar bill hanging out of her ass crack. dirty money. Money talks. that bitches ass is talking shit!
    wacka wacka wacka

    I love the kermit poses. I probably woulda made him do naughty poses. cuz im naughty!
    hows lincoln? Mickey is back and I think shes mad. she destroyed her harness. 😦

    • simplyshaka July 6, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

      Haha, look at where one of his hands is, we got Kermie dirty!!

      Lincoln is good, he has not left my side and showered me in puppy kisses last night, it was great.

      And I am now ALWAYS going to have hand sanitizer on hand!!

  2. lisaou11 July 6, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Looks like a great time! Eek. I’d hate to be the person who gets the dollar bill after she uses.Buttcrack dollar bills–gross.

    Looks like a blast! my brother live on the Lower East Side in NYC and I loooove visiting him!

  3. genesis July 6, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    fun pictures. ill have to keep the harassing tour guides in mind for when i go to NYC. and bummer about TAO’s food. I really hate when restaurants are so hyped and when you finally go there its like, whats the big idea?

  4. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 6, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    $40 limo ride?!?! Fabulosity on a budget. I love it. And would like to know how you snagged that… lol

    • simplyshaka July 6, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      I would love to know also! I was a bit buzzed by then so I am not sure how we snagged it but I enjoyed it 🙂

  5. christina July 6, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    so jealous of your adventures! my ex bf was just at TAO in vegas! what a coincidence! that stinks that you didnt’ find anything at h&m. we don’t have one in south carolina. that’s a duh.

    • simplyshaka July 6, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

      Tell me about it. I keep telling myself that since we finally got an Ikea we will soon get an H&M. Fingers crossed!!

  6. Karla July 6, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    The weather looks amazing!!!
    Too bad you didn’t find anything at H&M! I feel like that happens to me a lot even though I try on about 2849301948 million things just like everyone else.
    I’ve been to Tao in Las Vegas but I went to the bar/night club area. I was not a fan. I thought it was overpriced and a little snobby.
    Can’t wait for part 2!
    P.S. Love the happy hour set up. Looks like my kind of party.

  7. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 6, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    It looks like your trip was such fun! Can’t wait to hear about part two! I love H&M!! So sad you didn’t find oodles of stuff!!

  8. runnerstrials July 6, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Yay looks like you had such a good time! I hate that feeling of having an early flight and then go, go, go. Sorry Tao was dissapointing!

  9. thehungryscholar July 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Blue chips. crazy…

    Thanks for sharing your pictures. It looks like a lot of fun!

    H&M makes my mouth water.

  10. BikiniBy30 July 6, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    I would like to put in a request for a review of that fig vodka. INTRIGUED!

    • simplyshaka July 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      I tried it with Red Bull and it was fabulous!!

  11. diana@mymarblerye July 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    HOLY SHIZZLE. All that liquor? Girl, you better take me out if I go to Charlotte this winter!! Looks like such a fabo time! I had NO IDEA that jet blue gave such gourmet snacks!! AHHHHHHHHHHH. Wish I was there…I’ll be dancing and grinding gainst my Tiff!

  12. sheila July 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Giiiiirl! Look at you! Glad you had an AWESOME time in NYC! I visited NYC a few years ago and have been wanting to go back! So jealous of you! 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When I was 30 « Simply Shaka - December 10, 2010

    […] on trips to DC, NYC ,Indiana and […]

Leave a Reply

