Smörgåsbord of food

12 Jun

Full. That is the one word to describe me right now. Soon you will see why……

Today was such a relaxing and great day, I am kinda sad that it’s almost over with. I was contemplating going into work today but I said screw it. I work hard enough during the week and am not too far behind in my work that I can get everything done during the work week.  The OT pay would be nice but so would actually getting to enjoy my weekend.

After I ran errands with Lincoln, I went to the pool with one of my friends and stayed there for two hours. The pool felt so cool and refreshing since it was 92 degrees out with the humidity in full swing. I brought some beers down and it was nice to kick back and drink some cold ones. When I got back, I was starving and put together a kick ass lunch

Chicken Cake topped with Apricot and Mango Salsa and Brown Rice

Tasty! It was cool and refreshing and enough food in my belly for optimal napping time. When I woke, I got ready to head to Taste of Charlotte, a three day street festival with different tents from local restaurants for samping.

I stopped at McDonalds for an iced coffee since it was hot as balls out and I needed to perk up a little

Please disregard chipped nailpolish. One of the many things on my to do list today that didn’t get done.

Also, I never met a chicken mcnugget I didn’t like but is a 50 piece chicken mcnugget order really necessary??

There was an Old Navy in the same shopping center as McDonalds and stopped there for their $2 tank top sale they had going on today and no sign of the sale at the store, wtf is up with that? Usually there are 20 people working there and of course, I couldn’t find so that was a fail right there. I stopped at my friend Ann’s place so we could ride together to Taste. She lives in a high-rise and I love her view–so much greenery!

We drove Uptown and it was so hot out. Combined with tons of food vendors, people and humidity, it was not nice. But we rallied and was there for the food! How it works is you pay for a bucket of coins, I got 15 coins for $20 and each vendor charges a different amount (usually two to three coins for an item) for their food.

Our first stop was for Indian food, I got the vegetarian platter with potatoes in a spinach sauce and white rice

Free samples of  Chocolate Peanut Butter ice cream!!!! I forgot which tent this was but it had HUGE chunks of peanut butter. Heaven.

I got a cajun pulled pork sandwich

Ann got black bean and corn taquitos

Then I had a California Roll

And needed to keep cool so Dippin Dots it was! Cookies and Cream

Free Greek Yogurt sample!

I got two cute rings for $20 as well

So yeah, full. So full I cannot move and feel miserable but it was completely worth it. I need to hit up Bath & Body Works tomorrow for their semi-annual sale, I love this time of year!

8 Responses to “Smörgåsbord of food”

  1. genesis June 13, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    i wish we had one of those events nearby…actually there is one, called pig out in the park, but its like 1.5 hrs away 😦

    it was pretty hott here too but not humid…i tried to even out my retarded tanlines but it was a major fail instead ive got even more ridic lines. i can never win.

  2. sheila June 13, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    How did you make your chicken cake and mango salsa? you have to share the recipe! it looks delicious! 🙂 Mmmmm… I’ve been dying to eat Indian food as well as meditteranean food. Gotta ask the hubby to take me to one soon! 😉 You’ve got some delicious eats today! YUMMY!

    • simplyshaka June 13, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      It was super easy and I just threw it together yesterday. I cut up one apricot, some frozen mango slices that I let warm up a bit then threw in some onion and cilantro in the food processor and mixed everything with lemon juice, garlic and pepper and voila! It would have been better with some jalapeno but it was all I had on hand!

      • sheila June 13, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

        I found your chicken cake recipe yesterday in your previous post. Dunno how missed that!! I’ll be making it this week fo’ sho! 😛 I’M EXCITED!!!!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 13, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    After seeing Jaime Oliver show how chicken nuggets were made, that sign for 50 kind of makes me die a little on the inside…

  4. dianacheung June 13, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    OMFG. You had a food festival there and didn’t call me to come with you?!!!!! AHHHHH. I love me some indian food and FREEEBIESSSS. Ps. 50 chicken mcnuggets are perfect for superbowl! hahah

  5. Lisa (I'm an Okie) June 13, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    apricot and mango salsa! yum! Share the recipe pleasE!

    and 50 chicken mcnuggets–wow, maybe if you were throwing some sort of party or something.

    All that food looked very worthy of stuffing yourself with 🙂

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? June 13, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    the question is can you really get that many nuggets in a drive through? that’s impressive if they keep 50 on hand. not impressive in a good way either. dippin dots and sushi at the same time? sounds good to mee
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

