Sushi and Jen Lancaster

22 May

Thanks everyone for your opinion on the dress situation. I think I am going to wear the purple dress to the wedding but keep the pink and black one around for fun! I woke up at 8A because I scheduled a pick up for Salvation Army today since I have a ton of stuff to donate such as a dining room table, clothes, end table, tv, and more. This was the third time I’ve tried to plan something and was hoping that it would be the charm. They couldn’t give me a time of when they were going to be here and just said from 12 to 4P. They later called me telling me te guy who was supposed to be on my route threw out his back. Not happy. I am just trying to donate some stuff. Edit, a bunch of stuff so they can sell and make money for their organization but apparently they are to unorganizde to schedule something for me so I will be going to another organization. ARRRGH!

Since I was up , I made some coffee and an egg, cheese and tomato sandwich on whole wheat

I watched some of the Today show which I don’t prefer but was too lazy to get up and change to Good Morning America. Sam Champion is just fabulous and makes the show a happy viewing for me.

It was nasty out—humid and overcast. I was planning on getting some pool action is so that was out of the question and just felt blah so went back to bed for two hours. When I woke up, I was still feeling off. I should have been happy to be off work but the whole Salvation Army disorganization got me off to a bad start. Plus not being able to go to the pool and no one to call up to do anything didn’t help either. I like a little organization and a plan if you can’t tell.

I was craving greasy take out Chinese food but kept telling myself “NYC NYC NYC” since I am going in July and really didn’t need it. I ended up going to Harris Teeter to get some sushi. When walking in, there was a Boars Head tent with four older gentleman all in red vests sitting there. When I walked by, they all started playing this old-time music and it reminded me of the Seinfeld episode when Elaine goes to the Dixieland Deli to pick up tickets she won on the radio. I just wanted to get my sushi, get in and get out but there was a Boar’s Head/ Harris Teeter validation party going on so people, music, free samples everywhere. Which, I would normally be up for but wasn’t digging it. I picked up a Spicy Tuna Roll and AvocadoVegetable Roll.

Fresh and delicious-two thumbs up!

After that, I watched Arrested Development Season 3 on Netflix. I am trying to not watch too many in one sitting since that’s the least season and am absolutely in love with the show but it is not more 😦 I did a 20 minute kettlebell session then got ready to go out and get my mani/pedi on. I had a Groupon for Polished, an awesome nail bar here in Charlotte. I paid $30 for a $60 All Out Mani/Pedi including paraffin wax and sugar scrub (I got pomegranate). I love Polished, the atmosphere is very modern yet intimate. They have a variety of gossip magazines (love since I refuse to spend $4 on them) and serve wine and beer. Any place where I can get my nails did and have Yuengling is A-OK in my book.

Then I was on my way to what I’ve been waiting for all week—Jen Lancaster at Barnes and Noble. As many of you know, she is my absolute favorite author. I’ve been reading her stuff since Bitter is The New Black came out and frequent her blog-Jennsylvania. I met her once before in Chicago a year and a half ago when my friends were in town for a wedding and she happened to be out doing a reading there.

 Sigh, miss my highlights.

Now, from Polished, it was 10 miles to where the Barnes and Noble she was going to be at was. So you would think on a Friday afternoon it would maybe take 30 mins? Oh no. Hour and a half bitches! And I had to pee. And it was raining. And it’s Race Week here in Charlotte (Nascar, fun, yay). I thought I was going to murder someone by the time I got there. We are in Charlotte, NC not Chicago, Boston or LA. Driving time like that is not acceptable in my book and why I don’t drive many place. I met up with one of my co-workers and got a Caramel Macchatio from the Starbucks in Barnes and Noble. Yum. I haven’t had one of those in four years and it was fabulous. We listened to her reading from an excerpt from her newest book, My Fair Lazy, and she was fabulous, witty and entertaining as always. She had a Q&A session afterwards then signing time was up next. We waited for an hour and a half. The ladies in front of us brought her gifts and suddenly felt like I was being one upped by these strangers. When I got up to her, did I say something witty or someone intelligent to my favorite author? Oh no. I believe the exact words were “Um, yeah, I feel like an effin jackass that I didn’t bring you a gift but I have a Werther’s Original if you want?” She laughed and chatted for a few while she signed my copy of Bitter is the New Black and signed a copy of My Fair Lazy for one of my sorority sisters who was supposed to see her in DC the other night but didn’t make it.

Way too smiley in that picture but I was happy (and hopped up on Starbucks!)

My friend and I were starving and ended up for another sushi-riffic meal at Eez Fusion & Sushi, I’ve heard great things about Eez but am never really up in that part of town so I was excited to try it! We each got a beer and ordered some sushi. They literally had two pages full of sushi selections (I am talking Cheesecake Factory length menus).

I got Mark’s Roll-Fresh tuna, jalapeno, cream cheese, kani and scallion roll, coated with panko and flash fried. Topped with Japanese cream sauce and sriracha. Served with ponzu dipping sauce.

And the TNT Roll-Spicy tuna, kani, avocado and fish roe

Both were absolutely terrific and this may be a new favorite place of mine. I really liked the atmosphere, it was dark with Japanese inspired art and lighting fixtures and had great upbeat music playing.  Plus they have have late night half priced sushi at 11P so I will need to hit this place up again when I live closer to there. Yay for new sushi places!

10 Responses to “Sushi and Jen Lancaster”

  1. dianacheung May 22, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    sushi 2x in one day ? I’m jealous.

  2. terri May 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    thats awesome that you have met your fav author TWICE! whoop whoop!
    i LOVE your pink piggies and fingies…..i havent had a mani/pedi in a while. i do my own toes every saturday and i change the colors up, but typically every other week, i come back to hot pink!!! its a great summer color fo sho!
    the sushi looks amazing. sorry the dumb salvation army ding dongs messed your day up. ~thats aggravating to say the least! enjoy the rest of your weekend! xoxo

  3. Fit Chick in the City May 23, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Love the purple dress!!!

  4. Mari May 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Yums I could go for some sushi right now!!!! You always look fabulous in all of your pictures =)

    dude did you see my sister’s boyfriend on my post? he reminds me of Channing! but with more muscles ha

  5. Kelly Olexa May 23, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    GIRL!! I love the egg sandwiches!! NOM NOM! And um, yes, there is heaven in every bite of sushi, do you agree? And the spicier the better. Kind of my philosophy on life too. 😉 Amen.
    Love your highlights too…..but love the hair now!! Be sassy and change it up a lot!! Work it!
    And the mani/pedi – LOVE LOVE LOVE the hot pink! Hot like FIYAH!!!!
    😉
    Ok I need to lay off the Coke Zero today.

  6. Jenna June 8, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Loveee sushi!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beautified « Simply Shaka - June 19, 2010

    […] the Deluxe Pedicure which was hands down the best pedicure I’ve ever had. Even better than this one that I also got off of Groupon. It was nice because there was only two pedicure chairs so it was […]

  2. Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar « Simply Shaka - November 21, 2010

    […] “Burgushi” and is the only burger sushi bar around. They are the sister restaurant of Eez Fusion and Sushi, one of my favorite sushi places in Charlotte. When I first heard about this restaurant opening I […]

  3. When I was 30 « Simply Shaka - December 10, 2010

    […] *Met my favorite author….again. […]

  4. The long drive home « Simply Shaka - May 23, 2011

    […] The second thing was Jen Lancaster’s newest book, If You Were Here. It’s different from her books since it’s a novel as opposed to her memoirs she writes so I’m very interested to read it and see how it compares. One of my sorority sisters went to the book signing in DC and got a copy signed for me since she wasn’t coming to Charlotte this year. Oh well, at least I got to meet her last year. […]

Leave a Reply

