Qdoba and I are breaking up

19 May

 That’s right…Qdoba and I are no longer friends. I had such a bad experience there today. I had a BOGO coupon for their Craft Two (similar to a Pick Two option) so one of my coworkers who I haven’t seen in a while and I  decided to hit up the new Qdoba that opened uptown.

I am a pretty spazzy person but it was complete sensory overload there. Music blaring, bright lights and then the big one…..employees yelling all kinds of stuff out. Now, just a little bit of me….I’m the loud girl. I know it and have been this way for a long time and not changing anytime soon. I’m not obnoxious or anything but let’s just say my voice carries. I ordered the Craft Two nachos and taco salad. Then the line of toppings came and suddenly being asked all kinds of things black or pinto beans? Chicken, steak or beef? Cheese, sour cream or guacamole? It was a tad off putting and left me frazzled.


They ended up giving me the normal size of nachos instead of the mini size and mini salad. They have a lovely outdoor patio so my friend walked out there and I hit my tray against a chair and it was like a taco salad pinata exploded! I am talking lettuce black beans corn salsa EVERYWHERE! I was in a skirt so didn’t want to bend on over and pick it up and thankfully, an employee came over and cleaned the mess up. They made me another salad and I got it to go for later, which once I opened it up at my desk for a late snack, noticed that it had three pieces of lettuce.

That is not a salad in my book. It was tasty but the chicken was too salty and again, no lettuce.

And success with another Diet Coke-less day! If I go out to a place that carries Coke products I always get Diet Coke to drink but I got water instead. I don’t have a problem with drinking the water( I usually down 100 oz at work alone) but it felt good to go without the soda. I could also really get used to this whole taking a lunch business as well. Which I will be doing a lot more now since we got EXCELLENT news this morning……we are getting a member from another team in our department to join our team temporarily AND a summer temp (which I hope he or she doesn’t start a fire ALA The Office). But wow, I am so excited. They finally acknowledged how busy we are, how exhausted we are and how much work is coming our way.

 I love how in the meeting Stinkalicious was going on and on about how wonderful this is going to me. Hi Stinky, I do double the work you do each day, don’t get complaints about the work I do, don’t take four smoke breaks a day or a full lunch along with that, I don’t take a full lunch like you do and ask for help. If anyone is getting help, it’s this girl. And don’t even ask me how Stinkalicious has a job still, it saddens me that upper management doesn’t see this at all.

A huge headache hit me on the way home (which is still lingering) and I wasn’t too hungry but wanted a snack. I broke into my Trader Joe’s Edamame Hummus that I bought yesterday with half a pita pocket.

Holy WOW. This was just fabulous. It was rich, creamy, fluffy and everything I thought it would be. This is going to be a new favorite of mine. The wheels are turning as to what I can add this to cooking wise.

After that I cut coupons and laid on the couch watching Family Guy. Say it, you’re jealous of my single gal life style, I know. I didn’t want to get off the couch but it hit 7P which is past my dinner time and needed something other than beer and ice cream (I was seriously contemplating this for dinner).

I made an easy dinner—a grilled turkey and hot pepper cheese sandwich and a sweet potato.

My sweet potato is all about the love

A great, easy, savory meal! It was a bit too much and only finished half of the sweet potato though. And Lincoln is being a bad baby. He isn’t listening to me, is barking his balls off and won’t cuddle with me. Sigh.

And can we talk about Lost last night? What. An. Episode. I need to re watch soon but Desmond was so deliciously evil, I can’t wait to see the last (again, sigh) episode on Sunday. Speaking of delicious, I enjoyed these delicious strawberries during Lost last night

Breakfast was delicious this morning as well—-rich, creamy oats with banana, peanut butter and unsweetened coconut

I’m still not gaga about peanut butter but it’s starting to grow on me. I can see how someone can dig it but I had a negative experience back in high school. It was when Reece’s Pieces came out with their peanut butter cereal and I was hooked. I ate that every day along with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches each day for a month or so and overdid it. Until recently, peanut butter has just skeeved me out (peanut butter and chocolate combo is exempt though for obvious reasons!). One of my roommates used to grab a jar, take a spoonful and just go to town and it grossed me out so much.

Ok, lots of random things in this post. Hope everyone is having a Wonderful Wednesday!

14 Responses to “Qdoba and I are breaking up”

  1. Morgan May 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    breaking up with Qdoba is a brilliant idea. You should be BFFs with Chipotle or Moe’s!

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 7:51 am #

      Oddly enough I love how they yell at Moe’s! I love the name of their dishes too….the weirder the better! 🙂

  2. April May 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I love that strawberries picture!!!

    I have to wait for my hubs to get back from Seattle before I can watch Lost…double sigh.

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      Eek!! I am hoping he will be home by Sunday….

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Sorry about the lunch disaster. I hate that- especially when it’s a place you’re looking forward to.

    On another note- that’s awesome about the hummus. I’m picking some up tomorrow. For reals. I need to go by TJ’s anyways… for wine… what?

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 7:49 am #

      $3 Chuck is fantastic! I think you’ll enjoy the hummus.

      Oh…and I can’t stop listening to California Girls. I love it!

  4. genesis May 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    sorry bout qdoba. ours is the same, sensory overload. i hate when people behind the counter are yelling to be heard over their irritatingly loud…like hello, turn down you music so we can hear each other…common sense!

    interesting hummus from TJ’s…..love the heart shaped SP 🙂

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 7:53 am #

      Seriously I don’t know how people put up with it but then again it could just me getting older! And don’t even get me started on Abercrombie & Fitch. That place is the mother of all things sensory overload.

  5. shelby May 20, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    Very interesting….the Qdoba down the block from me has some ridic “burrito and a beer for $5” promotion going on and I’ve been very tempted to try it! Sounds like it might not be all it’s cracked up to be, unfortunately.

    I am very interested in this TJ’s hummus, though. Edamame and hummus are two of my favorite things!

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 7:54 am #

      Ahh, if beer was part of the deal I could get down with that!

  6. terri May 20, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    we just went to TJ’s on tuesday night and seriously spent 226.00. wtf? um, yeah we were out of everything. literally. i am excited as i just tried the corn salsa. fantabulous! sooo delish and low fat. too bad i used the full fledge fattening chips to gorge on. ugh. why do i do that?
    anywhosies, hope you are having a super amazing THURSDAY!!!!

    • simplyshaka May 20, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      Holy crap!!! But I am sure you cleaned up so it’s well worth it 🙂 And don’t worry I do the same thing or I mix the salsa with ranch so it totally defeats the purpose. Moderation my friend–hope you had a fabulous day 🙂

  7. Monique May 20, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    thing i remember most: “puppy barking his balls off”
    ha ha ha!
    the edamame hummus looks like guac YUUUMMMMY!

    i havent watched lost in forever.. i gave up on it. too trippy for me.

    glad to hear you got some extra hands coming to the office to help! yay! but BOO to spilling your shit everywhere. seriously, i think we can be twins. I do taht all the time. the kids at starbucks put the splash stick in my drnk for me cuz they know im on constant SPILL STATUS

  8. lindsay May 20, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Okay I’m in love with your pictures!!! Amazing food 🙂

Leave a Reply

