ay brotha

18 May

OMG I am in pain today. My kettlebell session last night was a workout and a half. It hurts to walk, sit, type, etc but oh well, bring on the pain. I may have even whimpered a bit today but I will get over it. It just means I had a good workout 🙂

And I am glad to know I’m not the only one who is skeeved out by the nips showing through the shirt–thanks for the comments everyone!

Today was a great day at work–not slow but not ridiculously busy. Just enough to keep me occupied yet get me out on time— we like that.

Breakfast was a repeat from yesterday-Chobani 2% Plain Yogurt with fresh strawberries, unsweetened coconut topped with Kashi Crunch Cereal. I have two boxes sitting in my kitchen and never once thought to add it to my yogurt.

The produce for the day

Lunch was tuna salad on whole wheat with baby spinach and tomato and a bag of Trader Joe’s Lite KettleCorn

It used to be that any time I ate popcorn, I would have a Diet Coke. But I had a Diet Coke yesterday and it just tasted gross. I guess it’s actually possible I’m starting to not dig it as much after cutting down on my sugar and trying to cut down on artificial sweeteners as well. I rarely get any sugar free syrups in my morning coffee anymore (whereas I used to get two pumps Sugar Free Cinnamon Dolce every morning) and have cut down to one splenda in my coffee with a sprinkle of cinnamon. But still, not liking Diet Coke? I never thought this day would happen. Pass me the water, thank you.

And get this—this was the first lunch over 10 minutes I got to take in three weeks! I IM’ed a co-worker in another building and asked if she wanted to go for a walk and away we went. We walked 2 miles in 30 minutes and it was a great way to re-energize myself. The sun was out, we caught up on stuff and just nice not to be looking at a computer screen for a half hour.

On a daily basis at work I always have people telling me “If you’re ever in NYC or Boston, I owe you a drink” and I had a guy tell me this today. I told him that he better watch his mouth since I will be in NYC in July and he said we’re going out to lunch. Score for a free lunch! Now, to start collecting on all those drinks that I’ve been promised….

I stopped at the grocery store after I came home and took Lincoln out. I was excited because Bi-Lo had Chobani on sale for $1 so I was going to stock up. And they had none-major bummer. I got a rain check for 10 of them so I am waiting for this sale to end and stock up! They did have Yoplait Greek Yogurt on sale for $1 also but let’s be real, it’s no Chobani.

I stopped at Trader Joe’s as well since I feel like I haven’t been there in forever. In reality, it’s been five days.

And I got some new hummus (hummi?) to try!

I finally picked up a bag of their Pita Puffs

I was running low on my Kalamata Olive Hummus so took this opportunity to finish that up (if you look in the background you will see  a dog waiting for one to drop)

I’ve had a hankering for pesto lately and whipped up a batch

1 bunch of basil

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp pine nuts

1/3 cup grated parmesan

Garlic, salt and pepper (I add red pepper flakes to mine for a little bunch)

Could not be easier and such a flavorful alternative to spaghetti sauce and it’s amazing on sandwiches

Dinner was chicken breast baked with Kalamata Olive Hummus topped with feta and Farfalle Pasta with mushrooms, onions and pesto

This was a huge plate of comfort. I haven’t had a homecooked meal this good in awhile and will definitely be making this again.

And tonight is the last new episode before the series finale for Lost. I am so sad to see it go and don’t know what I am going to do without it (maybe finally catch up on Glee?) I really need to watch the last two episodes over again and may have to buy the complete series when it comes out. I am such a dork about this show. I won’t even begin to tell you how I go on the message boards to read people’s theories and such! lol

Anyone have any good suggestions for books? I finished Jen Lancaster’s latest book and can’t seem to get into anything else. I love Chick-Lit like Sophie Kinsella, Emily Giffin, Meg Cabot, etc. and mysteries. If anyone has read anything good, let me know 🙂

15 Responses to “ay brotha”

  1. julie May 18, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Girl score for a free lunch AND drink with a man 😉

    Haha I used to always have to have a diet coke slurpee when I ate pretzels! I haven’t had a slurpee in ages!!

  2. Angela @ A Healthy Fit May 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Kettlebell is one great way to kicky your bootay!!

    I hope you love the edamame hummus, I do!!! I am also counting down the minutes until LOST tonight. Almost time!

    • simplyshaka May 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Great episode! I kept reading all the message boards today at work whenever I got a free minute.

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    For sure let me know how the edamame humus is- I think I pick it up and put it back every other trip I take to TJ’s…

    And Diet Coke is something I have on just rare occasions nowdays… I can’t believe I used to drink so much of it! But it’s still a nice treat every once in awhile. 🙂

  4. April May 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    I’m sad to see Lost end too 😦

  5. BikiniBy30 May 18, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    The edamame hummus with those pita puffs is life changing.

  6. genesis May 19, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    glad you got a longer lunch…finally.

    you’d be extremely disappointed in me because i was showing my nips while i was running…lol. my shirt was too thin…TMI?!

    your pesto looks good. i made some last weekend with walnuts instead of pine nuts and i havent used it though.

  7. dianacheung May 19, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    that edamame hummus is F*((&*y(y* DELISH!!! Seriously…you are so lucky to have a TJ’s near you. And yeah…I can’t drink Diet coke anymore unless I’m on “vacation”..It feels gross

    • simplyshaka May 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      Sigh, I would kill to have a Whole Foods near me. I guess the grass is always greener on the other side!

  8. Monique May 19, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    so much to say!
    i am reading the The Girl who Played with Fire. I am normally a chick lit lover but these books are page turners. the girl with the dragon tattoo is the first of the 3 books and i hihgly recommend. Emily Giffin just got a new book out. I pre ordered. its about a woman with a sick child and she falls for the married doctor. i love drama! I also scored some cheap books by Jane Green. they are a bit dated but they are classic chick lit. My faves: to have and to hold and Jemima J.

    I love farfalle too. taht is straight up comfort!

    whats in your tuna salad? it looks yummy!

    • simplyshaka May 19, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Awesome–thanks so much for the book suggestions!! I love Jane Green and those are two of my faves along with Book Ends.

      Tuna Salad was nothing too crazy just some paprika, light mayo, celery and onions but damn tasty. I need to make a tuna/egg salad combo again-tasty and protein packed!!

  9. Mari May 19, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Hey! I think we need to have a meet up when you are here in July! how long will you be here for??????

    Do you go to a Kettlebell class or do it at home? I do it at home =) and love the way I feel when I am done.

    duuuuude your din din looks delish! I want to dive in and take a bite…

    I had no idea TJ had KC popcorn, I have to look for it the next time I am there

    • simplyshaka May 19, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      Fo Sho-been meaning to email you gals about it but I will be there the wknd of July 4th for four days and would love to meet up with y’all!

      I do the KB at home, I would love to take a class and need to see if they offer them in the area. And the TJ’s Kettlecorn is fabulous and they come in packs of six so it’s just enough 🙂

  10. Jenna May 19, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Your dinner looks AMAZING!!!!

Leave a Reply

