This is why I work

10 May

Some people have jobs they love, some have jobs they hate and some have jobs they are meh about. I fall into the last category…not crazy about what I do however I don’t hate it. I’m just meh. But I know I’m good at what I do and have a good work ethic.

Some days I just need to remind myself why I work.

I work so I can travel to places like…..

Bahamas and Grand Turk

And Mexico

San Francisco

Chicago

Phoenix

I work so I can go to concerts (and of course tailgate beforehand)

I work so I can go back to my college for homecoming

I work so I can take care of this little guy and provide a nice, happy home for him (Karla, this ones for you!)

Some days I really need to remind myself why I work so hard, day in and day out. Is it for the money? Hell yeah. But more importantly, it’s for the memories of places I’ve gone, things I’ve seen and people (and four legged friends) in my life.

11 Responses to “This is why I work”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 10, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    I have the “meh” job, too. But yes, we do need to be appreciative of what it gives us… 🙂

  2. pen (pen at peace) May 10, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    SO true!!! I work for the vacations! And for the bicycles that my paychecks can buy me! 🙂

  3. dianacheung May 10, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    while I was boarding my plane the other day I thought the exact same thing: “i get yelled at at work so I can enjoy my time off like this”…seriously…keeps me going during the day.

  4. janetha May 10, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    traveling is the BEST way you can spend money! love the photos!

  5. Monique May 11, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Look at your living it up!!

    I love Chicago to pieces and i think thats becuase i havent really been anywhere else. LOL

    I went to Mexico 10 years ago. and i was allowed to drink a lot. 🙂

    i want the dog. sent his cuteness over to me. he can be Mickey Girl’s boyf. they would not make cute babies and thats okay because Mickey cannot have anymore. : P

    • simplyshaka May 11, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      Omg thank you so much for this comment. I read it in the middle of the day from hell and brought a smile to my face :). If linky and I are ever in the big apple we shall have a play date…don’t worry his boys are snipped so no pups from your side or mine!!

      And mucho cervezas for lil month…I love it!!!

  6. Lu May 11, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I love your outlook on your job. I really need to sit down and do this because right now I’m falling into the could-this-job-suck-any-more category. Beautiful pictures!

    • simplyshaka May 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

      Girl, I know exactly what your mean. My screen saver at work changes all the time to a picture of a destination I will be visiting soon its one of the only things that keeps me going!

  7. lisaou11 May 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I think that’s a GREAT reason work. I’d have to work a TON to go to some of those places 🙂

  8. hemp jogger May 12, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    that looked like chicken bones! am i right? down across from bent willeys??? yay motown

    • simplyshaka May 12, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      Yes!!! One of my favorite places on this earth—waffle fries with cheese and ranch and pitchers of margaritas? Yes Please 🙂

Leave a Reply

