At one with nature

9 May

Today was a perfect, busy day. I passed out last night while watching SNL with Betty White. I tried to rally and stay up the whole time but the body just wasn’t having that. So sad that I used to be able to stay up until 4A with no problems but now staying up past midnight requires a nap the day of and a coffee! Oh Father Time, you suck.

I made eggs in a hole for breakfast. Although it just looks like egg covered bread, regardless whatever you want to call it, it was great.

I was picking up around the apartment and cleaning out my bathrooms. There was an empty Q-Tip (whatever happened to the rapper by the way? Vivrant Thing used to be one of my favorite jams) in my linen closet and I finally got the energy to pick it up and throw it out. But there was something in there and what do you know, I found the Starbucks gift card my team at work got for me for my birthday. My birthday was in December and I thought I lost it but happy times–$20 worth of Starbucks is on its way!

It was cool out this morning yet sunny and not a cloud in the sky. I went to the pool for two hours to sun myself. I was again, the only person there which kinda baffles me. Not that I am complaining, it was peaceful and I finished My Fair Lazy. While I appreciate the quiet, I kinda missed people watching.

I got back in and made a light lunch—Sabra Supremely Spicy Hummus, a Pocketless Pita and random veggie slices.

This may be my new favorite hummus! Athenos and Trader Joe’s are good but this was my far the creamiest and it left me satisfied.

After that, Lincoln and I went to the dog park for an hour so he could see his peeps then I dropped him off at home and I went to Ulta. Target and Starbucks.

It was after 3P so I got the half price frappuccino deal they have going on this wk. I haven’t had a frapp in a looooong time but since it was only $2 something so why not. I got a Tall Coffee Frappuccino

Delicious! Now if we only had a Sonic nearby so I can get one of their iced drinks. Or even a 7-11, some days I would almost kill for a Slurpee.

Let’s talk about the deals I got at Ulta. They had Buy Two Get Two Free on Ulta Brand cosmetics, shampoos, etc. and other deals.

That all would be two shampoos, one conditioner, a hairspray, face wash, body wash, sunscreen, self tanner, two nail polishes and a lipliner……all for $40! Most of it was Ulra Brand and for the three items that weren’t….Olay Facewash for $5.09 and I had a $2 coupon, the Loreal Shampoo was $4.99 and I had a $2 off coupon and the Nivea Bodywash was $5.49 and I had a $4 off coupon. I love being frugal.

By the time I got back, it was 430P and I was already beat but didn’t want to take a nap. I went on walk/run on the greenway for over an hour. My knee has been bothering me so I walked most of the four miles but got a bit of running in there. I took a water bottle to keep me hydrated, wore a hat and lightweight clothes so it was more bearable than last time. The one thing I didn’t take with me was my ipod. I guess I felt like being one with nature today but I really enjoyed it. Not concentrating on my music allowed me to pay more attention to the greenway and the nature around it. I kept walking past gardenias that smelled amazing (and better than the scent at B&BW), listened to the birds and took notice of the colors. It was nice being able to fully concentreate on how my body felt and the atmosphere around me without Andre 3K telling me to shake it like a polaroid picture. But then I got bored without my ipod and starting making up rhymes in my head. I think I was the only person out there alone (thanks God for reminding me of that fact) and it was pretty much all families of lovers take a stroll. So I would make up stupid rhymes in my head like “The family that peddles together, meddles together” , “The couple who runs together, bakes hot buns together”. As you can tell, I could only get so far with that. I ran a bit but my knee wasn’t having that and when I had only about .5 mile to go, I thought I was about to start crying in agony. There was a sharp pain going from the back of my knee to my calf and it was just killing me. I got back and was happy because I didn’t look like a complete wreck for once!

And had a good calorie burn

Those two happy things could only mean one thing—-green monster!

I made my Green Monster with Chocolate Almond Milk, Spiru-Tein Banana Protein Powder and 2 handfuls baby spinach

 Afterwards, I iced my knee, took a bubble then gave myself a manicure.

For dinner I made zucchini cakes.

2 zucchini’s, peeled

1 egg

1/3 cup breadcrumbs

1 tbsp butter

1-2 tbsp vegetable oil

salt, pepper, whatever seasonings you would like to add (I prefer paprika, garlic salt and pepper)

Chop zucchini into bits in the food processor until shredded. Pour onto a plate covered with a paper tower and top with another paper towel and squeeze moisture out (if you don’t chances are it won’t stick too well together) mix with remaining ingredients and form into patties. Heat oil in the pan and add the patties and turn every four minutes. This made three patties for me which was more than enough! I served with Ken’s Lite Honey Mustard on top and with a BIG Salad with spinach, peppers, zucchini, tomatoes, shredded cheese and Kraft Light Three Cheese Ranch

I think the rest of the night is going to involve reading and cuddling with Lincoln. A Happy Dog-Mother’s Day indeed. And I hope all the momma”s out there (momma of kids, dogs, cats, men haha, etc.) had a fabulous and relaxing day 🙂

11 Responses to “At one with nature”

  1. genesis May 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    looks like you had an awesome day. our closest ulta is 1.5hrs away 😦 which sucks because i really want to pick up some dry shampoo…

  2. Karla May 9, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    I’m pretty much obsessed with Sabra hummus. I don’t buy it though because I always find a cheaper brand and well… I’m poor. I can’t to go home so I can have my mom buy it 🙂 (ha happy mother’s day).
    Love the purple nails.
    Why didn’t I get a Lincoln picture?
    Lastly, Woman! Take care of those knees!

  3. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 9, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    I just watched the SNL episode with Betty online. I think I may be her new biggest fan. Not a lie…

    • simplyshaka May 10, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

      Wasn’t she great? I don’t even enjoy SNL anymore but may have to google this again and again just to bring a smile to my face.

  4. terrid May 10, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    i totally forgot about the starbucks 1/2 price dealzie going on…hhhmmm….i think its this week too???

    you look adorable in your little baseball hat and great job burning all those CALORIES!
    i could totally eat your zuchinni cakes right about now. for whatever reason, this day is dragging, i am starving and it’s only 10:57. ugh.

    enjoy the start of your work week!!! xoxo

    • simplyshaka May 10, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

      Awww thanks! and @ the Bucks you can get any kind you want! I asked the barista today if it was possible to make some kind of lite chocolate minty concoction and he said he would so bring it 🙂

  5. lisaou11 May 10, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend!

    I LOVE the color of your nailpolish! So vibrant!

  6. emily May 10, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    That purple nail polish is fantastic! Do you know what the name/brand is?

    • simplyshaka May 10, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

      It’s the Ulta Brand (hopefully they have one near you?) and it’s Tutu Cute 🙂

  7. Monique May 10, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    you look so cute in your pink hat! I love hte nails!
    awesome deal on the body care stuff!

    and i ‘ve never wanted eggs and bread more! I used to love making eggs in a hole! so good! and using hte middles to make grilled cheese LOL.
    I need to act on this frap deal!!!

  8. Kelly May 10, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Come cook for me…please?

Leave a Reply

