Give Peas a Chance

3 May

I couldn’t sleep at all last night since it was Sunday so I’m lucky if I got four hrs of sleep. Which I normally don’t get a good nights sleep on Sunday but this time it was for a different reason…..our new favorite neighbor-Channing Tatum lookalike.

Rawr

And no, it wasn’t because of a naughty dream! Turns out he lives across from me (yes after we crossed paths yesterday I looked to see he walked, like you wouldn’t do the same) and he left his dog on his patio last night. I think he was home b/c the blinds were open and the lights were on but poor puppy was on the patio by herself (I think it’s a she) and she was wimpering for a good 20 or 25 minutes. I felt so bad. I tend to like dogs more than most people so anytime I see or hear a sad pup, my heart drops a little. Thankfully, he finally let her in but he needs to learn we don’t roll like that here.

We are all about the love.

Sigh, so yeah no sleep at all. This morning I was a walking zombie and caught the early bus since I was planning on leaving a bit early. I enjoyed one of Mari’s chocolate banana muffins that I made on Saturday on the bus.

I finally bought some oats and myself a bowl with a banana I had in the freezer then topped with coconut. Only chocolate would’ve made it tastier than it was.

 It was a big bowl of morning comfort. I guess that’s better than southern Comfort right? Speaking of which I haven’t a SoCo and lime in forever but it sounds mighty tasty.

Halle Berry and hot bf broke up? Too bad they were one of the prettiest couples I’ve ever seen

In celebration on National salad month I had a BIG salad with spinach carrots onions tomatoes feta topped with a drained can of tuna with red wine vinegar and Trader Joes Organic Hummus and a tab of ranch (me likes the dressing if you can’t tell).

This afternoon wasn’t busy at all…talk about a welcome change! I spent it looking at recipes, dog boarding places here and trying to get through my miserable headache. I really don’t want to board Lincoln but I won’t be able to watch my friends dog anymore so feel bad about asking her watch Lincoln. I’ve never boarded him before but from the sites, it looks like would have a great time. Plus a lot of the places have webcams so I would be able to check up on him. I was getting pretty emotional about it though, he is my little baby and I don’t want to see him boarded.

I was supposed to go to Power Pilates class tonight but my head just wasn’t having that. I was something salty warm and carby and  I remembered a recipe I saw a while back for spaghetti with creamy pea sauce with pancetta and decided to give it a go.  I’ve never tried any kind of pea sauce with noodles before so I was intrigued. I didn’t have a lot of pasta left so I made a single serving:

70g whole wheat spaghetti

1/4 cup half and half

1/2 cup frozen peas

3 slices of Butterball Turkey Bacon

1 tbsp butter

Salt, Pepper and Garlic

While the spaghetti was cooking, I warmed the peas up with the butter and then added the half and half

Kinda looks like an egg white and pea omelet!

I let that sit for a minute and then moved to the food processor to blend

Talk about green monster league right there!!

Actually now that I think about it, it kinda looks like the slime from You Can’t Do That on Television. Does anyone else remember that show or did I just totally date myself?

I cut up the bacon and let them cook for a few minutes, drained the pasta and then threw it all together!

And a new meal is made! Holy crap, this was great! The flavor was a hint of salty with the pea and bacon combo and rich without the whole “I feel like a cement block is sitting in my stomach” feeling . I added some extra garlic after a bite because I am Italian and need it to live.

10 Responses to “Give Peas a Chance”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Ugh… sorry about the day-long headache. Those bitches hang around forever… blah!

    I kind of want to take a huge bite of that salad. Don’t be mad…

  2. Karla May 3, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    This means you should probably go knocking on his door at some point…

    Ugh had SoCo last week… No bueno!

  3. genesis May 3, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    you totes acted appropriately by watching where his apartment was! lol. would have done the same exact thing and may have gone further and walked by his place, made small talk, invited myself in….ok ill stop…

    soco…my lifeblood during highschool, now not so much…lol.

    your pea pasta sounds delish, itll be something ill have to try.

    • simplyshaka May 4, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

      So I read this comment in the middle of the night when I saw the red blinking on my blackberry and was like “Totes?” I have a tote and dont even know what it means. Then I had my coffee this morning and it made sense lol

  4. dianacheung May 4, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    i wanted to cry when I heard about the halle berry break up. She and jen aniston should just go lez. OH and I totally remember YCDTOT!!!!

  5. teneightsixfour May 4, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Do you think your channing tatum look-alike neighbor would want to start a long distance relationship with me?

  6. Kelly May 4, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I LOVED that show!!! I had completely forgotten about it!! haha!

  7. kace @ no guts no glory May 4, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Mmmmm that pasta looks amazing.

  8. Mari May 4, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    OMG can I come visit you! I love love love love Channing! OMG he is so HAWT! I am so behind on blogs; I am so glad you liked the muffins! I need to make a batch this week

    • simplyshaka May 4, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

      I have a feeling I am going to be having a girls stalkfest wknd sometime soon LOL. And I didn’t like them–I LOVED them!! Thanks so much again 🙂

Leave a Reply

