Image Heavy

1 May

Hi all-hope everyone is having a great wknd (I can’t believe we are half way through it already!) I got a let of catching up to do so let’s get to it! And as the title says…Image heavy so just a forewarning.

Yesterday was yet another busy day at work and I started the morning off with a Kashi Go Lean Roll Chocolate Peanut Bar 

 

And of course, a Venti Iced Coffee was in order since it’s getting pretty warm out 

 

Since it was month end our manager brought in bagels and I’ve never met a carb I didn’t like but only had half a blueberry bagel with plain cream cheese 

 

It was gorgeous out so that meant the hippies were back–yay! 

 

I got an array of produce—red onion, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, okra, zucchini, apples, a pear, an avocado, cucumbers and peppers. 

 

All that for $10—not a bad deal at all. 

I had the last of the enchiladas for lunch. I love cooking but can only eat so much of one thing without getting sick of it. This was bittersweet-happy to be finished with this batch of enchiladas but sad because they were fantastic. 

I got ready and headed to Thomas Street Tavern to meet my friend Shalon out since she was in town this wknd. Thomas Street has an awesome outdoor area full of tables and seating that is perfect for day drinking. Yet another reason I can’t wait to move closer to Uptown. 

 

Leslie and Shalon

Me and Shalon

I heart you Bud Light

I kept eyeing Shalon’s shoes—only $3 at K-Mart….adorable! 

 

Love the tree

The servers kept bringing food out to the tables around us and I would just stare at the food while people were eating because I was starving by 730P. The fro-yo didn’t fill me up so well nor did the Bud Light. The original plan was to go to Cantina 1511 but there was no parking anywhere and we ended up at Thai Taste. I’ve only been there once and looooove pad thai so I was happy. Pad Thai is the only kind of Thai food I’ve tried. I always want to try something new but then what if I don’t like it? But then on the other hand, what if I try something new and I absolutely love it? I guess I’m not willing to take that chance. 

I started out with Tom Yum soup 

 

And the main event-Seafood Pad Thai 

 

Love me some Thai Taste 🙂 

 

I had to work on Saturday morning so had to call it a night by 10P b/c I can’t do the whole going to work hungover thing anymore. I got home and Lincoln was very excited to see his momma. 

 

And then attempted to get some cute pictures of us 

 

 

And Shalon brought me some fresh strawberries from her town…..hello yummies 🙂 

 

I fell asleep easily (thanks to Bud Light and Pad Thai) and was starving come morning. 

I toasted two pieces of bread and spread half an avocado on it along with Trader Joe’s Superfruit Spread. 

 

And made an egg sandwich for a heart breakfast 

 

 

When I got  to work I stopped at Starbucks for another Venti Iced Coffee. They were surprised to see me and it was actually kinda peaceful in there for once. 

 

I guess some could say work is peaceful on the wknd since no one is there but I find it rather creepy. 

 

The lights aren’t on, I kept hearing strange noises and was paranoid someone was going to creep up on me. I got a lot of work done and tested out system and everything was a go. I even input some information for other people on my team since I am nice like that. Hey, if they want to pay me out an outrageous amount of money for working OT, bring it. 

I brought some snacks for the half day at work 

 

I never had this Kashi Chocolate Pretzel bar before so I was looking forward to it 

 

 

So sad to be stuck inside in on a beautiful day 

 

I got home and was so ready for lunch. I had a major headache and was wiped from the morning at work. Today is my day off where I don’t track and really don’t care if I eat bad or not so I went with a salami and Muenster cheese sandwich with mustard. Anytime I have a salami sandwich I have to have it plain with no veggies and cheese and mustard only. 

 

While I was at work, Lincoln had a day at the doggie spa and it was time to pick him up! When they brought him out I couldn’t stop smiling because he looked even more adorable than he normally does! 

 

I love his new scarf!

We took a much needed nap then went out for a walk, went to the grocery store and stocked up on goodies for the wk. I got this adorable dress at Target for only $6!!! And I can pair it up with cute red heels (even though I have two pairs of zebra prit shoes and a purse, it would be overkill). Mind you, I didn’t have on a good pair of undies that suck in my fat but I think it will be cute when I am down a few more lbs. 

 

 The main thing I was shopping for was baking stuff because I finally decided that I wanted to try baking after many failed attempts in the past. 

I saw a recipe for Chocolate and Banana Protein Muffins with Chocolate Chips  on Mari’s site and decided it looked easy enough and was onto cooking! 

I am out of chocolate protein powder so I subbed this packet of Amazing Meal Chocolate Infusion that’s been sitting around 

 

In the mix 

 

Ready to go! 

 

I was excited and nervous while they were baking. Would they turn out great? Burnt? So-So? Patience was not on my side. 

Fresh outta the oven! 

 

 

I couldn’t let them sit there and not try one. I poppedd one out and topped with Crazy Richard’s Creamy Peanut Butter 

 

 

Try 

These 

NOW!!!!!! 

OMG, I cannot believe how amazing they were! They were sweet but not too sweet with a nice balance of chocolate and banana. I tasted the hint of apple sauce and all in all, these are fabulous and y’all will be seeing this on my page more in the future. Thank you Mari for posting this fabulous recipe!!! 

 I had a hankering for pizza and had this sitting my freezer and decided to break it out 

 

While that was baking, I made a BIG Salad with spinach, cucumbers, zucchini, peppers, onions and carrots topped with Kraft Light Three Cheese Ranch 

 

 

Tonight may be a lame night. It’s 1030P and I already want to go to bed but am trying to wait it out and see if I can fit in one of my Netflix movies in. How is it Saturday night already? Hope everyone is having a marvelous wknd!!

6 Responses to “Image Heavy”

  1. Karla May 2, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Goodness lady! I’m so behind on your happenings!
    I would definitely be freaked out if I had to work alone in a huge office by my lonesome. I freak out in campus buildings when it’s dark out!
    You and Lincoln are both looking fabulous as usual. Lincoln’s scarf is adorable and that dress is hot! Work it!

    • simplyshaka May 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

      Seriously, it’s so creepy. And I keep hearing sounds like creeking and stuff when I am there. I hate it! I will tell Lincoln you approve of his scarf 🙂 He somehow got it off last night but it was back on the morning!

  2. coffeeismycarrot May 2, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Super cute dress! And your friend’s shoes rock, too! I may have a trip to K-mart in my future.

    I’m so jealous of the easy-access hippies and their colorful goodies! What a steal for $10!

    • simplyshaka May 2, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

      I know right? I haven’t been to KMart in awhile and don’t think I ever bought shoes there but that may have to change soon.

      And the hippies are fabulous-starting this wk there will be a big market there with other vendors on Friday’s only. I just love it!

  3. genesis May 2, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    bummer you had to work on a saturday, but at least you scored on a very cute dress.

  4. Mari May 4, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Yums they turned out GREAT! I am so happy that you liked them =) I have a couple of ripe bananas calling my name lol..I need to get some chocolate chips so that I can bake a batch.

Leave a Reply

