Archive | 9:17 pm

Ribs and Goals

4 Apr

I finally figured out what my goals are for April and the second quarter. Here we go

  • Track my food every day online along with tracking my activity for the day
  • Work out at least 4 times a week (I will schedule what my workouts will be in advance so I can’t cancel out because I don’t want to)
  • When I get a craving at night or on the weekend, I will give at least 20 minutes to think about the craving and if it’s something I really want.
  • Sign up for another 5K !
  • Keep a positive attitude at work

That’s all I have for now but I will be adding as needed but these are the goals!

This afternoon was relaxing. Lincoln and I went for a 30 minute walk around the neighborhood and enjoyed the weather. Then we came back and I watched some more Arrested Development. I was hungry again and fixed myself a roast beef sandwich on a Thomas Whole Week Bagel Thin with one slice of Muenster cheese, tomato and dijon mustard with a side of fresh strawberries. A perfect light second lunch.

 And then three o’clock hit. I despise Sunday afternoons because I never slept well on Sunday nights but always have the urge to nap. It’s a day of relaxation after all right? I napped for two hours and felt so much better afterwards. I went to check on my ribs in the crockpot and they were ready-score! I cut and steamed asparagus while I was brushing some bbq sauce on the ribs and then sprayed with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter

Now I am doing laundry and finally getting around to watching Supersize Me

Good flick all in all. Nothing too shocking but it is interesting seeing an actual person do this instead of just seeing the statistics. I grew up in a household where my mom didn’t cook that much and we always went out to east. We would have Pizza Hut, McDonalds, etc. at least twice a week and that’s what I was raised on. Unfortunately, it took me gaining a massive amount of weight to change my ways and learn how to eat healthy on my own and cook on my own (including veggies).

I had a yellow apple after my shower and doing laundry

And staying true to my goals, wrote down my workouts for the next week and a half.

If you look at Thursday the 8th, I’m doing water zumba!! I am stoked for this and will be going with my friend to her gym in DC for the class.

Hoping for a great and quick wk (yay three day work wk), hope everyone is having a good one!

Hoppy Day!

4 Apr

Happy Easter everyone! And for those who don’t celebrate Easter-Happy Passover. And for those who don’t celebrate either-Happy Sunday!

Another gorgeous day in Charlotte. I woke up a little late and wanted to go for a run/walk but needed some food in my system ASAP. I decided on rolled oats.

Cooking in almond milk, water with apple spice seasoning.

 But sometimes beautiful things turn into a hot mess.

A hot mess of goodness!!! Sorry things took a turn for the worse for you, Lindsay.

This consisted of one banana, two tbsps unsweetened coconut and mini morsels and two tbsps of Crazy Richard’s Peanut Butter. I previously said, that this bowl was the best I have but the breakfast today trumped this!

I chugged a bunch of water and brought a bottle along with me and was off to the greenway. It was so sunny and not too many people on there. I walk.ran but when I ran my heart rate was going out of control.  I am talking 200+ plus my lungs weren’t wanting to cooperate with me. I speed walked most of the way but ended my session on my heart rate monitor after 1.5 miles when I stopped to get some more water and use the restroom. 447 calories ?? Nice!

There were also so many dogs on the greenway and I call dogs babies–I kept saying aloud “Look at all the beautiful babies here” like in Swingers. I am sure Amy will appreciate that.

I walked pretty much the rest of the way back besides a few minutes of running. I just couldn’t do it and figured walking is better than nothing (and I had to get home somehow). I got home and checked my heart rate monitor yet again and this is the beauty I saw:

451 calories!!

So my question is, is it really possible that within an hour I burned almost 900 calories from primarily walking with a bit of running threw in there?  That just doesn’t seem possible and I’ve never burned that many before even when I did more running.

Oh….and Lincoln likes to attack my face when I get back because I am all sweaty. Little dirty dog!!

I had a 32 oz bottle of water and handful of Peter

JK I had a handful of cashews

I started to prepare my dinner in the crockpot. Ribs were on sale and I haven’t had some good ribs in forever so on we go!

I lined the crockpit with the marinade-John Boy and Billy’s Grilling Sauce

I browned the ribs before placing them in the crock

And placed in the crockpot on low to cook. Whoever created the crockpot, I love you.

Hello fat babies. I cannot wait to eat you.

For lunch, I made deviled eggs….a first for me. I followed this recipe from Cooking Light

 I spent some time on the patio reading and Lincoln was wanting in on the action as well.

Hope everyone’s day is going great thus far!!