Frustation Station

3 Mar

So frustrated right now! I have been with my company a good five years. I am a hard worker, go above and beyond and just rock if we are being honest. However, everyone on my team who has started after me has moved on to other position while I am still stuck here. I have applied for numerous positions within the bank and nothing. I get to a second or third interview and when I ask the recruiter if there is anything I could have done better or work on, they have responded with things such as “No, you were great!” “They loved your personality and you have a lot of experience “ or “They are going with someone with more experience”

 

My question: How the hell am I supposed to get more experience if no one will let me get experience? I feel like I am in a vicious circle that I can’t get out of and don’t know what to do. I found out another girl on my team will be leaving in a few weeks and some of the closers I work with all got title promotions. Basically, it is a corporate title within the bank that you earn through experience, hard work, etc. I am coming up on my fifth year this April and by this time, my goal was to have an AVP title but no can do. Some people who are in this department have been here 10 yrs (which if that’s the case, I will go work at Starbucks instead) and still don’t have that. But these closers who from what I can see, don’t really work that hard….ALL got this promotion.

 

I really don’t know what to do. I am so frustrated and I can’t do anything. I don’t have a sugar daddy, parents with strong financials or a winning lottery ticket. I work hard and work overtime each week so I can add to my savings acct that is strictly for moving but how am I supposed to be able to move or find a job with this horrible economy? I feel stuck and I do not like it all. I wake up every day in a worse mood than the day before, am unhappy and just not myself.

 

Sorry to be a downer but I need to vent!!

5 Responses to “Frustation Station”

  1. Lu March 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    You are speaking my life story. I’m so sorry you are going through this. Nothing is more frustrating that feeling like you work hard for no recognition. I hope that things get better for you soon.

  2. Kelly March 3, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Ugh…I’m sorry honey! Maybe you should sit down with your direct supervisor and have a very honest comversation about your desires and what you can do to get there. It might help show how dedicated and serious you are about your profession! 🙂

  3. Karla March 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I’m so sorry this happened. We are in a frustrating time right now. I understand how you feel. I live on loans right which basically means I can’t save at all, even though I’d like to.
    Is there anyone at your work that you trust and can talk to about your frustrations? I know it’s seems silly but sometimes just talking to someone can make you feel a lot better.

    Don’t worry though! Things WILL get better! Chin up! You’re a star! Don’t forget it!

  4. teneightsixfour March 4, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Hi My name is Katie and we are the same exact person. It’s nice to meet you, katie. I feel your pain!! I am trying to move but my job is so awful that I can’t picture myself staying there for any more than 2 weeks (If I survive…) but it has become absolutely impossible to get even a call-back or an acknowledgement for my resume submissions. I wish I could offer you a few words of comfort that all of this will work out but I feel like a lot of people are frustrated with the economy & are having just as much trouble with their jobs. Starbucks DOES sound like a sweet deal, they give their employees health insurance! 🙂 Good luck girlfriend I’m rooting for you!

  5. kat March 6, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I agree with Kelly- it’s always good to communicate your desire to advance to your employer. Ok, well maybe not always- you know your supervisor best but consider it!

    Have you looked for another job in the same field? Maybe if you can find something you can tell your present employer “I found this other opportunity but I’d really like to advance here and work with you, but this other company is willing to offer me ____.”

    It worked for a friend of mine recently who wanted a raise- she got it!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

