Diagnosis: Allergic to Valentine’s Day

12 Feb

I got to thinking today that this was the first Valentine’s Day period I have worked in six years. I seem to get sick every year with either strep or bronchitis and nothing this year so far (knock on wood). I don’t know if it is eating better, working out or taking a good multi-vitamin  but I am feeling great so far! I am just not used to working around this time and think about years past when I was bed ridden. Until now I could say that I was allergic to Valentine’s Day but maybe allergic no more since I turned 30?

I had something new for breakfast -baked apples (well nuked in the micro for 2 minutes) with Greek Yogurt and flax

I got this idea from Janetha and it was amazing. I love the combination of hot and cold and it was like a magical party occurring in my mouth!!

Another deep thought of mine was what if It was structured that you were only allowed to eat one color of food and that’s it. No mixing or anything? This was inspired by my colorful salad at lunch. I brought one of the last chicken tamale casseroles for lunch but was feeling meh about I so walked over to Harris Teeter at lunch.


I would definitely have to go with either brown or green-brown would be meats, potatoes, whole wheat pasta (it’s a shade a brown right?!) but then greens would be apples, spinach, celery, broccoli, peppers, grapes but not much protein I would imagine. Interesting thought nonetheless!

Got that salad but also picked up some other goodies that were on sale suck as tofu, baby spinach, frozen spinach, greek yogurt (Oikos on sale for $1 each plus I had a $1 off coupon!), beef broth, cucumber and peppers.

And I am proud today was a stink-free today. I didn’t have to deal with stinky person at work and could breathe through my nose-life is good!

On the way home, i was being a smart a** and updating my facebook saying that I love bus drivers who ignore rules of the road and blah blah blah. And what do you know, we got in an accident! Nothing major though, some dude was trying to cut in front of us and it was snowing out (i.e. the city of Charlotte completely shuts down) and we had to wait for the cops and the next bus to show. Side note, I need stop drinking water an hour before I leave work 😦

When I got home, it was really coming down and time for Lincoln to venture out into the snow

He loves the snow

And it makes his momma happy also 🙂

I wasn’t terribly hungry so I munched on some sliced red peppers and ranch dip when we came in

I then went to have some Kettle Brand Spicy Thai Potato Chips which were outta this world compared to their Jalapeno cousin. I would have a picture but I ate them so fast I couldn’t catch one. Oops!!

Dinner was a baked potato with cheese. I have a piece of catfish defrosted but wasn’t feeling it

 I am so psyched to have a three-day wknd (one of the perks of working for the bank) but have absolutely no plans. Except buy a cookie cake for myself (although I will only have a piece or two). All my friends (who I never really see anyways) are with their boyfriends, husbands, etc. this wknd. Pet peeve of mine-when friends start dating someone and they can’t hang with their friends anymore. Sad to say, some of the people I really don’t consider friends anymore just acquaintances.

 Annnnnnnd, to make things worse, my one single friend is moving from Charlotte. She has had a string of bad luck (well, more than a string) involving unemployment, townhouse flooded, car, computer and laptop getting stolen and is moving back to her hometown. She is the one friend who keeps me sane here and who I can call to go have coffee, dinner or a drink on the fly. I feel like I am being dumped. Add another item to the list of why I want to move.

One Response to “Diagnosis: Allergic to Valentine’s Day”

  1. Run Sarah February 13, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Hope you feel better soon…I hate being sick this time of month! Microwaved apples are SO good, especially since PB and cinnamon. One of my favourite snacks.

Leave a Reply

