Plenty of Fish in the sea?

23 Jan

When out with my friend today, we talked extensively about recently dates we have been on. Moreso, I have thought about my dates from the last yr. I date often but haven’t had a serious boyfriend since April of last yr. After that the dates just went downhill……involving a guy who just got out of prison and made me a prison meal, one whose tooth fell out when we were having sushi, one who wouldn’t talk throughout the meal at all (he would sit there and chew while I asked him questions and wouldn’t respond at all), the one who didn’t do drugs but have a pharmacy breakfast bar and some random others. All weren’t bad but those were the pretty odd ones from last yr. Then I had a man who left me six voicemails in two days, texted me repeatedly and filled up my voicemail box. Ugh.

 I am definitely taking a break from dating for a while because honestly, I just do not have the energy to deal with it at the time being. I need to work on myself for the time being which is super easy with a 5K to run in March and my ever lasting quest to a healthy lifestyle. I am not sure if all of this stems from Valentine’s Day coming up or what. Or maybe just the men in Charlotte are complete weirdos? Who knows!

I tried something new for dinner and was pleasantly surprised—-Fried Catfish Bites!

I had a 8 oz farmraised catfish fillet that I cut into bites. I then dipped in whole wheat flour (shook off excessive flour), dipped in egg white then in a bowl of panko breadcrumbs (with garlic, Cajun seasoning and parsley mixed in). I fried in a bit of vegetable oil and voila—-a wonderful easy protein packed entrée!

Props to myself for using lemon and not a creamy sauce as a dip (Oh Tartar sauce, I miss our days together).

Side was Green Giant Valley Fresh Steamers (Broccoli Cauliflower and Carrots in Cheese Sauce)

And fresh fruit for dessert

Topped off with a great movie or two (how awesome is it that my library carries kick a** movies??!) and we have a great Friday night!

Leave a Reply

