Archive | 10:52 am

The deets on Italy

23 Jun

What:  I’m going to Italy!

Who: Me, no long flights for Lincoln. Luckily, I will be staying with the parental units then so I have a dog sitter for free!

When: In September for two weeks

Where:  I’ll be flying out of Fort Lauderdale connecting in Philly then flying into Venice. And can I just say I love the idea of flying into an airport named Marco Polo? I will definitely have my valium on hand for the flight since this will be my longest flight ever.

 

(source)

Why: Why not? I doubt I will have the opportunity to go and not have to worry about getting time off from work or worrying about work while away.

How: I’m sure some of you are wondering how I am going to Italy if I’m unemployed. This is actually a once in a lifetime thing since my flight and lodging are basically free. My sorority sisters husband is in the Air Force and got stationed in Italy in the past year. She is still in the US and will be moving there at the end of August, along with her two dogs and I believe they will be there for two years. So I have a free place to stay and  I will definitely be bringing her American goodies and cooking and cleaning in exchange for free board!

As for the flight, thanks to my US Airways Dividend Miles, it’s pretty much a free trip. All I had to pay was $100 for taxes and I still have some miles leftover to use towards my next free trip! I would love to stay for longer than two weeks but didn’t want to overstay my welcome and my best friends 30th birthday is at the end of September. She is having a party in Phoenix and I will not miss it! So September will be a traveling month for me.

We have some side trips planned when I get there, this is what we are thinking so far:

Milan

(source)

Verona

(source)

Florence

(source)

Slovenia

(Source)

Croatia

(source)

I am fine with going anywhere but Florence and Croatia are my must visits. I’ve wanted to visit Florence ever since I was a little kid. I remember reading geography books (yes, I was a dork) and looking at the cities of Europe and Florence’s architecture always stood out to me. Add art, history, wine, gelato and men to the mix and I’m game! My grandmother was originally from Croatia and came over to the US in her teens so it will be terrific to see yet another part of my heritage. After Italy and Croatia, I just need to make my way to Poland.

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have any fun, summer trips planned?

How do you occupy yourself on a long flight? What’s the longest you’ve been on a plane?