The long drive home

23 May

Driving 11 hours sucks. Driving 11 hours alone sucks even more. No matter how hard I try, I get anxious the night before leaving for a long trip and end up getting almost no sleep which makes for a cranky beginning to the day. Lincoln and I packed up early on Friday morning and started out with a light breakfast of a banana and Nature’s Path Lotta Apricotta granola bar

Boy, that bar was sweet. Like almost too sweet to eat and I love me some sweets. It took a good 15 minutes for me to down. I think it would be really good cut up and sprinkled in greek yogurt though to even out the taste. While at the gas station (which we won’t even begin my rant on gas prices), I found this Seattle’s Best Iced Latte

I love Seattle’s Best but rarely see it anywhere so I was stoked about this. It was like any other iced latte out there but I didn’t find it to be too strong.

I had to go through Gainesville, home of University of Florida, on my way back and it was around lunch time. I was in need of something hearty and Lincoln was practically dying in the car from the sun beating on him

I did a quick search to find dog friendly restaurants in the area and found The Book Lover’s Café, located in Books Inc, a used bookstore a few blocks away from the campus.

They serve lunch items, coffee and tea but what I really liked about it was that their menu consists of vegan and vegetarian treats. I am neither however when you’re on the road, it’s difficult to eat healthy. I try to back food and snacks and sometimes want to sit down and eat but most of the selection seems to be fast food. I ordered and looked around the store for any books that might have been of interest to me. Can we say score?

Only $3.99! Perfect since I just finished The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I can’t wait to start this one. I got Lincoln and we sat on their patio and waited for the food to come. They brought him a water bowl and we just enjoyed the day and the freaks walking by. It’s a college town so you are going to have some weird people there and I saw a few people walking by singing and one guy (yes, guy) dressed like Rainbow Brite) it was very funkalicious.

I ordered the Hummus wrap and you can either get a side salad or soup with it-I got the salad with was hopping with veggies-just like the wrap

  

The hummus wasn’t flavored, it was just regular hummus and tasted homemade. It was flavorful but gritty in texture.  All of this for only $7! Plus I get a majority of my veggie servings in for the day while supporting a local business-win win!All in all, a great place to stop, relax, peruse the book selection and hang out. Even though we were in the shade, Lincoln was still panting like a whore in church

I think it’s sweating like a whore in church but I like panting like a whore in church much better-hello saucy!

The rest of the drive through Florida was boring. I took a less traveled state road back to Jacksonville so I could hop on I-95. While on the road, I kept seeing these billboards which was a bit disturbing

I guess Florida is trying to get rid of over population? I must have seen this billboard at least seven times.

And can someone tell me what this is? I despise personalized license plates and despise ones that I can’t figure out even more.

Of course, I pronounce OCRACOK as Okra Cock. Maybe he did have one? I don’t feel bad about saying this since he was the slowest driver ever.

And I finally figured out my cruise control after a year and a half of owning this car—clicks to that!

Lincoln was absolutely pooped by the time we got to South Carolina. So much that he felt the need to jump in my lap and rest while I was driving. Thank God I was just going straight.

While fueling up in South Carolina, I found a new goodie that is going to be on my next shopping list

Hooray for Skinny Cow candy! I love Skinny Cow products so much so this had to be tasty. There were only six clusters in the package and they were quite small but it was a nice, little treat to indulge in.

As soon as I knew it, I was back in Charlotte.

Yay. Can you read the sarcasm?

I came home to a couple of surprises though……

a bunch of mail

Then a couple of packages….hmmmm….what could be in them? Happiness! Well happiness to me because there was food and a book.

First was Lance Cracker Creations that I won over at The Food Snob

Oh Monique, your note made me smile, much needed at the end of the day Smile

The second thing was Jen Lancaster’s newest book, If You Were Here. It’s different from her books since it’s a novel as opposed to her memoirs she writes so I’m very interested to read it and see how it compares. One of my sorority sisters went to the book signing in DC and got a copy signed for me since she wasn’t coming to Charlotte this year. Oh well, at least I got to meet her last year.

What’s your favorite part about getting home from a long trip? Mine is my bed and clean clothes!

28 Responses to “The long drive home”

  1. christina May 23, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Mmm that wrap. Okra cock is definitely what that says.

  2. Kristina @ spabettie May 23, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    aw, sweet Lincoln! you weren’t alone! :D I know what you mean, though… that’s a long drive to do all at once. the wrap – YUM. I want it right now!

  3. Vixter2010 May 23, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Glad you got home safe and sound! I’ve never been to a book signing, I need to get to one!

  4. thehungryscholar May 23, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Skinny Cow candy? what? I must find that.

    Did you know that Starbucks owns Seattle’s Best?

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      I did not know that, very interesting.

      I found it at the gas station but also saw it at the grocery story in the cookie aisle.

  5. Abby May 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Again, Lincoln stole my heart, the cold little stone that it is. Chauncey will only ride in the car on my lap like that, so you might call me an Okra Cock if ever stuck driving behind me.

    And holy food/book score! Two of my favorite things wrapped up into one (hummus wrap.) My favorite part of getting home is my own shower and throwing everything in the laundry so I can feel unpacked. Then it’s having my own food–and not having to pay for either it or the service (I tip myself in chocolate.)

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      Oh sweet Chauncey! The last thing is I am used to it by now but I guess cops don’t approve of the whole dog in the lap thing.

  6. Winky May 23, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I bet its for ocracoke island obx, though they probably should rethink that plate.

    • simplyshaka May 23, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      Touche, I’ve never heard of that before.

  7. Winky May 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Also, my neighbor dresses in rainbow leggings, neon green tutu and pigtails regularly, but she is a 15 year old girl, so its a little less odd.

  8. Katie H May 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Aw, Linc looks so hot (but so cute!). Bailey is the same way- he can’t take the heat!

    I’m glad you’re liking the girl with the dragon tattoo- the second book is my favorite one.

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      I’ve heard thats the best one, I’m excited to start it!

  9. Monique May 23, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Yay for cracker lovin- enjoy! and glad my corny note made you smile. (did you notice i have stationary?? lol fancy, huh?)

    Girl who played with fire is the BEST book in the series. It gets straight to the point and you will not be able to put it down! I read that one in like 2 days!

    Boo to the long drive. But look how cute lincoln looks sprawled across your lap!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      You are quite the fancy pants. Maybe one of these days I will be a lady and get my own :)

  10. Monique May 23, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    What?! There are so many Moniques in the blog world. And oh Lincoln… I love those pictures of him “sweating like a whore in church.” Woody used to sweat sooo much when we first moved to AZ (granted, it was the summer), but he hasn’t yet this year. And it’s been 100 for almost two months on and off now. Glad all that driving is behind you!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      I’m happy Woody is getting used to the heat there!

  11. Natalie @ will jog for food May 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    The book cafe looks pretty good, and now I’m gonna have to try those skinny cow candies!

    My fav part about coming home from a long vaca is sleeping in my own bed :)

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      I saw them in the supermarket as well yesterday near the cookies!

  12. Amanda May 23, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Okra Cock? I DIED. How sad if he did have one.

    My bed is my favorite thing about coming back home. It makes me so happy. I love my bed!

  13. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl May 23, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    So glad that you made it home safe! My favorite part of coming home is sleeping in my own bed! I’m completely impressed by your driving that far by yourself! I would have never been able to do it myself!

  14. According to Gus May 23, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    11 hours is a really long drive – I’m glad you had Lincoln to keep you company. :D

    I’m with you about returning home – there’s nothing like your own bed…which is what scares me about being homeless in a few weeks! ;)

    So glad you made it home safe and sound!

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Awww, I’m sure you all will be fine! you are staying with friends and family along the way right?

  15. nic - the auspicious squirrel May 24, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Aww poor Lincoln! He looks so hot. :( Glad you two made it home safe and sound. That book store/restaurant looks neat, plus vegetarian food, win.

    I’ve seen the movies for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo trilogy, I love how strong the main character is… I should check out the books.

    My favorite part about returning home from a trip is my own bed and my own cooking. :)

    • simplyshaka May 24, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      Clicks to homecooked meals! I will have to check out the movies once I finish all the books.

  16. leashieloo May 24, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    The best part of getting home after a trip is bed, clean clothes, and SHOWER! I am so excited to try the Skinny Cow candy, I have my eye on those crispy bars!

  17. Ashleigh May 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    That hummus wrap looks so good and I need skinny cow cady ASAP!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

