Happy hour, hot babes and humidity

12 May

While hanging out here in Florida, I feel like I’ve been quite productive. Yes, the days have consisted of napping, hanging by the pool and beach and spending time with these pups

but I feel like I’ve gotten a lot done besides that.

I found the local YMCA branch in Boca Raton and dropped in the other day to see if I could work out there. I asked my local branch if they knew the rules when visiting Y’s in other cities and they said it’s at the discretion of the specific branch. So when I went to the branch here, I was pleasantly surprised when they told me I could visit 14 times in one month! woot woot! The place may smell like old people and they don’t have the latest machines like my Y in Charlotte but it is definitely useable. I went the past two days and had some decent workouts.

And holy hot babes at the Boca YMCA batman! I don’t know what these men do for a living but they are gorgeous—kind of like a toned down version of Jersey Shore-current and in 30 years. These men are out of control hot so it’s awesome to have some eye candy while working out.

The dbag wearing a wool hat to the YMCA when it’s 90 degrees outside? Dude, stop trying to be Colin Ferrell.

My mom really doesn’t cook that much anymore and my parents are always going out to eat. I am usually fine with dining on someone else’s dime however I do not want to be going out to eat every single meal since that just spells trouble. I told them instead of going out for every meal, let’s do one meal of lunch or dinner at home then go out to eat for the other. This has been working well except for the fact that my parents keep trying to get me drunk.

Don’t worry, they aren’t trying to take advantage of me anything. Or maybe they are trying to get me drunk so they can steal my car and my dog. Add the fact that I am unemployed to that and I’m a country song!

Ok, maybe not so much but Florida has happy hour specials whereas North Carolina doesn’t. So that means that here they do BOGO drinks from 4 to 7pm or whatever hours they do happy hour.  My parents keep pushing me to get a drink when I go out in a very ABC afterschool special kind of way. They don’t tell me that all the cool kids are having drinks but they are a step away from it. So, with that, more Blue Moons that normal have been consumed.

We went to The Quarterdeck on Tuesday night since we had a coupon for a free half rack of ribs

Yep, frugality runs in the family

We went in and sat in the bar area however once I sat down and saw the sketchers sitting at the bar, I asked the parentals if we could sit outside. I’m all for people watching however these guys were giving me the heebie jeebies! One of them had an eye patch on. I’ve never met a normal person with an eye patch so there has to be a story there, one guy was taking up three seats at the bar and looked like he brought his own pillow to sleep there and the others looked like they just got their sweet freedom from the Broward County Pen.

I ordered the fish and chips with a side of two Blue Moons.

When the fish and chips came out, I was stoked. Nothing like some fish and chips, especially when you’re near the beach but to put it nicely…..it sucked. I don’t know if the cod was past it’s hey day or what but it didn’t taste fresh and squeezing a few lemons and dousing it in tartar sauce didn’t even help. If I ever go back, I will stick to their conch fritters as I have in the past.

I met up with some of my sorority sisters on Wednesday for lunch at Rocco’s Tacos. Even though I went to college in WV, a few of them moved to FL after college and have been here ever since. I love getting to visit family and friends while I drop by.

Seeing friends and eating Mexican food? Count me in! My parents told me their guacamole was out of this world and they make it tableside for you. When we sat down, I was secretly hoping that we would order it and my friends told me we had to get an order. Success!

I could have ordered a bowl of the guacamole and been happy. Seeing that it was $12, it could have been a meal itself! Instead, I went with the blackened mahi taco platter with rice and salad.

The mahi was fresh and flavorful so I was happy with the 180 degree change of fish from the other night. However, instead of little pieces of mahi, they give you one huge chunk so it’s not as messy as potentially could be. A good time had by all though, it’s crazy to think that I’ve known these girls for over 10 years.

Other random things?

*I am totally down for being a Cicada bug. I think I could sleep for 13 years!

*I have a new love and it goes by the name of Temptations by Jello Strawberry Cheesecake

Yes, it may be gone after only three bites but it’s absolutely delish!

*I’m started to develop an unhealthy habit for Dunkin Donuts.

I went to three different DD’s within a 24 hour time span.This can’t be a good thing for anyone.

*I had Cool Whip for breakfast the other day. But then the adult in me spoke out and told me not to have Cool Whip…..put some fruit under it to get my produce in!

*Ross sells Philosophy for only eight bones!

*I thought Charlotte had bad humidity. I was wrong. I forgot how bad it is here and am finally just starting to dry off after being inside for 20 minutes. Gross.

*And how is Charlotte out of eggplants when Florida is selling them for $.99? Why is the Sunshine State hogging all the eggplants?

*The Coconut Mocha frappuccino is a gift from the gods. I really didn’t need to know that something so delicious existed but oh well, at least I got it half priced.

What’s your favorite frappuccino?

Do your high school or college friends live in your hometown? A lot of my high school friends still live there but since I went to college 18 hours away, not too many of my college friends?

17 Responses to “Happy hour, hot babes and humidity”

  1. Abby May 12, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    1) I love your dogs and that third picture of you with the tongue-sticker-outer should be a poster for something. I don’t know what, but it’s damn cute.
    2) I cracked up with the Florida Happy Hour reference because when I used to go visit my grandma in Florida (a long time ago,) we would go out for dinner and all the old people would have two mixed drinks at their table because it was BOGO and they HAD to have two at once to make it worth their money. Oxygen tanks, orthopedic shoes and double Screwdrivers. I was all in.

  2. MelissaNibbles May 12, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Whoa. Florida needs to give up some eggplants.
    I really want that fish and chips and it’s only 10:30 in the morning. Fuck.

  3. vixter2010 May 12, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I think it’s hilarious your parents try and get you drunk, my family always encourage me to drink even though I don’t really! Yay for fish and chips, very English love it :)

  4. Carly May 12, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    The same thing happens to me when I go home – ha, my parents throw drinks at me! It’s all fun though. :)

    My favorite frapp is the caramel. It was the beginning of my love affair with coffee, but now it’s only a special occasion treat.

  5. Amy B @ Second City Randomness May 12, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I tried the Temptations French Silk Pie… have to say, I wasn’t a fan. There’s something about pudding I just don’t like… more of a fan of chewing my food I guess.

  6. Alyssa May 12, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to try the coconut mocha frap! my fave is the mocha… aaand I’ve got a feelin’ I’m going to fall in loove.

    and hooray for hot babes at the gym! I’m so glad I switched for my own eye candy. ;)

  7. bigcitybabycarrots May 12, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Great to hear you are relaxing in Florida! A lot of my high school friends stayed in the area. I was away for 7 years, but now that I’m in NYC I’m pretty close to where I grew up. It’s great to see my high school friends more often.

  8. Ashleigh May 12, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    You are hilarious! Glad you are having fun in FL and eating yummy food. I am loving the half priced frappes! I got caramel the other day but I think I need to try the coconut mocha ASAP!

    • simplyshaka May 14, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      I got the toffee nut the other night and it was a big let down. I don’t how something toffee nut can taste so bad so I think I’m going to stick with the coconut mocha for now! Hope you get to try it :)

  9. According to Gus May 12, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    That’s an adorable photo of you and Lincoln!

    I’ve been meaning to stop in at Starby’s for a 1/2 priced frapp…I better hurry since the deal ends this weekend!

    Enjoy your time in sunny FL!

  10. bakebooks May 12, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I love coming here. You just emit this “living life to the fullest ” vibe. Love it!

    Your fantastic…and I wish I were in Florida – like right now please ;)

    I’ve never had a Frappuchino…oh my, that should change shouldn’t it ;)

    • simplyshaka May 14, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      Awww love, you’re so sweet :)

      You need to try a frapp! I love them but they are a once in awhile indulgence for me. However clicks to Starbucks for having sugar free and light options along with making them with skim or soy if you like.

  11. sophia May 13, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    Aw, great get-together! I don’t live in my hometown right now so most of my friends are far, far away. It’s interesting to see how different people turn out after 10 years though, isn’t it?

    Not a frap lover, but I do love to sip on the green tea frap from time to time. ;-)

    Your cheesecake jello looks great…but not as good as the white chocolate raspberry truffle cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory that I’m eating now! (sorry, I just had to brag)

    • simplyshaka May 14, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      Dirty–I am going to Cheesecake Factory today, perhaps I need to try that?? :)

      I am really curious about the green tea frapp. I might as well get in now while they have them half off in the afternoon!

  12. Katie H May 14, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    No happy hour specials in Charlotte? Isn’t that what happy hours are for?? I’m glad you are enjoying FL, minus the humidity of course!

    At one point, most of my high school/college/law school friends lived in my hometown (odd, since the schools were 3.5 and 4 hours way). Over the past four years, all but one has moved away. Boo!

  13. Diana@mymarblerye May 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I only visit home for friends and family! Almost all of them still live there..kinda sad?! Anyways glad you are having a blast in Florida! Love that couponing runs in your drunk family!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tempting Tapatio « Simply Shaka - July 26, 2011

    […] The YMCA sucks here. I found out that I can only go 14 times in one year not 14 times in one month as I thought. They have the basics there but I am used to more variety in a gym. They have a small cardio area […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

