Greetings from Florida!

10 May

Hello everyone—hope everyone is having a great week so far!!

All I need is to insert a postcard here and I will be all set.

(source)

Sigh, I long for the days when stamps were $.37.

But for now, I will just show this gorgeous picture of sunset Sunday night (please disregard the dead flies on my windshield)

We left early on Sunday after a good nights rest. I started with my regular pre trip breakfast of Dunkin Donuts. Their egg white flatbread rocks my world and you can’t go wrong with their iced coconut coffee.

It was a gorgeous day for a drive, thank God we didn’t have any horrible weather or traffic.

I wish I had some good stories from the road but unfortunately I don’t. I just jammed out, stayed alert and watched Lincoln.

He slept through SC…..

through GA….

Woke up to help me drive in FL….

To save money, I brought some snacks for the road. I hate how much gas stations and rest stops charge for food plus you don’t find the healthiest selection of stuff. Plus when making an 11 hour drive, I wanted to fill my body with good stuff as opposed to crap.

Which I ended up getting the hummus on my pants so it looked like a funky, yellow stain near my girly bits. Good times.

Dannon Greek Yogurt-Honey. Wanna know my thoughts on this?

Save your money, it was disgusting!

I ended up stopping for linner since I wasn’t sure what was going to be on the agenda for dinner. I saw a billboard for Daytona Pig Stand BBQ and knew I had to have it.

They had a spacious patio are that was pet friendly! The server ever brought out some water for Lincoln.

I went in to order and when I ordered the pulled pork sandwich, they asked if I wanted it ON garlic toast or a regular roll. A sandwich on garlic toast?? I’ve never heard of such thing so yes, Pig Stand, I would like my sandwich on garlic toast.

It was fantastic! The pork was served without bbq sauce and you can add the original or hot bbq sauce. I wasn’t too impressed with the original but the hot bbq sauce had some heat and was tangy.

There was so much meat on there, Lincoln got to have a little treat o’ pig!

But he did not get one ounce of that mac n cheese since I was licking the bowl for the last remnants of cheese. This was a great spot to stop at and relax for a little while. Plus any place that is dog friendly gets two thumbs up in my book.

I rolled into my city and talked with my parents. They were still on the road from visiting my sister on the other coast of Florida and would be home soon. I said “Ok, I will just let myself in” thinking that they left a key for me since who wouldn’t leave a key for their daughter who had been driving 11 hours with her dog right? No. So I sat in the parking lot of Whole Foods and waited for them to get home. I was starving at that point and wanted nothing more than to go in and get some grub but I was all grody from driving all day. I swear, the second I got into FL my skin and hair were on red alert because both went from normal to greasy and frizzy.

My plans were to sleep in on Monday but it was so hot in our house, I couldn’t. I felt like Elaine on Seinfeld when she goes down to FL with Jerry and stays the night on the fold out couch and can’t sleep because it’s so hot. I almost had a freak out session because of the humidity….almost.

I woke up at 630am and was on a mission to find coffee, food and free Wi Fi. I ended up at Sequella Café in Boca after reading reviews on Yelp.

I ordered a small latte and contemplated getting breakfast but the items were pricier than I wanted to pay. Plus, when I got online, the connection was terrible slow. As much as I enjoyed the atmosphere and Beatles playing, I was ready to get out and find another spot.  When I went up to pay, I learned you had to spend at least $5 if you wanted to use your check card. I was a couple of dollar short so I got two raspberry rugaleh to go and headed out.

After that, I headed to Starbucks where I was greeted with normal prices, comfy chairs and speedy Wi Fi….and hot men! Each time I looked up, it seemed like another hot guy was walking into the place and I was diggin! Until I saw the popped collars that is. I saw two guys with popped collars within 20 minutes. Ugh.

I went to the beach for about an hour and a half around lunch time. I wanted to stay longer but I forgot how expensive parking gets there you only get 10 minutes for $.25 and I had $1.50 in quarters. Next time I go, I will go back to being 15 and have my mom drop me off and pick me up.

And the beach? Holy men in speedos Batman! And I’m not talking sex pot, Greek god body like Daniel Craig in a Speedo

(source)

I’m talking men who look like Celine Dion’s husband and are too furry to not shave (and this coming from a girl who likes fury men) Thanks everyone for your input on which one to read—I still can’t decide!! Next time I go to the beach this week, I will start on one of them!

Well, my time at Starbucks is up—I can’t wait until I can get back to using Internet access in my own home where I can get stuff done when I want. I have blogs to catch up on among others things! Til next time……

Do you pack snacks when traveling or stop off at different spots?

What’s the best beach you’ve ever been to?

28 Responses to “Greetings from Florida!”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun May 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Yay for a good trip down. And I’m kind of in shock…I go to Daytona with my family every year since I was born. I know it like a 2nd home. I am a HUGE bbq lover. How have I not had (or even heard) of this BBQ joint?!

    • simplyshaka May 10, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

      I don’t know but you must try it! Its right off of 95 but in Ormond Beach exit despite its name.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness May 10, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I’m glad Lincoln didn’t pee in the hummus.

    And the garlic toast pulled pork sandwich? Omg… Omg… Omg…

  3. janetha @ meals & moves May 10, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I didn’t know Link had his license! Randy only has his learner’s permit.

  4. Tamara @ The Stretch Jean Incident. May 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    God, Lincoln is so adorable! His facial expressions (or lack thereof) always crack me up, haha. Looks like an awesome trip! And yeah, not every company should jump on the Greek yogurt bandwagon- I tried Yoplait’s and it was disgusting! Chobani, Oikos and Fage cost me a little more, but they’re sooo much better.

  5. Alyssa May 10, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Teleport me! I wanna go. I’m so jealous. 😉

  6. Carly May 10, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Looks like you’re having a good start to your vacay!

    Also, I can’t live without some iced dunkin on weekends – best thing ever!

  7. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg May 10, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Have a great vacation!!! Looks like it’s off to a fabulous start!

  8. Vixter2010 May 10, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Glad you both got there safely and had done yummy food on the way! I wish I was in Florida looks fab. Enjoy yourself!

  9. Elin @andserenitytoo May 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Great your trip went well! Sorry about the furry men, would have been nicer to have like one Daniel Craig there instead – especially as they are all wearing speedos (!?!?!)
    The nicest beach I have been to is Manuel Antonio in Costa Rica… sooo beautifully blue water, with cliffs and trees and silky sand!
    That Florida beach looks really nice too… 🙂

  10. Kace May 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Either Megan’s Bay in St. Thomas or Elbow Beach in Bermuda. My mom and I ended up there by accident but it was so fantastic.

  11. Monique May 10, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Looks like you and Mr. Lincoln are having a fabulous time from all those awesome pictures! I also miss the days when stamps were cheap, because that meant GAS prices weren’t raping us all.

  12. fitinthemidwest May 10, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Hate the yoplait greek yogurt too! Totally made the same face when I ate it a couple of months ago. One of my ex co-workers loves the stuff after I told her about eating more greek yogurt. I couldn’t tell her how much I despised that stuff!

    Oh, Florida looks so beautiful and warm! Glad you had a good trip down there.

  13. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl May 10, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Garlic toast on a sandwich….OMG. I need to eat that.

    I always try to remember to pack snacks and usually fail miserably and forget things. Ugh!

  14. Ashleigh May 10, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    GORGEOUS BEACH!! I am so jealous you’re in FL! Lincoln is too cute snoozing away and helping you drive on the road trip.

  15. According to Gus May 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    So glad you made it safe and sound – the photos of Lincoln are SO cute!

    We pack snacks/meals when we take longer road trips. It saves so much money!

  16. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt May 10, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Hummus on your girlie bits. Nice. 😉

    Enjoy your time in Florida. I’m from FL so my favorite beach is Pensacola Beach. Nothing better than that white sand!

  17. Amanda May 10, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    LOL at the popped collar. If anyone tried that in CA, they’d be in big trouble. Disgusting!

    I hate the humidity too. I cannot get used to it.

  18. amanda May 10, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    woooo, florida!

    double D flatbreads really do rock. especially when paired with iced coffee. delish, yo!

  19. Margie May 10, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    That cafe in Boca seems interesting from the reviews. I might try it next time. I just got back doing a 3 hour shot each way down to FLL. It was so humid down there! I liked doing the quick visit to family and friends. But we had to wash the car twice because of the lovebugs. I also have to get it hand detailed tomorrow for the ones that didn’t come off. YUCK! I hope you don’t get swamped by them.
    Have fun and be safe!

  20. happytalesblog May 11, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    AHHHH so jealous you’re in FL, even if it is super hot!! Enjoy your time with your familia (and linkypoo, of course!!)

  21. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings May 11, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Sweeet pix! Um, I love Lincoln. Love him.

  22. Rach @ This Italian Family May 11, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Oh, yeah, 37 cent stamps… good times 🙂

    Girl, it looks like you are having such a great time! That BBQ looks so amazingly fabulous and the beach… ahhh the beach. Miss it!

  23. leashieloo May 11, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    The best beach I’ve been to is a tie between Waikiki Beach and Playa Flamingo (in Costa Rica). White sand, clear water, ughhh I am so jealous. Soak up the sun and enjoy it, lady!

  24. Natalie @ will jog for food May 11, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    That BBQ & Mac and Cheese looks SOOOOO good!

    Maybe they’ll have a bbq mac & cheese burrito at Borther Tuckers as a special? hehehe They get a little crazy like that sometimes 🙂

  25. adrianna May 11, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    oh i never travel w/o snacks! it keeps me awake, saves money, and if i get stranded on the side of the road, i’ll survive…also have an emergency kit, blanket, and shovel in the trunk…

    so glad you made it safely. enjoy your family, relax, and tell the ocean i said hello 🙂

  26. MelissaNibbles May 12, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Garlic toast sandwiches are amazing. I love them. Try it with a ham and cheese!

    Glad you had a safe trip and thanks for the warning about the Greek yogurt. I’ve been curious about it.

  27. Diana@mymarblerye May 15, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Honestly Hawaii is amazing…youllsee when I post pics. Anyways road trips for me meaneating candy and at greasy dives! I can’t help it! And thank gawd for ac here! Humidity killzzzzzzz

Leave a comment