Archive | 7:09 am

Frugal Friday: I got your couponing right here

6 May

Happy Friday all! This week’s Frugal Friday is going to be on my couponing habits….pronounced couponing not q-poning, drives me BANANAS when people call it q-pons! Anyways, you all know I am forever on the prowl (rawr) for a good deal and saving money wherever I can.

Step 1: Getting the coupons

My mom used to work for a newspaper and would send me extra coupons they had sitting around there. But now, I have to be like everyone else and pay for my Sunday paper. It’s all good though, I don’t mind shelling out $1.50 in exchange for major savings. I love the Sunday newspaper because on the front page they tell you the amount of savings with the coupons enclosed.

Besides newspapers, I print coupons online. I primarily use Coupon Mom and Coupon Suzy to get them and print them off. I like a lot of brands on Facebook because many of them offer an introductory coupon for liking them so check out your favorite brands on there!

Step 2: Organizing the coupons

I’ve had my fruitalicious coupon organizer for six years and carry it wherever I go.

I organize in groups by brand name A-D, E-I, J-N, O-S, T-Z.

Now, the big issue with my coupons used to be making sure I used them in time. Sometimes once you clip the coupons and store them, the expiration date could pass right by you and you’re out of savings. We don’t like that. I go through my coupon organizer every week and when I do, I pull out the ones that are going to expire in less than a month and highlight them in the upper right hand corner.

By doing this, it stands out when you are looking through your coupons instead of hiding away with the others.

Step 3: Finding the Deals

Every week, I take the supermarket circulars that I get in the mail, lay them out on the floor and pull out my coupons to see if I have any coupons for the items that are on sale.

This past week was Super Double Coupons  up to $1.98 at Harris Teeter and I wanted to take advantage of the savings. I went to  Our Coupon Home and found a thread noting many of the items on sale and coupons that are currently valid for those items. On the site, they show how much the item is, what coupons are out there (a link to printable ones) then how much you will pay for the item. If you go to Our Coupon Home’s main page, you can select a supermarket near you to find the specials of the week! It’s a great website to use if you are looking to get the most bang for your buck!

 

Step 4 : Using the Coupons

Once I went to Our Coupon Home and looked at the specials for the week and checked if I had any coupons or could print them out online, I was ready to go. I made a list of all the items I needed to get. Some items weren’t on my original list but Our Coupon Home mentioned some items that I could get for free or under $1. No, I didn’t need some of those items right at the moment but there is a 98% chance I will use them in the next two months so I would stock up. That being said, I went to Harris Teeter on Saturday morning and had my eye on the prize. I had my sneakers on, two cups of coffee in my system and was moving at record speeds throughout the store. I organize my list by section of the grocery store: Produce, Deli, Middle Rows, Meat, Dairy, Frozen, etc. so I just make my way from front to back and collect my items.

Step 5: Show off the deals you find

I now present you with what I got on Saturday April 30 at Harris Teeter (please don’t skip the photos to see how much I got all of this for!) :

A lot of items right?

Total of all the items above? $58

But after my coupons? Are you ready for this??

$15.12!!!!

 

When the cashier told me the total, I seriously broke out into a happy dance at the check out stand (you’re welcome for shaking my booty towards you, bagboy) I couldn’t believe that my coupons saved me that much money! I got a number of items for free—the hummus, half and half, guacamole, chocolate bar, Luna Bar, So Delicious Coconut Milk, Tyson Chicken and Chef Michaels dog food. I got many other items for under $1—Tony’s Pizza—not the healthiest but for $.17 a piece? Yeah, I am buying it and will eat as drunk food! The Smart Balance milk was around $.60, Newman’s Own Salsa $.89 and  Yoplait Greek Yogurt $.44/each.

So if someone tells me coupons aren’t worth it or take too much time to look for/clip/organize, I will say come look at this post. You just have to dedicate a little time each week to doing so but there are sooooo many sources out there, you would be a fool not to use coupons.

What are your coupon tips?

Any good deals this week?

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers