Bark for Life

10 Apr

I like dogs and hate cancer so on Saturday, Lincoln and I woke up early to do the American Cancer Society Bark for Life walk. The walk was being held to raise money for cancer and until the day of, I wasn’t sure if it was for doggie cancer or human cancer but regardless, raising money for any kind of cancer is a good thing. You could register as part of team or individually, which I did since I didn’t know anyone else who was doing it.

We were one of the first ones to arrive, which gave us a lot of time to check our the different sponsors and vendors plus get some swag!

My first time trying Cake Batter fro yo–amazing!
You can bet your sweet butt, I stuffed as many as I could in my purse then took a couple of trips to my car to drop off!

Soon, the area filled up with all kinds of dogs

There were big dogs

…..and small dogs

….and even dressed up dogs!

I thought of my favorite dachshund Basil when I saw these dolled up pups

Lincoln wasn’t doing too well with the outrageous number of dogs and people there, he can be a bit skiddish at times

But once I grabbed him in my arms and carried him around like a baby he was fin

Dog has me wrapped around his finger paw I tell you.

Soon, we were off walking, the walk was a 1.57 mile walk around Uptown Charlotte starting across the street from Bank of America stadium

(source)

When I took this picture, I had to stop myself from laughing. All the dogs were going crazy sniffing everything in sight. I pictures one of e dogs finding a human hand or foot and cue in the Law and Order music–it reminded of a situation that would kick off an episode. Anyone else? No? Just me? Ok.

It was the perfect day for a walk! There were a lot of bitches for Lincoln to hit on, sights to see such as the Carolina Panthers practice field, skyline of Uptown Charlotte and Bank of America Stadium, where the Panthers play when they decide to show up.

When we finished the walk, we came back to the stage area where they were holding contests for smallest dog, biggest dog, etc. plus had a live dj from one of the country music stations here. It kinda bummed me out because given the event and all, I was hoping they would play “Atomic Dog” or “Who Let The Dogs Out” I even went up to the dj and asked if he would play one and he refused (and may have looked at me like I was a little off for actually wanting to hear “Who Let The Dogs Out”) Lincoln was absolutely pooped afterwards and ready to go home and plop down on the couch

Instead of passing out as I had been hoping for, he puked all over my ottoman. Too much excitement in one morning for my little guy 😦

Do you give to charity or do runs, walks or rides? If so, is there a specific one you support? I donate to the Humane Society but have done walks for breast cancer, domestic violence and March of Dimes and a 5K for colon rectal cancer.

38 Responses to “Bark for Life”

  1. Kristina @ spabettie April 10, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    oh, poor Lincoln getting too excited! 😦 BIG outing for the pup!

    what FUN – I’d love to do one of those walks, with other dogs too… I’m going to look for something like that in my area!

    I do the Aids Walk each year, golf in a MDA tournament, and used to coach Special Olympics 🙂

  2. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings April 10, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    That must have been so cool! Rocco would have wigged out too. There must have been a lot of butt sniffin! LOL

    xo
    Mindy

  3. bakebooks April 10, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    That is amazing! LOL about the Law & Order premise – too true! I don’t even watch those shows, but every CSI seems to start off that way…before I change the station to some horribly (addicting) reality show 😉

    Hope your doing well girl!

  4. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl April 10, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    This looks like so much fun! I want to do one of these…my pup would love it! And all of the freebies…awesome! 🙂

  5. terri April 10, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    i just love that lil lincoln! xo

  6. genesis April 11, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    i did a dog 5k this weekend for our vet school. i pretty much paid $20 to stand in the cold and run up some bitching hills…no swag, not even a shirt or a race bib. im still miffed about that.the dogs at this run were pretty wild and i found it funny that people brought their purse dogs to run a race…lol.

    love the swag you got. i would have gone back to my car and loaded up twice too 😉

  7. Lisa (I'm an Okie) April 11, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    I would LOVE to be able to participate in something like that. How fun.

  8. vixter2010 April 11, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Great cause, well done for taking part! Lincoln looks very proud of himself as you both should be 🙂

  9. April April 11, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    🙂 I love dogs. Lincoln’s tongue looks so silly in that picture.

    Congrats on quitting that sucky job!!!!

    I’m anxious to see how less cardio, more eating does for me too.

  10. Brittney April 11, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Sorry I missed this! I did do the Dogs Walk for Cancer last year, which I guess is what this event used to be called, but I totally forgot when it was going to be this year, and forgot to put it on the calendar. I couldn’t done it anyway though, because I had a brunch baby shower to attend that morning. Maybe next year! I think I’m going to do Pet Palooza in May. If you haven’t haven’t moved yet by then, you should come 🙂

  11. Amanda April 11, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Lincoln is too cute! I love that last picture of him.

    No “Who let the dogs out?” How rude!

  12. Carly April 11, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    That looks like such a fun event! There was a Pet Park event in Charleston yesterday and I was sad I couldn’t make it out. Looks like y’all had a great time, though!

  13. Ashleigh April 11, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I would love to do something like this, especially if I had a dog to bring. So many cute pups!!

    You def made out on all those goodies! I want some cake batter fro yo now

  14. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg April 11, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Awww, I love dog events!! Baxter has that hotdog costume, haha!

  15. According to Gus April 11, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I am seriously jealous of all that swag! Wowzas!

    My hubby and I run in 5ks as often as possible and there are a few walk/runs that are dog-friendly that we never miss!

    Love the pics of Lincoln!

  16. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle April 11, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    I have done the March of Dimes several times and try to give to charity as much as I can, especially for causes near and dear to my heart (like animal charities, autism, etc.)

    Poor Lincoln! At least he waited until he got home to throw up instead of throwing up in front of the ladies! That probably wouldn’t have been good for his game.

  17. Erin April 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    I love dog related events. Any place I can take Kork for a lovely day out is so fun for me! Lincoln reacts to excitement similar to how Korky does. Throw up…everywhere.

  18. Monique April 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Poor thing! Breaks my heart when the doggies barf!
    It was Mickeys Birthday Yesterday! shes officially 5. sadness.
    I love the event. We have a doggy parade in Kew Gardens but I hate it. No one knows how to raise a dog- agressive dogs over stupidity- i cant afford a trip to the vet so i opt out.

  19. Katie H April 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Aw! The picture of Linc with his tongue out is TOO CUTE! Bailey is the same way around other dogs- he acts all excited from afar but once they get close to him he is so standoffish. I totally think they should have played who let the dogs out!

  20. Diana@mymarblerye April 11, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    I love relay for life! Btw this event is what my nightmares are made of! So sad he got too excited! Haha

  21. janetha April 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I am very jealous of this post!!!!

  22. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun April 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    How cool! A race for dogs. Too cool.

    And that’s some nice swag. Especially fro-yo. Score. Cake batter flavor is my fave. So delish!

  23. Elin @andserenitytoo April 11, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Such a cute picture of Lincoln sticking his tongue out! 😀 Good idea too to stuff all those into your purse (I like vitamin water, they have that here too)
    That’s great you do so much for charity! I sponsor a boy in India but I would like to do something more…

  24. peacebeme April 11, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    I love how you say, “I love dogs but hate cancer”! Ditto!

    I love any event that incorporates dogs. 😉

  25. Laury @thefitnessdish April 11, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Awww, so cute that you and Lincoln did the cancer walk!!! I love that!!! Never heard of a bark walk, but what a great idea to raise money for an amazing cause!

  26. lookingupwhileslimmingdown April 11, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Awww poor Linky threw up? 😦
    I love when we do the doggy 5K to raise money for the local Humane Society. SO much fun seeing all the dogs. We do a bunch of other stuff like Relay for Life and I donate to a zillion charities b/c I get sucked in at every piece of mail I get with sob stories about kids or animals.

    Good swag there! I didn’t even know TCBY still existed. Yogiberry here has cake batter and just tried it. So good!

    • simplyshaka April 12, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

      Yeah, he gets nervous with all of the action going on plus all the extra treats he got. We dont have Yogiberry here (I dont think we do at least) but yeah, I guess TCBY is making a come back now-go figure!

  27. nic - the auspicious squirrel April 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Ah Lincoln is so cute! What fun!

    I thought of you and Lincoln the other day… I was looking for a camera bag, and came across this bag… it’s a backpack for 15lb and under dogs! Hehe! 🙂

    http://www.timbuk2.com/tb2/products/mutt-mover-dog-backpack

    • simplyshaka April 12, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      Thanks for posting the link–I completely want that now! And the name Muttmover just adds to the appeal 🙂

  28. Heather (All Sizzle No Steak) April 11, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    What a cute doggie you have!

  29. Natalie @ Will Jog For Food April 12, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    So cool!! I could never take Bella to any of those things, she goes Insane in the membrane around other dogs when she is on a leash.

  30. oh wow that looks like so much fun! your dog must have had a blast! and i always do a race for breast cancer every fall!!! the cake batter fro yo sounds delish, i just had coconut fro yo for the first time at razzy fresh and was in absolute HEAVEN!

    • simplyshaka April 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      I need to find some coconut fro yo, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that!

  31. Andrea@Thin Thighs & Sweet Potato Fries April 12, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Aww. How cute! You guys were right by my apartment! I haven’t done any races/walks yet (I know, I should be ashamed) but I plan to get on the bandwagon this spring. Do you know any other good ones coming up in Charlotte?

    • simplyshaka April 12, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

      How funny, I love South End! I am over in Dilworth so right near there 🙂 I don’t know of any off hand but I would check out active.com!

  32. Alyssa April 12, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I’m running the Marine Corps Marathon for prostate cancer… and I’m so close to my goal. YAY!

    I love Lincoln a little more every time I see his picture grace your blog. Gosh.

    AND did tcby get a makeover or what?

    • simplyshaka April 12, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      I know right, TCBY is all hip now and has fabulous flavors! When I was growing up, all they had was boring stuff like vanilla and chocolate.

  33. bigcitybabycarrots April 13, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Looks like so much fun asides from Lincoln getting sick. What type of cancer was it for?

Leave a comment