Archive | 9:22 pm

Frugal Friday!

8 Apr

Can I get a T to the GIF? This has been one of the longest weeks I’ve had in awhile and so happy it’s over! Along with my normal work drama, I think another contributing factor to the long week has been the gorgeous weather we’ve had in Charlotte this week. It’s been sunny with temperatures ranging from the 60s -80s outside which it makes it almost unbearable to be stuck inside of a gray cube.

Random savings all throughout the week for me though, starting on Saturday.  I went to Cafe Carolina for lunch.  I joined their e-club for the coupons alone since I heard they send you coupons for free breakfast and lunch items. I’ve never been to Café Carolina before but I used to live near their location and planned on using their coupons but never got around to it.  Good thing this coupon was good until April because I was in the mood for a free lunch! Well, almost free, you had to buy a drink to get the free sandwich but $1.81 for lunch isn’t too bad of a deal.

I  got the Carolina Turkey Breast and it was meh. I would’ve enjoyed a sandwich made at home more but I had hopes for their cracked wheat sunflower bread. The bread light and airy but would have been better toasted and the turkey quality reminded me of slimy, deli meat.

Oh well, I had high hopes for this place since everything on their menu looked wonderful. It reminded me of Panera…. A cold, unwelcoming Panera. There was a lot of natural light coming in but no comfy chairs, no music and just a mean feeling to the place so I most likely won’t go back unless I have a great coupon and am in that part of town again.

Tip: Don’t want to sign up for businesses emails lists because of them flooding your inbox? Create a folder specific for email deals and check it a few times a week to see if there are any coupons you can use!

I went to Bi-Lo shortly after lunch and found  a few good deals:

BOGO Earnest Eats bars two for $1.49

Jelly Belly Green Apple Pudding for $.59. Ok, so it sounds nasty but look at that atomic green color! It was too green not to pass up at only  $.59. It will either be really good or really bad. Not gonna lie when I say I’m a bit skeptical about trying it.

Wai Lana Yogi Chips-$.99. I’ve heard of this chips before but never knew you could find it stores. When I looked online, you can get them for $1.59 plus shipping and handling so I saved some money by buying at the store.

I got a coupon for a free container of Yoplait yogurt in the mail this week. I love coming home from work to find mail waiting for me, especially when it’s not a bill!

Tip: Like your favorite brands on Facebook or follow them on Twitter. Sometimes they offer coupons just for being a fan!

Dinner Thursday night was courtesy of a Groupon deal for Sauceman’s, a restaurant that opened a few months ago in South End.

I called in my order, drove over and within the 10 minute time frame, the food was ready. Now, that, is what I like to see!

I got the white pizza and a side salad and only had to shell out $3 more.

Tip: Check your Groupon/Living Social/Half Off Depot deals to see if it includes both dine in and take out. If it’s take out, order a big dish or item and you can get two or three meals out of it!

What deals did you find this week?
Do you buy Groupon, Living Social, Half Off Depot or other deals on the daily?
I need to stop myself from buying so many!  I keep a folder with me at all times with my deals that I buy so if I’m out and about, I can use them instead of having to stop off at home to print them out.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers