Creative or weird

21 Mar

 I’m going out-of-town this week which means one thing-I’m cleaning out my cupboards and fridge since I don’t want to spend money on any food that may go bad.

Times like these call for some creativity so my meals for the next few days will either be one of two things-creative or weird.

Case and point-breakfast on Sunday.

Yes, those are Annie Chun’s Mini Wontons. Don’t hate, they are quite tasty at 10A.

The other night I made Mexican pizza topped with refried black beans, cheese, salsa and Wholly Guacamole

My two favorite foods combined? Nothing wrong with that.

Dinner on Sunday was something different. I really had no specific plan in mind but have a  surplus of tuna fish in the cupboard so I took one can of tuna, shredded cheese, two mayo packets and black pepper and mixed together.

That still seemed kind of bland so I turned to my man Chef Paul for assistance.

I completely forgot about this seasoning but wanted to try something different. I won’t lie, I thought it was Dom Delouise at first since I haven’t seen Chef Paul in ages.

The tuna fish mix still looked quite mushy and wanted to add some crunch to it but unfortunately had no onion or celery on hand. I remembered a lone carrot in the fridge so I chopped half a carrot up and added to the mix.

I took a few sheets of defrosted phyllo dough, spread the mixture in the middle then formed a pocket. I sprayed with vegetable oil cooking spray and sprinkled with garlic so it wouldn’t be too garlic but would have some more flavor.

I let those cook at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and had broccoli boiling as well.

And there you have it-a quick and different kind of meal.

On an unrelated note, this guy and commercial is really growing on me

Now I want some Arby’s, sigh. I don’t even know when the last time I had Arby’s was!

I also wanted to address some random searches that brought people to my blog in the past 30 days:

“how to shaka in a text message”–I don’t know how too, I’m sorry I failed you.

“chobani complaints”-No complaints here, Team CHO all the way!

“x-rated liquor, pomegranate schnapps, mango vodka, sour mix, pfx” –I have no clue what this is but I want it, like, now.

“shaka malta food”–I don’t know what this but I am curious…..

“leonardo dicaprio good in bed”–Um, I WISH I could help you wish this. I think he would be a tiger in the sack though. Rawr.

“shaka pace – ricky martin”—Must download!

“what is the name of the tuna the wonderfish commercial girl”

Her name is Elizabeth Bond, I finally looked it up since I got a lot of people who came to my blog hoping to find out who she was

(source)

Oh yeah, happy spring by the way!!

What’s a creative or weird meal you make with staple items in your kitchen?

41 Responses to “Creative or weird”

  1. TheSceneFromMe March 21, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    I am leaving on vacation tomorrow also and cleaning out my fridge! Gotta make something with sweet potatoes, green onions and broccoli slaw today…hmm?!

  2. Mindy@FindingSilverLinings March 21, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    LOL! Those searches are great! Food experiments out of necessity are what drives my kitchen!

  3. Monique March 21, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Dude, when i have a can of tuna, I add sofrito, tomato sauce and olives and it makes like a tuna hash/ spanish stew- its awesome on white rice!
    I also make breakfast quesadillas!
    or pb and banana paninis. :-)

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      OMG I need some pb banana paninis in my life!

  4. genesis March 21, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    lol. love all the ways people get to your blog.

  5. OliePants March 21, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    LOL I love reading my random searches too and there are some buggy ones! I have to say my pantry (now) staple is canned sardines. I love the flavor and I can do so much like sardina pasta or a sardine avocado sandwich. YUMMM!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I’ve never cooked with sardines before but now you have me intrigued!

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness March 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    I don’t remember the last time I had Arby’s either. If they stayed open a little later, you KNOW I’d be hitting up those curly fries on Friday/Saturday nights…

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Omg their curly fries. I forgot about them and their jamocha shake yummmm.

  7. Krista @ Journey to a Healthy Berg March 21, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I actually don’t really make that many weird things the kitchen, I’m not creative enough in that department! Your creations always look good though!

  8. Katie H March 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I would totally eat all of the dishes aside from the tuna one. I hate hate hate tuna fish (but I love ahi tuna!). I like how creative you were with it though!

    I love reading the random searches that lead people to blogs. Hilarious!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      I hated tuna for a few yrs after doing the low carb thing so I understand where you’re coming from. I could eat ahi tuna every day if possible!

  9. Alyssa March 21, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I love the look of that mexican pizza. YUM!!

    I’d say my big mexican bowl is the biggest pantry-item user upper I make. Mexican food words great for that stuff! ;)

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      You inspired me to make that tonight :)

  10. Lisa @ I'm an Okie March 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I truly think guac is good on anything!

  11. Jen@jensdaily March 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Love the pizza/mexican idea! It’s now on my list of things I need to eat ;)

  12. Katherine: Unemployed March 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I love mixing spices into my hummus… it can go weird I guess. I vote yours as genius

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      That’s a great idea, I’ll have to give that a try.

  13. Kace March 21, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I worked down the street from an Arby’s once. It was a great summer.

  14. Natalie @ will jog for food March 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Awesome new way to use tuna! And I love phyllo dough…I used to make a very cheesy version of Spanakopita, I need to start on those again!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Mmmm spanakopita…its been too long since I’ve made that!

  15. Amanda March 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Sometimes I regret my decision to give up fast food in 2011. I want Arby’s it’s been awhile!

    • simplyshaka March 21, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      I’m envious of your strength, I would’ve given in by now!

  16. leashieloo March 21, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    Mexican pizza for the win! It’s been foreverrr since I’ve had it, I’m about to bite your style and whip one up soon. I have some refried beans hollering my name.

  17. thefitacademic March 21, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    mmmm- isn’t Wholly Guacamole the best?! Love it!

  18. Alex March 22, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    Hey Tiff,
    Those tuna melts look not too shabby!

    Question-the little lady and I have been wondering what the story is behind your blog name?

    • simplyshaka March 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

      Thanks man! as for the name, well, it’s kinda complicated but basically Shaka was my nickname in college but I got in HS and it carried over since there were so many Tiffany’s in our sorority to differentiate between all of us. How I got the nickname Shaka, no one knows (except me of course) it’s one of the only thing I keep mysterious about me and it doesn’t have anything to do with the shocker or Chaka Khan….

  19. Erin March 22, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Mexican pizza is what dreams are made of!

  20. dianacheung March 22, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    in addition to frugal friday I love this post..maybe a once a month post on “what I combine to clean the fridge/pantry”…..everything ended up looking simple, fast, and good!! BTW I secretly still love arby’s market fresh sandwiches…just don’t look at the nutritional info…EEEEKKKK…weirdest meal I made…um..nothing? i’m too simple!!!

  21. Ellie March 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I can’t get enough of tuna!! mmmm they look good girl! I love to make quick mexican with brown rice wraps, or even quick italian with marinara and hummus! haha it actually tastes good :)

  22. Elin @andserenitytoo March 22, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Creative, definitely creative! It sounds really good :)
    I have also for a long time now been meaning to ask you how to shaka in a text message..? ;)

  23. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl March 22, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    I’d say this is definitely creative! Love all the combos here….I’m not very creative sometimes and get very frustrated when trying to clean out our pantry!

  24. This Italian Family March 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    This totally gets the “creative” stamp from me!

  25. nic - the auspicious squirrel March 23, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    I’ve only just recently found out what shaka means… heh… but as for the texting the sign… I found this:http://www.sharpened.net/emoticons/smiley/shaka

    00/
    :)

    • nic - the auspicious squirrel March 23, 2011 at 3:15 am #

      aw… it didn’t render correctly… :|

      backslash zero zero zero forward-slash

      “00/”

      • nic - the auspicious squirrel March 23, 2011 at 3:16 am #

        crap… still didn’t render… sorry :|

      • nic - the auspicious squirrel March 23, 2011 at 3:30 am #

        sorry to totally clog up your comment section, but I think I’ve got it…

        it seems that that the backslash is forcing an omit of the next character… so to get: backslash zero zero zero forward-slash to render properly… you actually have to do backslash backslash zero zero zero zero forward-slash… i doubt you would have to do that on a cell phone though…

        \000/

      • simplyshaka March 24, 2011 at 7:05 am #

        Hahah, no worries about the comments, it made me smile. I kept getting emails saying you commented and thought it was a WordPress error or something :) Thanks for the research this is interesting and I am going to play around on my phone with this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Road trip essentials « Simply Shaka - March 22, 2011

    [...] with listing my road trip essentials just wanted to say thanks for everyone’s input on my Creative or Weird post. It’s interesting to see what people make and use (or don’t use out of their [...]

  2. Veggiversary: Mexican Fiesta Rice Bowl | Big City, Baby Carrots - March 24, 2011

    [...] dinner, I was inspired by a throw-together meal I saw on this blog: a rice bowl. I used to make rice bowls all the time, but haven’t made one in a while. I love [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

