This is a very boring post.

21 Jan

Ok, so I am bored. Like really bored. I feel like there’s nothing to do tonight and I had today off so I finished everything that needed to be done. I need some excitement. I need some variety. I need something.

Thursday night dinner was a complete fail. I saw oven roasted vegetables on Snacking Squirrel and it looked amazing! So I tried my best to make a meal like that but yeah, fail.

I started with mixing chile pepper honey marinade with tofu and let it sit.

Then I chopped up baby spinach, kale, onions and mixed in with the tofu. When I chopped up everything and mixed it together, I kept imagining how tasty it was going to be along with healthy.

Baked at 350 for 15 minutes.

 In theory it was good but I didn’t have any squash or something heavier in there to make it a full meal. So I sat around wondering what to do. I could make something easy like pizza, nachos or pasta but I wanted something different. I called some friends and no one was available to dine with me, boo. I was flipping through my coupons and such and saw this:

Hmmm, Ruby Tuesdays? I worked there in college but really haven’t been since. I’m not a huge fan of chain places but why pass up on a free burger? I went and opted to sit at the bar so I could at least distract myself with beer and spots.  I was the only chick at the bar and felt like the only one not there on business since there are three or four hotels within a 1/2 mile radius. Oh well, I would enjoy being a younger woman all by her lonesome…..with the help of some Yuengling and biscuits.


I got the Alpine Swiss Burger which came out in no time along with their endless fries. The fries were crispy, fried, salty goodness. My only complaint is now they are a tad more chic, the ketchup is served in ramekins and not a bottle in sight. I put ketchup on everything so I like to have a bottle within reaching distance. I definitely didn’t need endless fries and didn’t take them up on the offer. And the burger? Succulent with just enough toppings to make it fun yet not fall apart. I think the menu said it was 8 oz and it was a lot better than I expected.

I could only finish half and was happy to take the other half to go. I think I’ll enjoy it on a salad this wknd! The rest of the night was hanging with little man.

It was technically my Friday since I had Friday off from work so guess what we did? Yep, watched even more Gilmore Girls.

Instead of just lounging around the rest of the afternoon, I got off my butt and went to the YMCA. I did 35 minutes on the elliptical then did an upper body circuit including

*Rows -40 lbs (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Lateral Pull Downs-50 lbs (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Seated Shoulder Press -20 lbs (13 reps, 3 sets)

*Concentration Curls-20 lbs (13 reps, 2 sets)

*Curls-20 lbs (13 reps, 2 sets)

*Seated Fly-20 lbs (13 reps, 2 sets)

Then the after came and went. I really don’t know what I did after that since I was so bored and probably just sat around. Seriously, I am really bored over here and am not being melodramatic. For dinner, I made nachos with black beans, onions, jalapenos, avocado and cheese.

Personalized license plates-love em/hate em/don’t care?

Anyone who knows me well knows the answer-HATE EM!!!

If you have a personalized license plate–what’s the store behind it?

16 Responses to “This is a very boring post.”

  1. TheSceneFromMe January 21, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Oh girl, that plate of nachos looks so delicious! Red onion, avacado, beans and cheese, love it all!

    Personally, I wouldn’t have a personalized license plate. But some of them are funny and some of them I just can’t figure out the shorthand!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 6:56 am #

      That’s the worst when you can’t figure them out–that frustrates me and I start texting all of my friends to figure out if they know what it means!

  2. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat) January 21, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I am incredibly bored tonight too. I am just being whiny on facebook about how bored I am! LOL!

    That burger looks really good and now I want to eat a burger really bad. And biscuits! And Yuengling which isn’t sold in our neck of the woods. Which sucks! Andy is a big fan.

    • Will Sawyer January 21, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

      I loved this blog!!! You went from roasting vegetables to Ruby Tuesday…….not just a burger but a cheesey drippy burger…..Tomorrow is my Pig Out Day and as the self proclaimed Fat Yogi….I see a drippy cheesy burger for lunch!!! In fact I am at the Mall of America for a Yoga Champtionship tomorrow. PERFECT!!!!

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      I was so bummed when I moved to AZ and found out they didnt have Yuengling. I went to college about 15 minutes from the PA border so it was easy to buy and drink. So when I moved back to NC, I was stoked to see they had it here.

  3. squigglefloey January 22, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Aww sorry you’re having such a boring day! It looks like you definitely made the best of it. Hey, if you’re too bored, come to Cali and help me with my journalism projects, yes? ;)

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      I would be happy too if possible, I do have a journalism degree :)

  4. Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg January 22, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    I definitely have boring days like that. Hey, at least you got a good burger and some GG on your “Friday” night, right?

    Lol, there are SO many cars with personalized license plates in our town– I have NO idea why. Seriously, like every third car has one. Ridiculous.

  5. dianacheung January 22, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    my license plate would say “FOODSLUT”

    dude if i lived near you i would have gone with you to get some grub!! damn burger looks tasty!! did you officially join the y?

    • simplyshaka January 22, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Oooohhh could mine be GRUBSLUT?? ha

      I know you would and I love that. Everyone here has a boyfriend or hubs so they dont have time for me, it’s kinda sad.

      And yep, officially joined. I “moved” into my friends house, she and her “roommates” have a Y household membership so it’s a lot cheaper which brings my cost to just $26/month.

  6. divasrun January 22, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    I never had a personalized license plate. Some are funny but some are just like who cares?
    The nachos look divine! I am now in the mood for avocado!

  7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun January 22, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Doesn’t look too dull to me. I’m actually thrilled to get out of the house for grocery shopping. I’ve been busy doing mom things, but I miss being busy with other things too in life.

  8. This Italian Family January 22, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Oooh that burger and those biscuits look sooo yummy!

    I used to think it’d be cool to have our cars have our last names on them (ex: Smith1 and Smith2 or MrSmith and MrsSmith), but we live in a city with some pretty serious crime (and we have a very Italian name) so in general it’s best to not draw any extra attention to ourselves or vehicles. I love seeing personalized plates because they tend to make me laugh, but I do get super frustrated if I can’t figure them out. If we move to Mayberry someday then we might get personalized plates, but I really have no idea what they’d say, haha!

  9. thefitacademic January 22, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    OMG, that chili-infused honey marinade sounds DIVINE! Just up my alley! Where did you find such a thing – I’ve never even heard of that before!

  10. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl January 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I’m okay with nights like that! Those nachos look AWESOME!! And so does the marinade you used! I’ve never seen that before!

  11. bigcitybabycarrots January 23, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Loving the dog pics. And those nachos look oh so good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

