Unheard Of!

20 Dec

Wow, what a Monday! Ok, so not really but I just wanted to say that for once because you never really hear someone say that. The only exciting thing that happened today was that it went by super fast which is usually unheard of on a Monday. I also started my day with no Starbucks which is also unheard of. I must have a Starbucks fix each day and if not, must drink two regular coffees to get the buzz that I get from one of theirs. Some say that their coffee tastes burnt but I absolutely love it. Some also say that I have an addiction but I like to think of it as stimulating the coffee economy.

I tried a new flavor of Kashi Crunchy Bar for breakfast today–Cinnamon Coffee Cake.

I found it on sale at Harris Teeter a couple of weeks ago for $.89–unheard of! These go on sale every now and then but I’ve never seen them for less than a buck. I was a little apprehensive about trying this flavor because I like cinnamon, coffee and cake but never had the trio all together. It could either be really good or really bad right? The verdict was that it was absolutely delicious! I loved the sweet glaze on top and it wasn’t hard or crunchy like other bars often are. The only thing that disheartened me is since it was on clearance, it may be discontinued soon. I need to investigate this because if it is going to be discontinued-I need to stock up! I do this now anytime I learn of something I love about to be discontinued, ever since Ulta took away my favorite lip stick shade. That was three years ago and I still haven’t found a shade like it.

I had a coupon for a free Like It size creation at Cold Stone Creamery so I walked over there after lunch with a co-worker and got a Sinless Sweet Cream Sans Fat with raspberries–unheard of for me since I can’t pass up their mint chocolate creation they have their.

Dinner was a random one. I was craving red meat and my thoughts automatically went to my stand by of stir fry but I was being lazy and didn’t feel like cooking brown rice. Yet I continued to cook up some peas, onion and mushrooms along with soy sauce, red pepper flakes and black pepper with no idea where I was going with it. Then I threw in some sliced sandwich beef and still had no clue what to do with it.

So I thought what to do with it and thought and thought and thought. And nothing. Since I had no clue what dinner would actually turn out to be, I heated up some tomato soup and sprinkled grated parmesan in it when done.

Delicious yet but you don’t get more random than tomato soup with a side of veggies and beef or veggies and beef with a side of tomato soup. It was tasty which is unheard of since the two would never be paired up together in my mind before tonight. Tasty but I wanted something a little more filling and wish I would have gone a different route for dinner-something hot, hearty and filling. And this my friends, is why you plan out your meals. I need to start planning out meals again but I didn’t buy alot of produce this week since I’m going out-of-town on Friday for a long weekend. Not having any fresh produce in my house is unheard of and frozen and/or canned veggies just don’t cut it in my book compared to it’s fresh counterparts. Oh well, there’s always next week.

I went for an invigorating 45 minute walk after dinner. I absolutely love working out when it is cold out and it’s like my own little outdoor gym since no one else seems to be out there. Unfortunately, I looked like Randy from A Christmas Story since I had a tank, two long sleeve tops, a sweatshirt and a coat on.

Too bad I can’t watch that movie anymore. I loved it as a kid but TBS showing it 24 hours straight absolutely ruined it for me. I also need to make a note to wear long socks when I go out for another walk because half way through my walk, I could barely feel my ankles.

When I got home, I did a mini kettlebell session working mostly on my legs

Kettlebell 20 lbs

Kettlebell (20 lbs)

Plie Squats (13 reps, 4 sets)

Squats (13 reps, 4 sets)

One Legged Deadlifts (13 reps, 3 sets)

Side Bends (20 reps, 3 sets)

Cardio and weights in one night? Unheard of!

I also had to say goodbye to a good friend tonight, Mr. Wal-Mart Pepper. A house with no pepper is a HUGE unheard of in my book.

Dear friend-you’ve been with me for a year, we’ve made alot of tasty dishes, lived in two homes and I finally went through you. You were exactly what you claimed to be-a great value.

Besos,

Tiffany

Is anyone going to BlogHer Food ’11?? It’s in the ATL in May and that’s within driving distance so I am definitely looking into it. I’ve never been to a bloggie conference before and one that I can drive to is….yes, you guessed it…..unheard of!  I totally want to roll into the ATL blaring “Welcome To Atlanta”. If anyone out there is, let me know, we can be roomies :)

Less than 4 hours to go in my Chobani giveaway so get your last entries in!

15 Responses to “Unheard Of!”

  1. Diana@mymarblerye December 20, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I’m like always the first to comment cause I stalk you…anyways they sell those bars at target so you’re in luck. If it wasn’t for getting married or what not I’d totally go with you to blogher! Anyways work sucked a big one for me to day as well…a good day at work?! Unheard of!

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      Ohhh I have a stalker now, that means I’m big time yes?!

  2. Rachael December 20, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Completely random dinners are the best – we rarely shop for actual recipe ingredients at my house, so most meals are motley combinations of whatever is around.
    A blogging conference in Atlanta sounds possible – I would have loved to attend the foodbuzz festival in SF, but alas, the whole flying cross country thing was an obstacle. But Atlanta is within spitting distance…

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      I love that you described the meals as motley, you don’t hear that word enough.

      And Atlanta is even closer for you, you should definitely check it out!

  3. MelissaNibbles December 21, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Yes! TBS ruined that movie for me too. Dumb TBS. Plus, I hat them for cancelling MY Boys.

    I love Starbucks! I don’t know how anyone can hate it. I drive a mile out of my way to go to this Target that has Starbucks in it. Two things that go together right there!

    Thank you so much for your kind words on my blog. It means a lot to me that you took time to wish me well. Thank you!

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Don’t even get me started on them canceling My Boys. I adored that show! And you do have devotion to the Bucks, I dig. Fortunately, we have one in our building at work then one across the street plus one three blocks away from my house so I’m surrounded 24/7, I loves it!!

      And so happy to see you back, even if you were just going to be away for a little :)

  4. OliePants December 21, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    I do have to say the random dinners are the best. It’s usually made based on all of your cravings anyway! :)

    As for the coupons and sales – I’m all over it. I love stocking up on my favorites too – and I always pick a few new ones that I make myself pick up just to try.

    P.S. Coldstone rocks!

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

      Exactly unfortunately most of my cravings are mostly for something cheesy or meaty. Oh well, we can’t win em all right?

  5. Amy @ Second City Randomness December 21, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Thank goodness you didn’t fall down like Randy in that movie. I think that’s my favorite part. “I can’t get up! I can’t get up!”

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      Hahaha, that would have sucked hard. Seeing how clumsy I am, I am really surprised it didn’t happen.

  6. Monique December 21, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    DIva, i cannot cook without a plan. If i dont have a plan i usually run out to get chinese – no bueno.
    i just had my morning cup of starbucks. YUMMM!

  7. Jen December 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    ” I can’t put my arms down!” I refuse to watch it for the full 24 hours, but the hubster and I watch it at least once on Christmas Eve while we set up Santa gifts.

    Jen

  8. Kace December 21, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    A free cold stone coupon is a dangerous thing. More power to ya; I’d have gone big—cookie doughn’t you know, with cake batter ice cream, and a brownie thrown in.

    • simplyshaka December 21, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      That was what my heart wanted—something fatty and delicious but I am trying to be good :)

  9. christina December 22, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    i flip my shit when i run out of pepper too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

