Mama Say Have You Seen My Moccasin?

1 Dec

Hellllloooooooo December! My most favorite month of the year is here and I am totally stoked. Maybe because it’s my birthday month and Christmas is right around the corner. Maybe because now I will start hearing “Feliz Navidad” and “Last Christmas, I Gave You My Heart”, no matter what it is, I love it……even if I do only have 12 more days of being a 30 year old.

Today was a better day. I finally finished all of my initial calls for my first set of customers I’ve been assigned to and it went well. Basically, I just introduced myself and told them what the situation was and what we can do further to assist. All seemed pretty receptive and some even called me back. Washington state people seem to be the only people out there who will return my calls so Washington is currently one of my favorite states. There is a long road ahead of me on these accounts but some reason the initial call is the one that scares me the most. I couldn’t sleep last night because I was so nervous about today. I woke up in a bad mood and I forgot to prep my coffee last night just to add to that. And then my hair wasn’t looking good. I hate when I get my hair done then I wash it and it never looks the same as when my stylist did it. Sigh. Hopefully I’m not complaining like a spoiled white girl.

Let’s backtrack though. Last night, I went to Vivace, a new Italian restaurant near uptown Charlotte. I really wasn’t in a hey-lets-be-social mood plus it was a dreary, wet evening but I needed to get out of the house. Hope of good food will get me out of the house 95% of the time.

While waiting for our table, I got a glass of the red sangria.

This was tarter than I expected  but I loved it. I am a sangria fan but not when it is overly sweet and this has a perfect balance of sweet and tart. That one went down pretty quick so I enjoyed another glass during dinner.

They first brought us out bread to nibble on while we were waiting for our food. Instead of olive oil or butter, they brought out a cannellini bean dip that reminded me of a lighter, thinner hummus. It didn’t have alot of pop to it though, it could have used some garlic, pepper or something! The menu has a decent sized selection where you can scan then have one thing catch your eye but then you keep looking and find another scrumptious sounding dish. I absolutely love that they offer smaller portions on their pasta dishes (pasta is made in house) since there is no such thing as portion control in many restaurants these days. I ordered the small portion of Short Braised Ribs with fettuccine, apples, swiss chard and a few other goodies that I can’t remember.

When they brought it out, I kinda pointed out they brought me out the wrong dish and our server told me that was the dish I ordered (I blame it on the sangria). The apples resembled mini scallops at first and there wasn’t much braised rib to be seen. Am I crazy or am I right? It was tasty but just not what I was expecting and would’ve liked more meat (that’s what she said). All in all, it was a good experience and I would like to check it out again but when I am in the mood for modern Italian food as opposed to traditional Italian food.

So like I mentioned earlier, today wasn’t a bad day. I knocked some calls out-of-the-way earlier in the day but didn’t have too much to do before lunch. Most of my customers are on the west coast so I like to wait until after lunch to make those calls instead of trying them at 6A their time. But then again, if I start calling that early, maybe that will get their attention and not dodge my calls? Hmmmmm…

I went to lunch with one of my former co-workers as a late birthday celebration. I had a BOGO coupon for Molly MacPherson’s Uptown which is also a newer establishment. I normally don’t like to go to a Scottish or Irish bar if I can’t drink but heard great things about this place so was curious as to if it would live up to the hype or not.

I got the Molly’s Favorite—grilled turkey, cheddar cheese, green apples and maple butter with a side of their potato chips (which are oddly enough wedges)

The sandwich was good, I think. It was different. The cheddar, green apple and maple butter was the trio that sold me on getting the sandwich but the flavor didn’t jive as well as I thought it would. I think it would be good without the maple butter since I found it to be too savory for my taste. However, the potato chips? I could have had a plate of those and been happy. They had an amazing seasoning on them (which I am now on a mission to find out what it is!) and very fresh. A good experience but think I will check it out to drink next time.

I haven’t been to the grocery store to pick up anything new for meals to make in bulk and really had no clue what I was going to make. My trusted container of refried black beans was still sitting in the fridge so I opted for an easy meal of Mexican Pizza topped with the refried black beans, jalapenos, onion and shredded cheese.

Fantabulicious but I really need to start eating something other than Mexican soon.

I took some walks today when I had some time to spare and did a lower body workout with:

 Kettlebell (20 lbs)

Swings (13 reps, 4 sets)

Squats (13 reps, 4 sets)

One Legged Deadlifts (13 reps, 2 sets)

Side Bends (20 reps, 2 sets)

Dead Lifts (20 reps, 2 sets)

Body Weight

Donkey Kicks (13 reps, 2 sets)

Leg Lifts (13 reps, 2 sets)

In the middle of the set Michael Jackson’s “Wanna Be Starting Something” came on and I broke out some dance party moves. I had my blinds drawn but desperately hope that my neighbors or passer by’s couldn’t see me bopping all around my living room. When I worked for my company in Phoenix, we would always sing “Momma Say Have You Seen My Moccasin?” in place of the “Ma Ma Sa, Ma Ma Coo Sa”  and that always brings a smile to my face. We would dance up and down the aisles with a tambourine and live it up. Why we had a tambourine? No clue but it was damn fun. Anyways, I always knew it wasn’t Momma say have you seen my moccasin but I finally had to google it to see what exactly what they were saying, if anything. Good to know!

Also, any other Wednesday night ABC lovers out there? I am trying to like this Better With You show but just can’t get into it. The canned laughter is killing me.

Happy hump day everyone–two more days to go!! And Happy Hanukkah to those who began celebrating today!

Check out Fashion Meets Food for the first day of 12 Days of Giveaways!

22 Responses to “Mama Say Have You Seen My Moccasin?”

  1. Neyal Ammary-Risch December 1, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Totally agree with you about Better With You. Can’t get into it no matter how hard a try. Seems forced.

    LMAO about Mama have you seen my moccasin? Every time I hear “Rollercoaster” by Red Hot Chili Peppers, I always sing “No me gusta” (i don’t like in Spanish)

    Glad work wasn’t too painful for you. I know you dread those calls. Keep up the good work and the yummy eats!

    P.S. You’re getting old like me!! :)

  2. Kace December 1, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Love Modern Fam but was disappointed it was a rerun :(

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

      Me too but I’m always find something new to find amusing.

  3. erica @ fashionmeetsfood December 1, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    that pizza looks heavenly! I havent had pizza in forever… that must change!

    Thanks for posting about my giveaway!

    xo

  4. Diana@mymarblerye December 1, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Omg I can’t believe u didn’t think it was your food! You lush! Anyways are those potatoe chips or wedges?!? Wedges make my heart and tummy hurt from too much deliciousness! Proud of your calls going well!!!

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

      Thanks girl! They were wedges but they called them potato chips which I found very, very strange.

  5. MelissaNibbles December 2, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    Sorry your meals were dissapointing in the flavor department. They sound so good though :(
    ABC comedies suck. Modern Family is good, but I feel like it doesn’t belong on ABC. I wish it was on NBC, I feel like it would fit in with 30 Rock and The Office.

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

      I would absolutely love if Modern Family went to Thurs nights in NBC. That would be a perfect evening.

  6. Amy @ Second City Randomness December 2, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    I watch Better With You often because it’s on while I’m making dinner or just because it’s before Modern Family. I think maybe if they got another year, it could get a better chance to improve and get a following (I would say Community is a good argument for this), but not sure if it’ll happen.

    There is no such thing as too much Mexican food. That’s all I’m sayin’. ;)

  7. eatspinlive December 2, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Decemer is favorite month too!! And that Mexican pizza looks delicious :)

  8. Monique December 2, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I act like i dont like december but i kinda love being all bundled up and smelling winter… i HATE snow. just sayin.

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      I loooove the snow! Maybe b.c we only get it like once a year though….

  9. Erin @ A Girl & Her Mutt December 2, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Nothing wrong with Mexican all the time! ;)

  10. genesis December 2, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    i have never seen that show…am i lame or what.

    I as a Washingtonian I say thank you for making us your favorite state;)

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      Trust me, you’re not missing anything. And your welcome, I like your people.

  11. jen December 2, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    My daugher loves Feliz Navidad. A couple years ago (she was 3) she was trying to sing along…her version went like this:

    “The fleas ate my dog, the fleas ate my dog…”

    Every time I hear that song now, that’s how I sing it :)

    Jen

    • simplyshaka December 2, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

      How precious….I’m gonna start singing that!

  12. April December 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Weird…I read the title like the song LOL!

    Your food always look fantabulicious.

  13. Kelly Olexa December 5, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Just can’t tell you how hard I’m laughing at your words to the MJ song. OMG dying. LOL

    • simplyshaka December 5, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

      Hahah it does sound like it doesn’t it? Or am I crazy?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black Bean Bonanza « Simply Shaka - December 30, 2010

    […] I did a short kettlebell workout after that which later turned into a Michael Jackson dance party…..again. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

