Babies, Birthdays and Bars

20 Jul

The past few days have been uneventful. Today is the first day since Friday I have felt normal again and I have been without headache, horrible stomach cramps, etc. Oh yeah and I don’t have a welt on my forehead like I did Sunday night.

Seriously, WTF? It came and went but still, it looks n to the asty.

The food has been pretty boring:

Trader Joe’s Vanilla Greek Yogurt with Frozen Blueberries topped with Cinnamon Toast Crunch

I hate days where I bring my lunch and just don’t want it. That was yesterday, I was in MAJOR burger craving mode and this baby hit the spot.

Healthy dinner of tart fro-yo with strawberries, blackberries, kiwi and gummy bears. At least I got my Vitamin C in

Lunch-shrimp stir fry with noodles. I maybe had four bites and tossed it, I just wasn’t hungry.

Hersheys now Cookies N Cream kisses?? When did this happen?

6 inch meatball sub and side salad from Harris Teeter. The salad was very disappointing, when I got there the salad bar was practically empty with toppings. Sad face.

As always, my little friend was right there

Harris Teeter had three shopping carts full of discount bars when I walked in. I went solely for the sub, salad and bananas but had to stock up since they were so cheap

Larabar-$.75 Each

Clif Mojo-$.72 Each

Odwalla Bar $.66 Each

Kashi Go Lean Crunch!-$.89 Each

Kind Bar-$.99 Each

Fabulous deal (I may need to walk back and get some more!)

Today is my niece/god daughters 1st birthday, I am going to Indianapolis this wknd to celebrate!

Some say she even looks a little like me when I was a youngin

And it’s Mari‘s birthday—welcome to 30!! It’s fabulous, I promise

Also celebrating:

It is also Billy’s birthday, I had a crush on him. I love a man with enthusiasm….RIP Billy Mays.

Speaking of celebrities-has anyone seen Memphis Beat? Jason Lee as a southern detective with greased back hair? Bring it.

Hopefully more interesting stuff soon. When I am not feeling well, I become a baby. Like I start crying b/c I feel so crappy and people would ask me at work how I was (because I am a trooper and still go into work) and would start tearing up. I think it’s because not only do I feel crappy but I live alone so I don’t have someone to take care of me, take Lincoln out, etc.

Speaking of crying, I am really over these iPhone 4G (whatever the phone is called) commercials, the one with the new dad showing his dad his new granddaughter gets me every time. Damn you, Steve Jobs.

Til the next time…..

 PS—Go to Spabettie’s for a pretty SWEET giveaway!!

23 Responses to “Babies, Birthdays and Bars”

  1. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 20, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    i think i need to satisfy my burger craving that this post just gave me!! ohh yes, sure to hit the spot with that magically cheesy burger!

    wow its like a ring on ur forehead! is it painful? eeek sorry :(

    happy 30th birthday to Mari!!! 30 is when life is supposed to get REAAAALLLYY fun!!! hehe

    xoxo <3

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      I felt so goooooood after I had the burger—and all warm and fuzzy on the inside :)

      I can attest to 30 is when things get fun, I’m loving it so far!

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness July 21, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    I can’t find Larabar for under a $1! On reason why I haven’t tried them yet… nice work on hitting up the sale!

    And cinnamon toast crunch is a fav cereal of mine from when I was younger. There’s currently a box in my pantry for when I’m feeling nostalgic…

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      Tell me about it, I always see them for $1.99 or more and I’m sorry…..they are good but my job doesnt pay me that much!

  3. dianacheung July 21, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    stop being downer! I still love your “boring” posts!! BTW can we go shopping if I go to charlotte. YOu get THE BEST deals…look at those glorious bars!! And stop showing me cinnamon toast crunch! it’s my kryptonite!

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      LOL Sorry, I was being emo again!

      I will show you all the cheap spots when you are here!

  4. Jessie July 21, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Did you go to the HT by your place? If so, I may have to try to grab a few bars for myself.

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      Yep, I need to make second trip over there (crossing my fingers they still have them)

  5. Autumn @ Good Eats Girl July 21, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Awesome sale on the bars….I love it when I find sales like that…I totally stock up!!

    Your niece is a DOLL! Too cute!

    Your posts are always interesting! Don’t worry! Feel better!!

  6. thehungryscholar July 21, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I’m from Indy, holler!

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

      I am so hitting up Patachou when I am there!

  7. teneightsixfour July 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    HAHA! “im in love with a man with enthusiasm.” classic quote!!!

    Your niece is SO freaking cute!! That smile could melt a heart! :)

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      I know right? She makes me want kids…..for about five minutes and I come to my senses lol. I just loooooove pinching her fat :)

  8. Vilese July 21, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Lincoln takes the best photos! He is so cute and comical. Dang you caught a great sale on those bars. Thanks for posting, I passed the info on to my bf about the sale there. She loves those bars.

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      Haha thanks, I usually have to take about 15 pictures of him to get a good one. He is like the canine version of Chandler from Friends.

      Hope your friend finds the bars for cheap!

  9. Mo Diva July 21, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    lincoln has a very lustful look in his eyes at that meatbal sub.
    im a little sad today. my cousin put the family dog down. he was 10 years old and battling a horrible infection for months. so sad. :-( RIP Fozzy.
    im looking forward to 30.
    Dude you were a baby diva with the same pose! love it!
    whaddya know, i had a burger today for lunchies too it was lurvely

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      Oh no, that is so sad :( I hope they are doing ok. I don’t even ant to think of that day.

      30 is fabulous, you will have a ball. I love that I say that like you are turning soon…..enjoy the rest of your 20s girl!

  10. coffeeismycarrot July 21, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    I’m so sorry you feel bad! Hope it gets better soon!

    I remember living alone and getting really sick one time complete with vomiting most of the day. All I wanted was a sprite and I couldn’t bear the thought of driving to the store or standing in line with the drink. I cried becuase there was nobody to go get it for me.

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

      Well that makes me feel better to know I’m not the only one like that. Some people don’t understand why I get so emotional about it but it is just frustrating!!

  11. christina July 21, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    those kisses have been around for a while my friend! :) :) so glad you found them! when does lincoln need a babysitter? in south carolina…hahah

    • simplyshaka July 21, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      Ahhhh, well thats good I didn’t know about them. We have a community candy bowl at work and I usually pick up a butterscotch suckie and the kisses are sparse.

      If we are ever in your neck of the woods, you can totally dogsit him. I will even allow you to put lime green streaks in his hair :)

  12. livelaughloveandrun July 23, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Love the pics today!! Your dog is so cute!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Apologies: July Edition « Simply Shaka - July 25, 2011

    [...] have a red welp on my are what kind of bite is it-I had one last summer and it was nasty. I’m still not sure what happened or if I reacted negatively to something I ate or put on my face [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

