On The Road Again

8 Apr

Hi all—what a day! I’ve been up since 515A but still going strong. I packed up the car (and Lincoln) and we were on our way! I had to get a MAJOR caffeine fix for the seven hour drive and luckily, there is a Starbucks two minutes away from where I live. I had a couple for a free drink so I got a Venti Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte with an extra shot of espresso and an egg white and turkey bacon english muffin sandwich.

 

Lincoln was intrigued by the sandwich and had reason to be, it was fantastic!

I jammed to Donna Summer and The Killers until I reached my coveted destination of Sheetz

For those who don’t know what Sheetz is, it’s the best gas station ever!! They have computers inside where you can select what you want—bagel sandwiches, biscuits, subs, wraps, nachos and more! Plus they have a coffee bar and you can order your drink on those computer as well. Unfortunately, I was still full from my Starbucks meal but stopped to use their restroom, take Lincoln out and revel  in the greatness of Sheetz.

Happy to be on the road!

I snacked on a Mojo Peanut Butter Pretzel bar on the way

Lincoln living the ruff life :)

A vision of Richmond for you

I found another Sheetz and ordered a large skim iced latte with sugar-free cinnamon and vanilla–it was almost Starbucks league :)

After some road work and bumper to bumper traffic, we finally made it to my friend’s house in Maryland!

The doggies got to meet and hang out

Meet Riley!

He’s a tad bigger than Lincoln

Lincoln likes to think that people are jungle gyms

We hung this afternoon since both of us were exhausting and then headed out to dinner. We  hit up The Vegetable Garden-a fabulous vegetarian, vegan and organic restaurant in Rockville, MD.

They had a combo meal that included soup and two mini entrees:

I got Hot and Sour Soup

Moo Shi Vegetables

General Tso’s Chicken

OMG—All of it was fantastic!  The faux chicken tasted like chicken so I am not sure how they make it taste so good. If you live near Rockville, try this place out, you will NOT be disappointed.

After that, we rolled over to water zumba. I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was like regular zumba just not as high impact. The instructor wasn’t in the water so it was easy to see what movements she was doing (because I wasn’t sure if we would be able to see what she was doing) . It involved a lot of arm movement,hip shaking and swishing around. I kept laughing because the instructor told us to shake everything and I couldn’t shake anymore–I felt like Tickle Me Elmo shaking everything I got! It started to rain and was lighting out so we didn’t get to finish the class but got a good 50 minutes of workout time in.

Now, we are just hanging and watching Clueless-love this movie! I cannot wait to sleep in tomorrow :)

10 Responses to “On The Road Again”

  1. Emily April 8, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    I discovered Sheetz in PA visiting some relatives 2weeks ago and now I’m pretty much obsessed with getting back!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 8, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Gotta love those long road trips! :) Love those good eats you had…

  3. Karla April 9, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Glad to hear you made it safely! My favorite part of a road trip alone is being able to sing out loud!
    Lincoln is just so cute!

  4. Kelly April 9, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Oh I hate road trips…kudos to you!!!

  5. kace @ no guts no glory April 9, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    OMG SHEETZ!!!! I started college in south central PA (shippensburg) and my apt. was actually just down the street from one. It was bad, but oh so good. Nothing like Sheetz at 2 am on a Saturday night! Cheese fries = amazing drunk food. When I transferred to Temple there was a huge void in my life for lack of Sheetz that even WaWa couldn’t fill. I also lost a lot of weight…

  6. Mari April 9, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Sounds like you are having a great time! Lincoln is the cutest…

    (NOW I want chinese food lol)

  7. teneightsixfour April 12, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe you mentioned Rockville, MD. I am sitting in Rockville right now hating my life & my job! But I think I might def try out that vegan place…yummy!! I’m so sad we missed each other this weekend, but if you manage to make it down to Maryland/DC/VA again soon please please let me know! I’m so glad we’ve become email buddies now too! :)

  8. Lara (Thinspired) April 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Sheetz sounds like a road-trippers dream! Cool place!

    Um, wow, that “chicken” dish really does look real. I am such a sucker for Chinese food, and your photos look gorgeous. Wish I lived closer to that place!

  9. danica April 13, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    The pups look so freakin cute. I love the name of that gas station…hilarious. ummm…the next time I goto DC I need to try that veg rest…it all looks delish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. pedal to the metal « Simply Shaka - July 21, 2011

    […] April 8, 2010 […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

