Meatless Monday

22 Mar

I hate Mondays b/c I never mentally wake up until 1P or 2P. And by that time, I am usually rolling down to Starbucks to get my free refill so it all works out. I have officially become one of those people when they see, they start making my drink. I don’t know if that’s good or bad but I pretty much feel like my coffee is saying this to me

They also had free samples of their new Dark Cherry Mocha. OMG. Amazing flavor. I normally hate cherry and chocolate together but this was rich and decadent. I don’t know how people drink these heavy drinks every day but to me they are an indulgence and more of a treat or dessert. If you haven’t tried it, I definitely suggest it. Tomorrow is Free Pastry Day at Starbucks, click here for the coupon (free with purchase).

Since I was sleepwalking through my morning, I was in a pretty foul mood and just didn’t want to talk to anyone. I may have snarled or growled at a few people also (I never claimed to be a morning person) but I went over to one of my co-workers cubes to wish him a happy birthday and on the way there I had to remind myseld that  I need to choose to be happy. I have to remind myself that it is my choice to attempt to be happy and keep a positive attitude or sulk and be negative. So from that minute forward, I put a smile back on my face and tried to be happy and not sulk anymore. Pretty weird, I was catching up on some blog reading this afternoon and read this on Granola + Pancakes……clicks for positive thoughts!

Part of my bad mood was that I am not feeling too hot today. I didn’t sleep well and my throat is bothering me so I hope I’m not catching whatever bug that is going around. I enjoyed a nice cup of Trader Joe’s Pomegranate White Tea at work

I’ve had this box for awhile but only drink tea when I am not feeling well or when my throat hurts. I really need to change that and incorporate it more into my fluids. I am trying to steer clear of whatever bug is going around but some people at work just seem to be nasty and not like to wash their hands after going to the bathroom and such—YUCK! Personally I love the feeling of washing my hands with hot water….not scalding or lukewarm but just hot water. It feels so good to me. Am I weird? Possibly but weird and healthy 🙂

My appetite wasn’t raging for once and I enjoyed a small cup of greek yogurt with fresh strawberries and granola


Today wasn’t too bad of a day work-wise just lots of catching up from the craziness of last wk. I had to deal with some dramatic traders and now absolutely love when people say “I had to  jump through hoops to get this done, etc.” I would like to actually see that. And not just any kind of hoop, I want hoops on fire.

I almost forgot about the super great green monster I had this morning. I used raspberry Kefir since it was nearing the expiration date and was so thick I almost needed a spoon but sucked it up and used a straw (pun intended). I added some sunny delight, fresh strawberries, soy milk and one scoop of vanilla whey protein.

For lunch, I had the farfalle pasta with spinach and artichokes that I made last night. I absolutely love the combination of garlic, red pepper flakes and olive oil. I don’t even use pasta sauce anymore and this is my go to.

I was reading about Meatless Monday on Eat Clean Life Green today and decided to keep going meatless today since I haven’t had any meat thus far. She had some great meatless recipes and I think I am going to start incorporaing this on Mondays. I made buffalo chicken pizza for dinner with Morningstar “Chik Patties” tossed in Budweiser Wing Sauce with Trader Joe’s Greek Style Feta Dressing as the sauce. I had a little bit of shredded mozzarella left so I killed that. I don’t like too much sauce on my pizza so only used a couple of tablespoons of the dressing.

Of course I can’t have a normal shaped pizza

 This was my first time trying the Feta Dressing and I can’t wait to try it again! It had a smooth, feta flavor but nothing too overpowering. It would be great on a greek salad, on chicken or greek style pizza—-the possibilities are endless!

And I wanted to apologize to everyone for “Who Let The Dogs Out”. It’s been in my head all day…….singing in the shower, singing it to Lincoln, singing it at the bustop, singing it in my cubicle, singing it while making dinner. It’s never been this out of control but whoever did let the dogs out, I officially want them to meet their demise.

if you want a funny video, check this out. These people are horrible and third guy from the left’s dancing skills are mad crazy yo!

9 Responses to “Meatless Monday”

  1. janetha March 22, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    bwahahaha that coffee image is PERFECT for me. i love it! great eats.. feta dressing sounds incred!

  2. Allison (Eat Clean Live Green) March 23, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Your dinner sounds awesome! love that coffee picture, haha

  3. Teri (A Foodie Stays Fit) March 23, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    hahahaha! That coffee picture is so funny.

    I agree that so many of Starbucks drinks are more like a treat or dessert, even if it is the lowfat variety. The dark cherry mocha is amazing! Have you tried it in the frapp variety? so good!

  4. Karla March 23, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Haha love that first picture! Definitely how I feel about it.

    I vote yes on meatless monday!!

  5. Kelly March 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Dang girl…that pizza looks amazing! I have gotta try that! 🙂

  6. efsuffolks March 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    OMG I was totally totally tempted to get the free pastry but refrained!!

    I am coffee’s bitch. Black coffee is the bees knees for me but I also love a good coffee drink once in a blue moon….

    mmm that also sounds good
    blue moon

  7. Simply Life March 23, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    yum! all your food looks great!

  8. kat March 23, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    hey thanks for the shout out- it made my day!! That pasta looks delish btw…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Shout Out Post « My Marble Rye - October 27, 2010

    […] Been craving Chik-fil-A like CRAZY but decided to try these Morningstar Farms Chik Patties ala Tiffany. […]

Leave a comment